We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Baytown, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“clean and quiet”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

My husband and I stayed there on Nov. 11 to celebrate his birthday (Nov 11) and our 25th anniversary (Nov.12)
The pros: It was so quiet around us, if it hadn't been for the cars in the parking lot we never would have known other people were in the hotel. There is a Starbuck's on site which was nice. The room was very nice and I like how the bed faced the window. Everything was clean and nice.
Here are the CONS:
I was disappointed in the room chosen for us, as I had explained it was our 25th anniversary and I wanted a very nice room. The room given to us was on the 2nd floor but it had no balcony. It did have a beautiful view of the ROOF line! I asked for an ocean view but only saw a partial view of the ocean. We were going to stay another night but my husband was so mad, we checked out early. He is 6'7" tall and the bed was high enough off the ground. Also, his feet did not hang off the end of the bed either. The shower head in the shower was high on the wall too. He hates showers with low shower heads. The bed was not to our liking though. We like a pillow top mattress and this bed was very firm. If you like firm beds, this one is great for you! Also, be sure to stop by a store and bring your own drinks! A 20 oz. soda sold from the front desk cost $2.80! OUCH!( That was ridiculous! ) A great place to eat is Miller's Landing. The food is really good and they have all sorts of fare.. burgers, seafood, steak, home- cooked meals.

Room Tip: avoid room 224, No balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank artluvr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    108
    34
    18
    14
See reviews for
112
107
7
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed here on business--wish i'd had more time to enjoy it!

The hotel--
Lobby: gorgeous, very well decorated with nice ambiance. there's a bar at the entrance and some booths as well as a lounge area where you can see the pool.
General decor: modern, colorful, and probably recently re-done. tasteful and looks upscale.
Bathrooms: nice and clean, reasonably spaced, well lit
Beds: standard, pillows are a little too soft
Temp control: wall unit
Amenities: paul mitchell shampoo/conditioner, lots of chargers by the bed, coffeemaker, full length mirror

EXTRA STUFF--
The pool outside is really great. It's got lots of lounge chairs, mini waterfall, colored lights at night... It's shared with the Towneplace behind the Courtyard so it's located in between the two and you can't see the beach from the pool.

The hotel is just across the street from the beach so you can go out for a stroll/run. However, the location is farther away from the restaurants and bars than other hotels on Seawall Blvd (it's other end of Galveston Island) but it's quiet and they're all still accessible with a 10-15 minutes drive.

Room Tip: You can get an ocean view room at this hotel! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luiabooya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eccleshall
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

Clean and nearly new!
Reasonable prices.
Gorgeous pool. Try a seaward facing room.
Dining room only works in an evening over the weekends.
Only niggle is that internet was intermittent in my room(308).
Other than that PERFECT!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bartonsmpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thompsons Station, TN
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 days last week and enjoyed everything about the stay. This is a new hotel right on Seawall Blvd. Upon check in we knew this would be good. The staff is excellent and so frendly and helpful. We had a room facing the gulf with a balcony ...beautiful view. The pool area is like that at a small resort - heated. There is plenty of parking, some under the hotel. The only negative is that it's on the far end of the blvd but that's also a plus as you are removed from some of the busyness.

Room Tip: Do what you can to get a room with balcony facing the gulf
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We traveled here for a school football game in a nearby city, loved the hotel our room # 416 had an amazing view, the only negative was the beach across the street wasn't really a beach it was man made stones and you had to cross over the main drag to even get to the beach but the hotel was great wonderful hospitality and there was even a starbucks in the lobby:))

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timgigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Hotel was very clean. The bedding sheets and towels smelled so fresh and clean. The best hotel in Galveston for your money. Very clean room and spacious. It is just minutes away from the touristy areas but far enough to relax and calm your mind.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 311112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helotes, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

The family and I stayed here a couple of nights during August. We liked the hotel a lot. Its new, clean, and having a larger combined sister property pool is good. There is a nice lobby bistro/bar and a pool bar. The bistro evening service was outstanding.


The Galveston ocean was nasty while we visited. It was one of the times when seaweed is there and the city does not rake the beaches. My daughters refused to go near the beach.

Good thing we had a good resort pool. We did Moody Gardens, which we always like (but is very expensive). I also visited the Blues Brothers Brewpub in downtown Galveston that turned out to not actually make beer because they were under new management and doing some construction.

We became a little bored with Galveston and left a day early. Two nights was plenty.

I definitely recommend this Courtyard.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blakester49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
5.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Galveston Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
Address: 9550 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9772 (Formerly Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island is a Galveston oceanfront hotel that's perfect for weekend getaways and business trips. Our hotel in Galveston, Texas offers the ideal combination of thoughtful amenities and conveniences, and we make it easy for you to enjoy all kinds of journeys and vacations in Galveston. Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island is near top attractions like the warm and sandy Jamaica Beach. We are close to Pleasure Pier and Galveston Island State Park. And, guests love our proximity to many things to do and see on the Galveston Seawall. While at our hotel, you will be able to relax and luxuriate in our cozy guest rooms that feature plush bedding an pillow-top mattresses. Our hotel can be your home-away-from-home as you explore Galveston, and should you want to spend downtime with us on our property, we welcome you to dine in our restaurant - The Bistro. Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island is also an ideal location to hold business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing