We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Étouffée”

Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar
Ranked #16 of 311 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Étouffée”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stopped in for a quick early dinner. Nice decor and interesting arrangement for the kettles of gumbo and,specialties. We both had the crawfish étouffée and garlic bread. The crawfish was vey good and the garlic bread was excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank282856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    156
    61
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Best food, best service, good price, wish I lived there!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a party of 8 and came here because of the great reviews, so glad we did!!! On a Tuesday night we ordered different gumbo's, fried shrimp,burger's, and oyster's on the half shell, all amazing food!! It was so good we stopped in the next day and had lunch before we headed home. The owner/ manager (not sure which)came over and made sure we were having a great meal. We were because even our waitress Nicole gave us TOP quality service! Never seen anything like it! I just have to say that I wished I lived closer.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rsha2828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yum!”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

The place is pretty good! Gumbo is decent and good serving size. The service was pretty fast and the staff was nice. The prices aren't bad either.

Helpful?
Thank Julianne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston,Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Definitely try the grilled oysters”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar is a cute little restaurant in the Strand area of Galveston. The service is very good - I think our waiter was named Christian - very nice young man. We found the seafood gumbo to be very good but not great. We loved the char grilled oysters. They have a garlic blue cheese topping. Reminded me a little bit of Oysters Rockefeller Give this restaurant a try.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeeDee_Houston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyed this very much”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Most of us had gumbo and to me it was second best that I have had. Everything was good and service was excellent. Would recommend and return!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dhollier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar also viewed

 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing