We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest Marriott Courtyard I've ever stayed at”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Helotes, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nicest Marriott Courtyard I've ever stayed at”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The family and I stayed here a couple of nights during August. We liked the hotel a lot. Its new, clean, and having a larger combined sister property pool is good. There is a nice lobby bistro/bar and a pool bar. The bistro evening service was outstanding.


The Galveston ocean was nasty while we visited. It was one of the times when seaweed is there and the city does not rake the beaches. My daughters refused to go near the beach.

Good thing we had a good resort pool. We did Moody Gardens, which we always like (but is very expensive). I also visited the Blues Brothers Brewpub in downtown Galveston that turned out to not actually make beer because they were under new management and doing some construction.

We became a little bored with Galveston and left a day early. Two nights was plenty.

I definitely recommend this Courtyard.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blakester49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    106
    33
    17
    14
See reviews for
111
104
7
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
395 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The property and the room were very nice and all function was well thought-after. The bed was very comfortable. The food at the food bar in the lobby was healthy and flavorful. I liked the location being on the quieter side of the island. The pool was very nice as was the exercise room. Overall, a very good stay!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile

I usually check in at the Marriott properties and this one is one of the best! Very clean rooms and spacious as well as the bathrooms.Towels and linens are as white as snow and are freshly cleaned and pressed. I would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank legaspi1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Overall experience at this Marriott location is excellent. Everything was what you could expect from a well-maintained Marriott hotel. Greeted by very friendly hotel staff, room overlooking the sea is also a big plus!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank K_T209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I drove down to the island on a whim and decided we would give this hotel a shot. Glad we did! Staff are very friendly, hotel is clean and fresh. It was a little chilly for the pool but it looked very nice. The room was good sized and pay the extra $10 for the gulf view side. (May be different price in peak season). The shower was what surprised me. Most islands or coastal hotels only get "ok" water pressure especially on the 4th floor. This one was great ad warmed up quickly. We will hopefully get to come back for more than a night!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adam J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We visited here just to get away from Houston for a weekend and have a close to home vacation. We did not spend much time at the hotel, just sleep and shower.
This was a very nice and new hotel with a small parking garage below hotel. There is a small pool outside with no hot tub. There is a bar by the pool but did not use it.
Overall the room was very clean and very good for the price (off season). Our room had a king sized bed, small couch, desk, and a mini fridge; decent size for 2 people. Bed was super comfy and slept very well, was hard to get out in the morning. Shower had a small granite extension to sit on while in the shower, made the shower feel more spacious.

Cons: Further west of most of the action; restaurants, bars, and public beaches. It would be good for a family who wants it quieter and less party schenanigans.

I would stay here again and recommend to a friend.

10/4/13 to 10/6/13

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TrojanSoccer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Brand new. Beautiful pool. The lady at check in was awesome!! Great value, the night before boarding a cruise. Very clean and modern. You can trust this one. We only paid $80 using AAA. I would've been happy to pay $150.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhishPhanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
5.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
Address: 9550 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9772 (Formerly Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island is a Galveston oceanfront hotel that's perfect for weekend getaways and business trips. Our hotel in Galveston, Texas offers the ideal combination of thoughtful amenities and conveniences, and we make it easy for you to enjoy all kinds of journeys and vacations in Galveston. Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island is near top attractions like the warm and sandy Jamaica Beach. We are close to Pleasure Pier and Galveston Island State Park. And, guests love our proximity to many things to do and see on the Galveston Seawall. While at our hotel, you will be able to relax and luxuriate in our cozy guest rooms that feature plush bedding an pillow-top mattresses. Our hotel can be your home-away-from-home as you explore Galveston, and should you want to spend downtime with us on our property, we welcome you to dine in our restaurant - The Bistro. Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island is also an ideal location to hold business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing