We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Breakfast ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of 61st Street Diner - CLOSED

61st Street Diner
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: Diner, American
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Seating
Level Contributor
167 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

The restaurant isn't the prettiest, but the staff was friendly and the breakfast was delicious.

Rather limited menu. Pancakes. Sausage. Eggs. Hash browns. Toast.

Don't shy away from this place.

Helpful?
Thank DenoDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    6
    4
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Anna, TX
Level Contributor
201 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Diner Brakfast Par Excellence - Period”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Great. Great. Great.

If you go anywhere near Galveston and don't have breakfast here you will never forgive yourself. One of their daily specials was listed as sweet potato pancakes and am I glad I got them. Moist, fluffy, fresh and steaming hot. Friendly down home service coupled with excellent food and reasonable prices make this a home run.

Above all don't be put off by the exterior complete with weeds growing between the sidewalk and asphalt parking lot nor the "are they open or not?" feel when you pull in the lot. Great things await you.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jimmccomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quinlan, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Home Cooked Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

Had a hamburger steak and vegetables. Vegetables were very large order and tasty. Good price and good food. Very typical Hometown Café

Helpful?
Thank Danolinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“OMG Terrible!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were a table of 4 and there were only two other table occupied in the restaurant. We arrived first and had to wait for our food for 45 mins. Food was terrible. Place was nastier than an old truckstop. When the waitress cleared our table she hit a knife and good food on my shorts, no sorry or let me help clean it up or anything. Expensive on top of how horrible it was. You need to ignore the tripadvisor label on the door it is an oldie, not a recent sticker. Avoid at all cost.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Irving_TexasAnneB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“K”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

I walked in for my 2nd time and I was a little surprised. There service was good. My Coffey was never empty. I had to eat the big boy burger with no pickles and it was average, but when I left I was very satisfied

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saints101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 61st Street Diner also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing