We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great history!”
Review of Bishop's Palace

Bishop's Palace
Book In Advance
More Info
US$155.00*
and up
Galveston Island and Houston Sightseeing Tour
More Info
US$98.95*
and up
Houston Sightseeing Tour and Galveston Day Trip
Ranked #2 of 103 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Bishop's Palace (a.k.a. Gresham House) is a contributing building in the East End Historic District, a National Historic Landmark. The house is listed in the National Register of Historic Places at the national level of significance in the area of architecture. Architectural historians list the Bishop's Palace (Gresham House) as one of the most significant of Victorian residences in the country.
Pearland, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great history!”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

If you enjoy historic tours, this one is amazing. The house is gorgeous, with very neat architecture and detail, but the historical stories of this house enhances the "take you back in time" feel. I got the auditory self guided tour, and I was able to take my time listening and taking it in. I highly recommend it to those who go to Galveston for more than just the beach.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TGW711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    616
    300
    55
    12
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful house, beautiful story!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

We took the self guided audio your. VERY informative. The house does need some repairs, but the tour states that they are in progress. Wish our timing had worked out to take the docent tour at 12:00. It was neat that they had a little box in some roomed for the kids to explore - a box in the foyer where the tour talks about the building of the house with building blocks in it, a box in the music room with toy instruments...very thoughtful!

Helpful?
1 Thank Diane4Pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
375 reviews
99 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Very good tour”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

This is a wonderful home, that is in need of some TLC. The tour is a self guided, which I prefer. They give you a hand held recorder that when you select the number and hit play you hear a detailed account of that room and some interesting facts about the family or the area. Wished more of the home was open to tour, as you could not go upstairs. That was a separate tour that only is done on certain times and days. You could also take as many pictures inside the home as you liked, which was great. It was not very crowded the day we toured, so we were able to get some great pictures of the rooms, and windows. This is a must see if you have time while in Galveston

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank tleeEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Needs some TLC”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Being a history buff, I was intrigued with this impressive place, but there were several areas that need some TLC before further deterioration occurs. Still interesting. I would have preferred a live docent tour over the handheld recorded version.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CowgirlzAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Historic place that was almost demolished!!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We haven't been there in many years. Thought we would go back over for a fresh look to see if there were any changes. There were lots. The Catholic Church sold it. Looks like they do need some helping hands to fix the place up. We were amazed to hear that Texaco almost bought the Bishops palace to destroy it and put a Texaco station there!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank HarveyJohn316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bishop's Palace also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Bishop's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing