We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at the Waterpark
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Went to Galveston, TX on a last minute trip. We arrived in the late evening without reservations for a hotel. After stopping at several other hotels that we could not afford we found Inn at the Waterpark. The price was affordable and the room was clean. Our room was in the older section of the hotel. The first night was not the greatest with some kids knocking on the door several times during the night, it ended after a phone call to the front desk. The other 2 nights were quiet. The beds are comfortable and felt alot like my bed at home. The bathroom is small and the shower was not so great. Still it was a nice stay and right around the block from our destination, Moody Gardens. We are returning in October and will probally stay here again........

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oceannurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INNWPGM, General Manager at Inn at the Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2010

Thank you for taking the time and leaving your comments concerning your recent stay with the Inn at the Waterpark. Your time is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (486)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

444 - 450 of 486 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2010

It was pretty much what we expected. We did LOVE the putt putt across the street, but the service was lousy. We had a few broken appliances in our room, and, when we called a worker to fix it, he might as well have said, "Yeah...sorry, there's nothing I can do. I don't feel like fixing it." The breakfast was below average. Very few options.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emilycupcakes123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INNWPGM, General Manager at Inn at the Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn at the Waterpark, We appreciate yor comments, it is out guest that take the time to let us know how we are doing allow is to make the necessary changes to make everyones stay an enjoyable experence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

When we drove up to this place we were not impressed. The building itself looks worn down and it has awful colors with a little mini golf area out front that was under water. The hotel was not close enough to walk to anything nice, to include restaurants. We signed in at the desk with a manager who was very rude to her staff and not very friendly to us and then proceeded to our room. The minute we opened the door we were in awe of how horrible the place was! The room was bright green, just like the outside of the door, and the air was thick with the smell of what we thought was pee. The room was very bare and looked like a jail cell with a big bed. There was nothing on the walls and the only furniture was the bed, a tv, and a small chair with a lamp behind it in the corner. The floors were stained and I think the only clean thing was the bed sheets which actually smelled clean! We pretty much went straight back to the desk and got our money back and left. Considering we paid around $130 per night for that weekend the place should have been WAY better! We ended up in Hotel Galvez just down the road and it was amazing!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffani W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INNWPGM, General Manager at Inn at the Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review the Inn at the Waterpark during your visit to Galveston Island. Your thoughts allow us to take the proper measures to ensure that our guest have a pleasant stay, while they are visiting Galveston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

When I pulled up the website I thought it was right accross from Schlitterbahn. Well it was close but not what I expected. Not within walking distance with small children. The rooms smelled nasty, the pool was small. Breakfast was milk, coffee, danish, & cold cereal. Not even worth the trip to lobby. Not many people stay here when you drive up the parking lot is pretty much empty, and I swear we must have had animals staying above us. It was a misserable experience. The views you see on the website are not the views you will see from your room we had a big watertower accross from our room and thats about it. I would deffinently pay a little more elsewhere for a nicer place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lillope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INNWPGM, General Manager at Inn at the Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2010

Thank you for taking the time to review our property we appreciate your comments and will take them under advisement.
Schlitterbahn Waterpark is behind our hotel, where as schlitterbahn's parking lot runs the length of our property, so if you were to park in thier parking lot you would have the same distance to walk.
We do offer a light continental breakfast that does include an assortment of cold cereal, milk, regular and decaf coffee, hot tea, assortment of juices, yogurt, danishes, bagels, and fresh fruit.
Some of our rooms do over look a municiple water tank, unfortunately we do not have a say as to where the City of Galveston places utilities.
We do not have an olympic size pool, but there is a large deck where you can relax and cool off in the pool.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We stayed here for three nights last week. Price was excellent for the location and amenities. As expected in proximity to Schlitterbahn and Moody Gardens, this is very much a family motel, with kids everywhere. Not a romantic hotel in any aspect. We were placed in the " new building," which was a less than one year old building with three floors and really convenient covered parking underneath. This was particularly welcome in protecting our cars and contents from the sun and heat of the Texas coast. Our room had a wonderful "tank top" view, surveying a huge water tank next door. The other side overlooks the local airport, which seems heavily used by helicopters (e.g., desirable for families with young boys). Limited access to the entire building required use of room keycards, which is reassuring. The rooms were oversized compared with most motel chains, completely clean, with small fridges, microwaves, coffee makers, and a small table with chairs for dining in. Staff were incredibly friendly, helpful, and a delightful change from typical motel staff. Continental breakfast was more than adequate, all you can eat, with yogurt, several dry cereal choices, bagels with cream cheese, fresh fruit, sweet rolls (very avoidable), choice of whole, skim and lowfat milk, choice of orange, apple, cranberry apple juices, coffee, tea. Really nice miniature golf course in front of hotel is free of charge and unlimited to guests. Did not go to the pool, being as how we went to Galveston for the beach?

Very convenient to west Galveston Island locations, including the state park. Walking distance (one block) from Schiltterbahn, and a two minute drive or <1 mile walk from Moody Gardens. Location was actually closer to Schlitterbahn than many of its own parking spaces. Drive <1 mile the other direction on 81st Street and you are at Seawall boulevard, away from the crowded beaches closer into town. Recommend going to the west end of the seawall a few blocks west of 81st Street, where there is a huge parikng lot, barely any cars, and access to a natural beachline that is not affected by the seawall. Not terribly convenient if you are interested in the downtown historic district.

The downside of all this was that the builder of the "new building" apparently completely forgot about soundproofing between floors. Although we could barely hear anything next door, we could hear individual drops from the shower upstairs as they hit the floor. For the last two nights, we were convinced we had the Ringling Brothers circus upstairs, with what sounded like a dozen young teenage boys chasing each other around for two hours between 10:00 pm and midnight. Their conversations were easily heard, though not quite clear enough to make out what they were saying. A white noise generator and really good foam earplugs were able to block most of the racket, but the vibrating walls were difficult to ignore. We called the manager the first night, which led to no appreciable improvement until they suddenly seemed to all fall asleep at the same time. We decided we should blame whoever was supposedly parenting or chaperoning this mob as much as the builder of the building.

Had we not had the elephant races upstairs, we would have had essentially no complaints. Highly recommend this hotel, which deserved all 5's had it not been for the sound proofing. Bring a white noise maker, good foam earplugs and/or your sedative of choice, and hope you have more considerate upstairs neighbors, and you will have a great time.

From what the front desk staff told us at checkout, the old, original building is far better soundproofed. Not sure how nice they were otherwise, however, and their parking area was outside in the open, like a typical motel. You choose which is more important.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CentralTXFoodLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INNWPGM, General Manager at Inn at the Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2010

Thank you for your review, We appriciate you taking the time to tell us your thoughts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Only spent one night..wanted a little mini vacation for the weekend and found all the other local hotels very expensive. Rooms were large enough and beds were comfortable. The free put-put was a pleasant suprise.. a lot of fun. Staff were all very nice. Great value compared to other hotels that weekend.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baydw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INNWPGM, General Manager at Inn at the Waterpark, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2010

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

I just wanna say thanks again to the staff at the Inn at the Waterpark, got there a little early but did not hesatate to get us in a room before the check in time. As always great room with a very pleasant staff. I also just wanna say thank you to Mrs Riley, it has been you and the staff there that keeps us comming back each year.

The guys from Dallas

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sneekn4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
1.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Galveston
Howard Johnson Galveston
#39 of 51 in Galveston
340 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Galveston
Comfort Suites Galveston
#25 of 51 in Galveston
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
0.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Waterpark

Address: 2525 Jones Dr, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9270 (Formerly Brentwood Inn and Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range: £51 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn at the Waterpark 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GALVESTON ISLAND ESCAPE FULL OF FAMILY FUN.The ideal choice for hotels near Schlitterbahn - Galveston.Could there be a better Galveston Texas hotel for family fun? Because it is located right next to Schlitterbahn Waterpark and Adjacent to Moody Gardens, the Inn at the Waterpark is among the best hotels in Galveston Texas for families.The Inn at the Waterpark is one of the more casual, carefree, laid-back and relaxing Gslveston Island hotels with a Family Friendly rates. Economy goes hand-in-hand with our Galveston hotel's comfort and convenience. You will find our front desk offers tickets for Moody Gardens and Schlitterbahn Waterpark.The fact that the Inn at the Waterpark is near Schlitterbahn Galveston and so near Moody Gardens is just the start. Other nearby attractions will keep the family busy for a week of vacation, or a weekend getaway. There's the fabulous Moody Gardens Golf Course, billed as the premier public course in Texas. You'll love the Lone Star Flight Museum right across from Schlitterbahn Waterpark, not to mention the 32 miles of sandy beaches of Galveston Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Inn at the Waterpark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Waterpark Hotel Galveston
Hotel At The Waterpark
Waterpark Galveston
Waterpark Hotel
At The Waterpark Galveston
Inn At The Waterpark Galveston
Inn Waterpark Galveston Tx

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing