We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Travelodge Galveston
Ranked #45 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
new york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Personnel were very pleasant and friendly. Breakfast was ok but not a lot to offer. Bathroom was deplorable. Toilet seat was old and chipped and dis colored. The bathroom sink was stained and there were bugs in the bathroom . Pool not clean
Location was very good and near beach and restaurants.
Doubt that I would ever stay there again and only stayed because it was one night and had pre paid

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memanewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kay g, Manager at Travelodge Galveston, responded to this review, 1 December 2016
Thank you for your review we are working on all issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    59
    142
    122
    194
See reviews for
264
111
29
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

After reading reviews we were a little skeptical on staying here. After arriving at 6pm and went to a couple other hotels, we decided on Travel lodge for the price since we were only spending the night.

We were surprised. We received a better deal at the desk than was offered on any websites...AAA also gave a discount here also. The room was clean, tidy. The air worked perfectly fine. We were a little skeptical about the clientele that were hanging on the balconies...but things were fine. It was quite hotel. Basic breakfast. Not far from the beach at all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kay g, General Manager at Travelodge Galveston, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Google Translation
see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston Area
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I was reluctant because of some of the negative reviews but gave in due to the location and $$cost being more appropriately needed for other members of our party with children. I must say I was pleased with my room, it was clean and I even had a view of the ocean though a little obstructed but ok, and the Lodge being one street over from the Seawall was a big plus due to being much more quite and no noise from the usually Seawall traffic. I did have one major complaint in my opinion major for a continental breakfast they had no fruit at all. There was oatmeal and fixings to make waffles, toast, bagels, nothing healthy. Which the one older grandchild enjoyed. All said I would recommend. note the 2nd and 3d floors south end few rooms windows have view of partial ocean. Galveston location. Also the staff was very nice and helpful. One problem was the wi fi was not working was reported.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kay g, Manager at Travelodge Galveston, responded to this review, 25 November 2016
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

I use to stay here years ago every time I visited the Island. But started staying somewhere else when I found one I liked with a balcony.. But my usual place that I stay while there was twice the price this time of year, so opted for Travelodge again. I called first and spoke with Tatiana at the front desk who could not be MORE accommodating if she tried! I told her I wanted a specific room, (that had a window with a view of the ocean) and she said she had one available and could have it ready by noon! (instead of making me wait until usual checkin time). That was huge to me! Since the time I've stayed there, they have put in hardwood floors, which is so much nicer than nasty beach carpet! The room was clean and spacious. The bed very comfortable..Nice HD TV, came in perfect.. I had a table and 4 chairs in front of the window so I could sit and enjoy the view of the ocean from my room. Note: not all rooms have windows. The front and the top floor have windows. I only encountered one housekeeper while I was there and she was the greatest. Brought me lot's of extra towels and was always there with a smile when I saw her. I had forgotten that I use to enjoy staying there, since the other hotel swept me away because of the balcony! But I would TOTALLY stay here again, in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: As I stated in my review, the rooms with a window are over the office and on the top floor. I've...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol0307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kay g, General Manager at Travelodge Galveston, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
thank you for staying
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galveston
1.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center
0.2 mi away
Commodore on the Beach
Commodore on the Beach
#35 of 52 in Galveston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
1.2 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
0.1 mi away
Gaido's Seaside Inn
Gaido's Seaside Inn
#23 of 53 in Galveston Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Galveston

Property: Travelodge Galveston
Address: 3924 Avenue U, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-8555 (Formerly Econo Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Galveston 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pets allowed for a fee charged per day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Galveston Hotel Galveston
Econo Lodge Galveston
Galveston Econo Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing