We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovers getaway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Copa Inn Galveston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
La Copa Inn Galveston
Ranked #39 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovers getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

This is one of my favorite hotels to stay in me and my spouse decided to come here just to get away for the weekend from a long work week we stayed here and loved it it had a great restaurants surrounding the hotel also even though it was cold we had a great view of the beach the workers were awesome I would definitely recommend this hotel

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamison0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patty B, General Manager at La Copa Inn Galveston, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay at our hotel! It is always good to hear our guests have had a wonderful stay with us. We are excited we could make your getaway pleasurable. We hope to see you here again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    135
    132
    108
    125
See reviews for
277
163
23
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our most recent cruise out of Galveston. I checked these reviews a few days before our trip and was so nervous due to some horrible reviews! We were greeted (if that's what you want to call it) by three front desk personnel who were shouting to each other and laughing the whole time. They seemed bothered that we had interrupted their fun. They were not downright rude, but nothing that I would call friendly. When we asked about the signup for the "park and cruise" program they offer we were handed a printout of info. The copier they used cut off the last third of the page and when we asked what that part said, one of the ladies smirked like we had asked some ridiculous question. When we asked would be a good place to park they said "behind the pool". This would have been fine but the pool is in the front and the entire lot is behind the pool so it took us a bit to find the external elevator we were supposed to use. You go into a small elevator room that is supposed to be locked and accessible only with your room key but it was unlocked. This means anyone could enter the inside of the hotel. Not safe!
The room itself in my opinion was much better than some of these other reviews make it seem. It was clean and seem maintained. Nothing stood out as majorly broken. There were some paint smudges and random chippy things, but nothing that made it seem run down. There was a giant dead roach in our second story bathroom, but to be fair it's on the beach and this will be a normal situation despite best efforts. Like another review stated - the balcony railing IS NOT bolted down properly, and is simply attached the the walls. It was fine for us, but I would never let children out there in case they lean on the railing. The balcony view was fine - we could see the beach if you moved to the far right of the balcony. The rest of the view was of the land between hotels.
Overall I would stay there again if I needed to, but I might check out a different hotel if I had the choice. I have been to much better run hotels, but it was nothing like a "roach motel" like some reviewers were saying.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lqgalvestonislandtx, Webmaster at La Copa Inn Galveston, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at the Laquinta Inn during your recent visit to our area.

We appreciate your review and also thank you for bringing to our notice about the hotel front office staff service which unfortunately did not match your expectations.

We apologize for the same howsoever it might have happened.

We are addressing your observations for further improvement and you shall definitely find the difference during your next visit.

We await your earliest next trip to our area and promise a nice stay with us.

Sincerely
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Hotel was ok, but not as nice as the other La Quinta's I have stayed in. We stayed here due to their transport to the port. We were told we would be on the shuttle at 10:30 but did not get on until 1pm. It was a disaster! Then we arrived back in Galveston, the shuttle was no where to be found. The driver gave me his card to call but did not answer his phone. We took a cab to the hotel and the cab driver stated the shuttle doesn't usually start up until around 10am. We got off the ship at 8am. It was a completely disorganized mess!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cheyenne2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patty B, General Manager at La Copa Inn Galveston, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback from your recent stay here in Galveston. I am sorry the hotel was not what you have come to expect from the LaQuinta brand. I am also sorry your experience with the shuttle was an unpleasant one. We do strive to make everyone's stay a pleasant one here, and do hope you will give us another chance to show you we can. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Easy check-in,Friendly employee's . Comfortable Room with everything you need for a great stay. Breakfast has a wide choice of foods including cold cereal, Hot Waffles ,boiled eggs,Fruit,boiled eggs. Slept with the balcony door open and listened to the Waves crashing on the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patty B, General Manager at La Copa Inn Galveston, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
It is always wonderful to hear our guests have had an enjoyable stay with us here at LaQuinta. Thank you for taking the time and sharing your views with us. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harker Heights, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We only stayed one night before leaving for our cruise. Lady at check in was very sweet & changed our room to a lower level. It was fine for a one night stay. Can't beat the $48.00 rate I got. If we were staying for an extended stay in the area then I would find nicer place. It served it's purpose.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patty B, General Manager at La Copa Inn Galveston, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for choosing us for your recent stop over on the way to your cruise. We appreciate you taking the time to review us and let us know how we are doing. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will be joining us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kyle, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I had booked this trip 2 month's ago for me and my wife to stay and do to a death in family 2 days before are trip i forgot to call the hotel and tell them they we cannot make it. The next day It hit me soo i called the hotel and told them what happend they said they were going to charge me for all 3 night's!! No i am sorry for your loss we just want your money even though only 1 night had passed. I was stunned i called expedia and they had to call and got them to take off the 2 nights that had not passed off my card do to this i will never stay at La Quinta Again.

Room Tip: Stay at a differnt Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patty B, General Manager at La Copa Inn Galveston, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to express your feeling about our location. We do apologize we fell below the expectations you are accustomed to at LaQuinta. We do hope you will change your mind and give us another chance to show you great customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
0.0 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Galveston
Comfort Suites Galveston
#24 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
1.9 mi away
Red Roof Inn Galveston - Beachfront/Convention Center
0.9 mi away
Inn at the Waterpark
Inn at the Waterpark
#26 of 52 in Galveston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Copa Inn Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Copa Inn Galveston

Property: La Copa Inn Galveston
Address: 8710 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554 (Formerly La Quinta Inn & Suites Galveston Seawall West)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Copa Inn Galveston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The La Copa Inn and Suites Galveston is an attractive oceanfront hotel located just 3-miles West of downtown Galveston near several prominent attractions including, beaches, cruise ports, Bishop Palace, Moody Gardens, and Seawolf Park. Each well-equipped room features free high-speed Internet access, a microwave, and refrigerator. This hotel also offers a complimentary continental breakfast with hot items, fitness center, a Seasonal outdoor swimming pool, and heated whirlpool. NO PETS ALLOWED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LaQuinta and Hotels.com so you can book your La Copa Inn Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
La Quinta Hotel Galveston
La Quinta Galveston
Galveston La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing