We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Howard Johnson Galveston
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$102
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$103
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Galveston Island Resort(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$107
US$98
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$154
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Moody Gardens Hotel Spa & Convention Center(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$229
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The San Luis Resort(Galveston)(Great Value!)
US$249
US$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (372)
Filter reviews
372 results
Traveller rating
56
75
95
66
80
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
56
75
95
66
80
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree cruise parkingwould stay againmicrowave and fridgebed and pillowsacross the streetour honeymoongreat ratememorial day weekendgreat roomtoddrefineriesshuttlechannelsstrand
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
289 - 294 of 372 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 October 2013

well the rooms are not breath taking I tell you for sure. we stayed the nite only because of the port location for our cruise vacation which was 4 miles away. shuttle service across from hotel was very nice. the hotel staff was very helpful and friendly which I liked best I guess the hotel is under new management and in the process making more changes..Like I said nite only....

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
1  Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We checked in late after getting a deal on Hotwire. We showed up about 30 min after I booked and the front desk clerk had our room keys and paperwork ready. He was quick and friendly.

Not sure if they are remodeling or what.... they had wet paint on the stairs closet to our room. it is a 2 story building with maybe 50 rooms total. No elevator. The room looks freshly painted. Carpet was dirty and needs cleaned. The bedding is the old style comforters but they worked and were clean. Sheets were clean. Pillows and bed seemed new or in like new condition. A/C worked great. The room has a window on the back wall that faces the bay and bridge coming into Galveston from Texas City area. Train tracks are somewhat behind the building but they didn't bother us. We liked watching it and they were quick. Pretty view overall.

"Breakfast" is fruit and carbs, but it is free and there. Nice to have something to get you through the morning. We had a muffin, pastry, bagel and banana with orange juice.

The lobby is very small, so not a place to stay and linger. My husband got the food and brought it back to our room. Overall good stay but the rooms need a bit more updating. We got a great price and it is in a great location.

Room Tip: If you can handle stairs.... get a second floor room to see the bay.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 6 October 2013

It is an older Hotel but is worth the price of the stay...The rooms were clean...the staff was Friendly...the price was right.
We did have one "hiccup" being the card reader on one of our rooms decided not to work...yet the staff got to work on it right away...they were VERY friendly and diligently worked on the problem...once they got into the "Locked" room they did everything possible to to correct the problem from changing batteries to reprogramming the card reader. They had to override the card reader, so they gave us a KEY to use as passage in and out of the room.
We ALL understand that "things happen" and they were "customer minded" in Immediately trying to fix the problem.
They had a nice Continental Breakfast..which was filling....
The FREE Parking (7 Days) while we were on the Cruise is a DEFINITE PLUS and the shuttle fees were VERY Reasonable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank fcountry2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews