We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reaches everywhere! Disgusting”
Review of Super 8 Galveston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Galveston
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewed 13 September 2011

I booked my room on September 12th and when I walked in the room had a musky pee smell, the carpet was moist and the mini fridge didn't work. It was not the most terrible place at that point though, not until later. I came back to the room after going to the store and found a roach on my bag...great. The pool is disgusting and smells of rotten fish, its murky water was very scary...also the shed beside it is falling apart and chunks of it are in the pool. The spa does not exist, it was covered up with a gazebo...I guess they were tired of "cleaning" it. I was watching tv in bed when I saw a huge roach run down the wall near my head board. I was freaked out...later that night I pulled the covers back to find reaches under the covers. This has been the most disgusting place I have EVER been to. I wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visual22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2011

We will not be staying at this hotel EVER again. There was a withered pepperoni under the edge of the bed. The pillow cases had make-up face smears all over them. The bathroom was funky and the ceiling was covered in mold from a previous water leak. The carpet was dethatching from the tile floor and had rusty nails protruding from under the tack board. The icing on the cake, they sent maintenance down to open our door because the room key wouldn’t work, maintenance brought down a crow bar and busted into the door. The only good thing I can say about the place is when I went to the office crying they let me out of our two day contract and refunded $50 of $153 that I paid to stay the first night.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Brandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

really great place they always gave us clean towels and it was quiet, they always had breakfast at 6 to 9 a.m, we reserved our room one week early and we got a good price compared to if you dont reserve, we also got a discount from sam's club and the hotel was near some restaurants and Sea wall, the rooms were left clean when we got there and it was overall a good hotel, it also has a outdoor pool and the beds were comfortable and the beds were clean compared to other hotels we have visited, including from giving us new towels they also change the sheets every day when you need them to.Also they have lawndry room and ice maker machine outside, inside of our room had refrigerator microwave tv coffemaker hair dryer (which it didnt work).But i had my own :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zacora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I read a bunch of bad reviews of this location. However, what do you expect. Super 8 is an affordable family friendly place. We got in Saturday evening, you have to go through a Waffle House parking lot to get there (it's in the middle of the block).

The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were nice and cold. It was a short walk to the beach and we all had a great time. We were right across from the pool and kids spent the evening there.

On the bad side my wife didn't like finding hair on the wall of the shower/bathtub. But, other than that, was a good value for the money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sindar001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

I've been travelling around the USA for the past 2 months so I've seen my share of hotels (23 and counting), but I say with confidence that the Super 8 in Galveston has been my worst experience so far.

The staff are ok, I've certainly had friendlier service before, they're more functional than welcoming. But let's get onto the room, one word for you - DAMP. Everything in the room is damp and clammy - the carpet, the bedsheets - and everything you bring into the room soon becomes damp and clammy also. Even receipts I had lying around quickly became soggy. Not to mention the bathroom floor which never dries, it's permanently wet and grimy. The walls are not clean. I saw at least one cockroach scuttling around, hardly surprising with the living conditions I have just described. For $95 per night, I expected much MUCH better.

I also had two items of clothing stolen straight from the laundry room. The staff were unable to help, I got them to fill out a report, it's highly unlikely my clothes will turn up anywhere. I don't know if it was foolish on my part to leave my washing unattended, but I really didn't expect (presumably) one of the other guests to go rummaging through my laundry and take whatever they fancied. This has never happened in any of the other hotels I've stayed at.

Needless to say, I wouldn't stay here again. Not recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davido099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

This is our families first overnight stay at Galveston, Texas. I had picked this hotel because it had the best pricing at the time and I had found a coupon code online to use with it. Total price with everything including taxes was $83.00. One thing I think you should know is that if you want to cancel, you have to do it 3 days in advanced. Also this company charges your credit card BEFORE you ever get to the hotel. On the website it says that it won't be charged until the end of your stay, but when I called the hotel, they informed me that it would be the morning of. When we got here ( yes, I'm typing this from the hotel!) It was kinda hard to figure out how to get in the parking lot. You have to go though the Waffle House parking lot or the road next to the Golden Corral. They let use check in early, normal check in time is 4pm we got in at 2pm. The front staff was very nice. Our room was nice and looked clean. We didn't have a remote, and it took about two hours to get one, only because of miscommunication. Once I called down and didn't try to go though the housekeeper (wasn't her fault, she didn't understand what I was saying I don't think.) the front desk lady brought us one. The bathtub part of the shower didn't work, it was interesting trying to give a two year old a shower. The toilet didn't like to flush either, we had to flush it several times. The pool looked extremely small compared to the rest of the pools around, but it was nice. There is a bench in the water down one side of the pool, that was nice for my little one! He really enjoyed playing on it. We had pizza delievered from a place on the back of their directory in the room. It was called Papa's Gormet Pizza and Subs. We ordered a "XL Meat Only Gourmet" pizza It was one of the best pizzas I've ever had! The beds were a little bit harder than I'm used to, but they were ok, I have slept on beds worse than these! The breakfast was bagels, blueberry muffins, toast, cereal, and juice. There is a Waffle House if you want a better breakfast. Check out is at 11am. When I asked for a late check out, last night, they said it would be until 11:30am, this morning when I asked for it, it was until 12pm. Not sure if it just depends on whos at the desk or what. I like only being a block from the beach! If I didn't have a 2 year old, I'd feel comfortable to walk there from the hotel. Over all, we did have a few minor issues, but I'd stay here again. I felt safe in this location and it worked for our family. Also everyone else during this time is spending over $140 a night, and we got this for a little over half of that.

Room Tip: search for coupon codes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ginaL_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Rooms were clean, recent refurbishing of facility. Located behind the hotels facing the seawall so no ocean view. Good value for room so we spent more money on dining out. Very basic continental breakfast.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Galveston
2.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Galveston
1.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
1.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Galveston

Address: 2825 1/2B 61st St, 61st Street & Seawall, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-2002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range: £51 - £427 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Galveston 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Galveston Hotel Galveston
Super Eight Galveston
Galveston Super Eight
Galveston Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing