We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Liked it”
Review of Sapori

Sapori
Ranked #48 of 315 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Liked it”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The service was alright but the food was sooo delicious. Stop here if you can, while in Galveston. The dishes seemed authentic not chain like.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    26
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston TX
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Italia at the beach”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The foods at Sapori are a great nod to the best of Italian-American taste. The staff is friendly and make every effort to ensure diners have a great experience

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank tripseyHoustonTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willis, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best Italian ever!”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We wasn't sure what kind of restaurant we were going to find when we went a little off the seawall or main road but what a treasure we found! For tradional
Italian this is the place to go. The atmosphere is casual, the food prices average, but quality of food and flavors were superb. From homeade bread dipped in olive oil and spices, salads, to the main dish -I have not had better Italian ever!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank driftwoodgardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
134 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Terrible lunch”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We should have been tipped off when our party of three were the only lunch patrons on a Friday. The restaurant is pleasant and clean although tucked away in an obscure location. There is plenty of parking and the general ambience is cheery and bright. However that is where the goiod stops. They have a single menu for both lunch and dinner. We asked the inattentive server (she only had one table) if they have any specials - no. So the entrees are very overpriced for a Galveston lunch. That might be forgivable if the service and food supported the price. They did not. Service was spotty. We had to ask for bread - they supply no butter but did bring out a very tasteless olive oil dip with something less than extra virgin. The Lasagna entrees were tasteless and cold. Ice tea glasses were empty most of the meal. Coffee for one member of party seemed to exhaust the restaurants capabilities. I had the most disgusting pizza I have ever had. Just
globs of cheese on a thick bread that was absolutely tasteless and unapealing - and they actually charged $2.00 extra for the crust???. All entrees were north of $15 dollars and our check for three lunches was outrageous for what we received. I will never return. For far less money we coukd have had a much better lunch at Gino's a couple of blocks away. I do not expect this place will be open very long. Galveston has many better places.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fresh Italian”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Small place one block off Seawall on newly repaved Stewart Rd. Great pasta.Sauces very good, but try olive oil and garlic if you love good spaghetti. Excellent sausage. BYOB, no corkage fee. Small outdoor patio shaded from west sun. Take out.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Misapplied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sapori also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston Island, Texas Gulf Coast
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Sapori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing