We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Strikes, I'm out” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Gusto Del Pueblo

El Gusto Del Pueblo
Ranked #178 of 308 Restaurants in Galveston
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Two Strikes, I'm out”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

Two visits... two horrible meals. First time about 3 months ago my wife had a "Gordita" which loosely translated usually means "Fat Tortila". This one was one dried out, scrawny, semi-crunchy mess which fell apart at the first bite. Jack has much better tacos for 1/10 the price. The Shrimp Queso Fundido was ok; except it had too much yellow cheese instead of the usual white cheese. This weekend 3/17 I was in the mood for some Menudo and decided to give them a second chance... bad idea. The price on the menu is not the one they charge you. They charged me extra for 1 extra tortilla; a full order extra. Water was poured in our tea. The waitress was a scatter brain. Menudo tasted ok; but 1/2 of it was bones and solid fat. Customers were complaining about bad service left and right, and the pace was mostly empty. The restrooms are nasty but the tables were mostly kept neat. I wish I could give it a 1/100 of a star. Stay away, go to fast food down the street,

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sergio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    7
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Jackson Texas, USA
1 review
“dog food would probably taste better”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I ordered the supreme nachos, the Botana for one, and my daughter ordered the Milanesa. NONE of these dishes were good. The meat was old and re-cooked. The fajitas didn't taste like they were fajitas at all. I was going to be rude and complain to get my money back but didn't have the heart to do so. Never will go there again. The hour ride home I was nauseaus, and am still belching that horrible food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sarah200560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
austin
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The tortillas alone make it worth a visit!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Breakfast was cheap and pretty good. For the price it is probably above average. No complaints, and would return again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank AustinTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
96 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Food was authentic but a bit bland”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

The place looked really neat in an old building with Mexican decor. The menu was huge. The place had regulars that seemed to all know eachother. The food was all scratch made and was authentic Mexican but it was a bit bland. I don't think I would go back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jmaes21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Our Galveston breakfast stop, always.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

We visit Galveston very frequently and on our way out we stop here for breakfast burritos. Always. Very authentic Mexican atmosphere, surroundings, and food. It's a small restaurant not a chain so if your expecting that, you may not enjoy. We love the food. Ppl are always nice and the owner is there and does help around asking how service/food is. Truly reminds us of our vacations to Mexico. Visit them!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aggs7584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Gusto Del Pueblo also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to El Gusto Del Pueblo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing