We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A family tradition”
Review of Gaido's

Gaido's
Reserve with OpenTable
Gaido's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 316 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$45
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 39th Street
Description: The toast of the Texas coast. How can frozen fish be called fresh? The answer for anyone with snap is simple: it can’t. That’s why Gaido’s is the classic choice for fresh Gulf seafood. Patrons know Gaido’s is real, when others are clearly not. From red snapper and blue crab to white tablecloths crumbed with panache, there’s no denying Gaido’s is one-of-a-kind in a world of imitation. Now, after four generations of filleting, frying, grilling and baking, Gaido’s has grown into the picture perfect place of traditions– birthdays, anniversaries, retirements, reunions. As the largest fresh fish house on the coast, Gaido’s can serve up to 2,500 happy diners a day. -– for over 100 years – is truly the coastal classic.
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

We have been coming to Gaidos for 30+ years. Always a treat. Staff is wonderful and food is delicious. Beautiful place to eat and watch the waves from the windows.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank W55Louisiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey G, Owner at Gaido's, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you so much for the great review. We're incredibly luck to have such loyal customers like you and your family! We hope to continue to see you all for the next 30!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,772)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,835 - 1,839 of 2,772 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

I was part of a large party that had dinner and drinks at Gaido's last night, 7-18-14. The food and beverages were delicious, but what made the experience so nice was the wonderful service we received from our server, Holly. She was patient and went above and beyond to meet our every need. She had a great since of humor and made us feel like she was part of "the gang!" Delicious food + great service = priceless!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey G, Owner at Gaido's, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Kara, thank you for the wonderful review! It's so nice to hear that we were able to accommodate your party and provide you with great service. We'll be sure to pass along the compliments to Holly! We hope you'll come back to see us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

It is always sad to see a fine old restaurant decline. Earlier this week we visited Gaido's at lunchtime. While we enjoyed the bread and trio of soups ordered for appetizers, the main entrees were not well prepared. A pasta dish was tasteless--a huge plate of pasta with very little sauce. And, believe me, it was not because the sauce had been absorbed. The stuffed shrimp might have been good, but it should have been fried longer or hotter. It was simply soggy and bad. We chose Gaido's, even though the reviews were generally bad, because the latest reviews were very good and praised food and service. We thought perhaps they were turning things around. Not so!! Don't waste your time. Remember the "good old days" and move on.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jaejae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casey G, Owner at Gaido's, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

I'm so sorry to hear about your experience. Our goal is to provide our guests with a delicious and memorable meal, and it sounds like we well short. I appreciate the feedback so that I can share it with our kitchen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Been here several times over the last 10 yrs and have never been disappointed. It is a busy busy place but the taste of the food has never let us down. Its a must eat at when your there kind of place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank haydensyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 July 2014

We're so happy to hear that you've been such a loyal customer! Thanks for the great review and we hope you come back so see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This place was recommended by some friends and we were not disappointed. We didn't make reservations and got a table after a short wait. The staff was great and attentive and the food...YUMMO! Everything we had was great but the soup of the day was a scallop au gratin. OMG amazing. My daughter got a bowl of it and devoured it. If they served it everyday we would have eaten there our whole vacation. The fish was fresh and everything except the Ketchup is homemade. We thought it was a little pricy BUT then tried other restaurants in the area and were disappointed by the food and the price was just the same as Gaidos. Had we known that we would have just gone back to the place we liked. We went with small kids and it was fine. Great views too. Would definitely do a date night there too. Try it!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeanine41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 July 2014

Jeanine, thank you so much for the review! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed everything, especially the scallop au gratin! We really love hearing back from our customers and I appreciate you taking the time to share this with us. We hope you all make it back to Galveston to see us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gaido's also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Gaido's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing