We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Breakfast was lacking but the girl who worked the breakfast more than made up for that. She was the sweetest most attentive person. Room was nice and had sofa bed for the kid. Close to the water and pier. Price was right...would for sure stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

218 - 224 of 305 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

I mainly chose Courtyard due to its reward program, but it turned out to be an excellent place to stay. It is further out from the main part of the seawall hotels, but that made it quieter. We did have to drive to any activities we wanted to do, but that was ok. Nothing is too far on an island. Room size was good, we reserved a balcony room so we could look out over the ocean. No beach across from the hotel, just rocks in front of the seawall. The Bistro is good, we ate breakfast there one morning. There is a good pool in the back, only down side is the pool is shared with Townsuites so it was very crowded most of the time. Overall I would recommend Courtyard as a good place to lay your head in Galveston.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just returned from a wonderful stay here. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The rooms were extremely clean and fresh. The housekeepers were very nice and did a wonderful job. There was also a wonderful pool that was great for little kids. Everything was wonderful. A beautiful view of the ocean and Seawall. It was worth the money to have such a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: I asked for a room to see the pool area so I could keep track of the family. It was great.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This hotel appears to be somewhat new. Very clean. Room size is good with a king you get a couch good size bathroom, good views, not many balconies, and a small restaurant. We booked it because of the reasonable price and the type of pool they have. Larger than most pools, outside bar and food service, private cabanas that are way overpriced, lots of umbrellas and not so comfortable lounge chairs.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with balconies when you make reservations
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carla Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This hotel is only about a year old, and it is right on the sea wall. It had a great pool area for kids, free garage parking and Starbucks in the lobby. At checkin, they even carried our bags up to the room..at a Courtyard! My only suggestions are two: housekeeping could do a better job, and the front desk folks could be a little more helpful and friendly. Otherwise great hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CbinBigD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We first booked the Marriott behind them and the room was not ready and only one person on duty to book in guest and clean rooms. This is a new building, one year old. We then went to this hotel. The lobby is very nice with a bar. We checked in right away. Do not order food here!!!!!! There was only one person on Memorial Day. It took an hour to get eggs and really bad sausage. The bar was ok sometimes. One person couldn't serve and the other bartender lost his keycard. The rooms are great and price is good!!!!!

Room Tip: Gulf side is probably better than pool side that was noisy
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason T, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We sincerely apologize for not being able to accomodate your reservation. I know this experience can be very frustrating. It is our goal to ensure that each guest reservation is accomodated to their liking. However, unforseen circumstances sometimes makes this hard to comeby. We take your review seriously and have worked diligently to ensure that something like being unable to accomodate reservations do not occur. If you decide to give us another chance, please feel free to contact me and I will personally ensure the details of your reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I haven't had to pay for a breakfast or a cup of coffee at a hotel in years. (But not at this hotel) My wife and I are Platinum with Marriott and Gold with Hilton and are used to the benefits of these programs. This hotel makes guest of any status pay for everything. In addition the hotel pool is shared with another property. Last point this property is too far away from the Galveston action (restaurants and shopping etc) There are far better properties where the owners and management actually care about their guests.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason T, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for your review about our property. As the Courtyard brand, we have recently updated our Platinum Elite arrival gift during check in. This arrival gift now allows for a Platinum Elite member to receive additional Marriott Rewards points as well as a food or beverage item from our Bistro or our Market. If you decide to give our hotel another try, it will be my pleasure to assist you in receiving all of the Platinum amenities we have available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
5.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
5.6 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Galveston Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island

Address: 9550 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9772 (Formerly Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range: £74 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island is a Galveston oceanfront hotel that's perfect for weekend getaways and business trips. Our hotel in Galveston, Texas offers the ideal combination of thoughtful amenities and conveniences, and we make it easy for you to enjoy all kinds of journeys and vacations in Galveston. Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island is near top attractions like the warm and sandy Jamaica Beach. We are close to Pleasure Pier and Galveston Island State Park. And, guests love our proximity to many things to do and see on the Galveston Seawall. While at our hotel, you will be able to relax and luxuriate in our cozy guest rooms that feature plush bedding an pillow-top mattresses. Our hotel can be your home-away-from-home as you explore Galveston, and should you want to spend downtime with us on our property, we welcome you to dine in our restaurant - The Bistro. Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island is also an ideal location to hold business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing