We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Flamingo's Steaks and Seafood - CLOSED

Flamingo's Steaks and Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dickinson, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Slow service”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We arrived at about 12:45 and lunch crowd was leaving. About six tables were occupied in our area. We were seated and waited and waited. finally got drink order taken care of. Later came back with bread. Waiter disappeared between each service. A lady came in and sat behind us. She was given a menu and ordered immediately. The waiter turned in her order. We continued to sit and wait for our order to be taken. Finally, we called loud enough to get his attention that we wanted to order. This was their lunch special of $8 and 8 minutes. Food was very good, but lousy service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    10
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Hostess would not let us sit outside. Steak was good. All other food was average. The waitress tried as hard as she could but could not make up for the slow kitchen, no bread, no lemon butter, and then the hair in the drawn butter when they finally brought it out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank XYZtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow what a great meal”
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

Over all this place was great. Melinda made sure my glass of tea was always full. The flamingo oyster were out of this world the only issue I should have ordered 12 instead of 6. The seafood platter was great tasting and had plenty. Would recommend and will be going back

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pstartt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pocahontas, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Some friends and I were in Galveston and wanted some seafood for lunch when we happened upon Flamingos Steaks & Seafood. I remember thinking i'll bet this place is pricey, judging by the exterior, but was I pleasantly surprised. They had a lunch menu with a good selection for $8.95 the portions were generous and delicious. The service was great and the people seemed very nice. I definitely recommend this restaurant if you are in Galveston, TX.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

We returned 3 times during vacation and month later spent long weekend in Galveston and made sure we had dinner again at Flamingo's! Nice atmosphere, had excellent wait staff, especially Monica. I had grouper one night, it was good, but did need alittle sweet spice chutney of some kind, she quickly came back with just the right thing. The grill oysters are incredible! Had them every time we went. Even at lunch, had the oysters and a hamburger which was just as good. The deserts...wow! The chocolate cake for two, very rich and yummy. Bread pudding was a little bland. Watching the crawfish races was fun too. A lively and classy place! Next time we will sit outside overlooking the water.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Layne1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Flamingo's Steaks and Seafood also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing