We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay away” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Galveston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Motel 6 Galveston
Ranked #42 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stay away”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Worst Hotel I have ever been in. The word trashy comes to mind. First room was not cleaned so we got another. Second room appeared to be clean but hairs in the bed. If you walked barefoot your feet picked up all kinds of dirt, hair, etc. Terrible smell from the drain of the shower. Guests have to pay for wifi. I would never go back. STAY AWAY!

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    21
    32
    23
    37
See reviews for
48
27
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesquite, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

They don't have a restaurant so this is the reason for the low mark. Your not on the beach its only 5 minutes away. Paid 50-75% less than what the big hotels on Seawall charges. Rooms are clean and the staff is very polite and will bend over backwards to make it right. The pool are as well as the Laundry area are very clean. The vending area was clean. I can not complain, for the money well worth the stay if your going on a budget save a few bucks, its not a bad place to stay. My overall experience her was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

The bright colors and modern fixtures and shelves were nice. Was disappointed in the fact that there was only a shower but it was nice. It was clean but smelled like stale cigarette smoke. Comfortable beds and was perfect for the overnight stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ruthannd1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

what a rundown trap this place is. the stand up showers have mold on the curtains and you literally need to take them down in order to keep them from touching you. the inside of the showers were painted at one point and now all the paint is peeling off, leaving the decayed and rotted bottom of the shower exposed. no hair dryer no internet no iron no coffee and NO respect or courtesy from the staff. checkout is at 11 then they will tell you you can have a late checkout at noon, but start pounding on the door and harassing you when you haven't left at 11. PAY little extra and go someplace else.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Phaedra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galveston hotels

South Carolina
Level Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

First, it is a Motel 6, and the cheapest motel in the area. This should tell you what to expect. For a Motel 6 it was slightly below average. Although recently redone in a Motel 6 fashion, areas were old and showed the wear. Beds were large and comfortable and the bath clean, all that is really needed at this price. The disadvantages of almost all Motel 6s compared to the low end competition is no elevator (outside, old concrete steps are dangerous at night with a suitcase), a charge for internet, no breakfast and no hair dryer. If none of these matter, then the motel is a bargain

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leb8680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My daughter and granddaughter were in Galveston for a competition on April 25th and we left on April 27th. While at the motel, we were treated well by everyone. Our problems were with the cleaning and cleaniness of our room. First of all we had several dirty towels that were on the rack in the bathroom by the shower. Inside of the towel there were several very long pieces of black hair. We did not use that towel. On Saturday we left the hotel early and came back late. We had a room with two double beds. My daughter and granddaughter slept in one and I slept in the other one. Only one bed was made the other one was not. My daughter left a pair of jeans on her bed. They were moved off the bed and put over the back of a chair but her bed was not made. In the bathroom, the towels we used when we showered were picked up off the floor and hung up instead of being removed. They were wet. We asked for and got a non-smoking room but why were there ash trays in the room if it was non-smoking, just odd to us. We also did not have our requests honored when we booked the room on line. We asked to be on the lower floor and we requested for a room with a tub and not just a shwer like we were given. We were also put on the second floor. While these might be minor issues, we definately WILL NOT be back to this Motel 6 again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okemah, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

No shampoo, conditioner, or bath mat. Shower floor was gross and way too small. No water pressure. No blow drier. No iron or ironing board. No coffee pot. No alarm clock. Wi-Fi cost extra. Location was horrible, not convenient. Lumber yard next door was loud and noisy. Spend a little extra, go someplace else.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theoklawalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Galveston
Howard Johnson Galveston
#39 of 52 in Galveston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
2.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center
1.5 mi away
Inn at the Waterpark
Inn at the Waterpark
#25 of 52 in Galveston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Candlewood Suites Galveston
#23 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
2.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Galveston

Property: Motel 6 Galveston
Address: 7404 Broadway St, I-45 at 61st Street / 71st Street, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-8920
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Galveston 2*
Number of rooms: 114
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Galveston Hotel Galveston
Motel Six Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing