We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Time!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DiBella's Italian Restaurant

DiBella's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #68 of 308 Restaurants in Galveston
Price range: US$0 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Time!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stopped at DiBella's on our trip to Galveston. This place is great. Has a long history in the city and lots of locals eat here. Anything on the menu with red sauce is worth getting. We love the lasagna and spaghetti and meatballs.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkkD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    34
    8
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sumner, Washington
Level Contributor
371 reviews
244 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“One of Galvestons best's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Went with family a table of four. Greeted by a friendly server and we were seated. The owner stopped to chat & was very friendly, he checked back to see if we needed anything We all had pasta, 1 meat ball, 1 sausage, and 2 lasagna's. All serviced with salad and garlic bread. With a bottle of red wine and a shared piece of very good cake. Made for a great meal. The food & service was great. If looking for a good meal at a reasonable price this is the place. We are looking forward to retuning to this great family run restaurant.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JALFAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rochdale
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Helpful friendly staff.
The desserts were fabulous too
Will be back next time in Galveston

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank clarees1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great 'non tourist trap' local neighborhood restaurant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Have eaten at DiBella's several times over the years. Just a great little no frills type local neighborhood Italian restaurant. Love going with friends. They are kid friendly as well. We bring our own wine sometimes and not a big fan of the $12 corking fee. However, the food is consistently good and deserts are very good. Highly recommend this off 'The Strand' and off the 'Seawall' non touristy restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Joseph C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston Island, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“They couldn't care less if you're satisfied or come back!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I AM a local & have been a few times for both lunch & dinner. Some dishes (spaghetti with garlic butter & mushrooms) are great. Some (meatballs-HORRIBLE) are not. Their 'complimentary' garlic bread is just some plain old bread. No flavor & they have the gall to put it on their menu that if you want more it costs extra..... Why?? One cold basket was enough.....
I asked the owner for a taste of a special sauce & she was so rude about saying 'No. It is only available by special order.' I told her I was really starting to feel unwelcome there & she did not respond at all. So we never returned.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kirksey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DiBella's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to DiBella's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing