We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfied”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Galveston Island
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We were very pleased with our stay here recently. The hotel is very nice, new, & clean. The staff is very friendly & helpful. Every time we had a request it was handled immediately with kindness. We took our lab with us & were pleased to find a truly pet friendly hotel that was clean! The resort style pool was unexpected & awesome as well! Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brookeyrollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

We had a great time at this hotel. All of the staff was very friendly. Great value for the price point. It's behind the Courtyard which was confusing at first. The pool was excellent! The room is small for a "suite" ... we had just enough room for 2 adults and a toddler. I would feel cramped with 4 people in there though. Breakfast was fine ... mostly just cereal, fruit, and muffins but that was enough for us. Close to Moody Gardens although we didn't make it there. They allow pets which was huge plus for us to be able to bring our doggie.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank txtraveler9977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in September. Our room was a king suite and had enjoy space for two adults and a toddler. This is a new hotel and the rooms are well kept. We stayed on the second floor and had a nice view of the hotel from the room. The service was great and the pool was amazing. We stayed here during a non-peak time so the pool cabanas were free. On the weekends the guests have to pay to enjoy the cabanas. The location is about 2 miles away from the beach area, restaurants and Pleasure Pier. We did not mind the distance as I was looking for a more quiet location.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Persia456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The room was great. On a weekend that suites were hard to book, this had the best price and availability. Towneplace Suites Building is hidden behind the Courtyard and shares the fantastic pool between the two hotels. Outdoor pool is well kept and a great place for swimming and relaxing.

The road it is on is somewhat of a raceway making it an interesting experience getting out onto the roadway. Road runs adjacent to the Gulf Ocean which is pretty fantastic.

I've yet to see a hotel get the Free Continental Breakfast to work at busy times. Limited seating and crowded trying to get breakfast ... and awkward having to carry it up to the room because there is no seating. Works fine during non busy periods. This is pretty much typical of most hotels. The food was great.

They have free transportation to anywhere on the island.
A great place on Galveston Island and a great place prior to going on a cruise.

Room Tip: Walk distance to Jimmies on the pier. Worth the walk for a meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank itzmoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This facility was new and beautiful! was tough getting parking late at night but not a big deal to us. the customer service was outstanding. The bed was so comfortable, and the pool was beautiful! would definatly stay again if we traveled to Galveston again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tiffany D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaPC360, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Galveston Island, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Next time you return to our hotel be sure to check out the pool bar food menu.The food choices are great.

Thanks again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Monica Pena, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Very satisfied with our one night stay. We tried to check-in an hour early - no luck. Headed down the street to the end of the seawall (about a half a mile) and enjoyed the beach for a bit. Not the nicest beach, but definitely has character! Got our fill of the beach and checked in at the hotel. We were given a room overlooking the wetlands that are just outside the window. Can almost see the water - almost.

Hotel is located behind the Courtyard which is right on the main beach road. Towneplace sits kind of katty corner behind it, and they are the pool area. The pool area is WONDERFUL. Stayed there the rest of the time and relaxed. Waiter service from the Courtyard delivered some tropical drinks and we were all set. Covered cabanas, walk in pool, and changing rooms/bathrooms were all very nice. We had picked up some food to grill on our way in (after calling to confirm they had a grill. Again, new staff and had to go check..). They set up the grill just off the half-underground parking area beside the wetlands. There was no sidewalk to get to where the grill was placed so a little sloshy due to a steady flow of water coming from the first floor of the hotel - I think a/c drainage... Ate our dinner on the comfy couches sitting on the back porch of the Courtyard and watched the sun set over the grassy area next to the hotel.

As I recall, there are not many restaurants, bars, entertainment close to the hotel. Which was fine with us. Would have to travel east to the heart of Galveston for more choices.

Room Tip: Ask for the room on the wetlands side. If on the other side, you are overlooking parking and anothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Explorer_Gene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The room is nice enough, but the advertised 'view' is not. There also is no beach access out front, it's about a 1/2 mile walk. The hotel is situated behind the Courtyard by Marriott, the rooms there face the ocean.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjvf57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21
5.6 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Galveston Island

Address: 9540 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9772 (Formerly TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range: £84 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Galveston Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island is perfect for an extended stay in Galveston, TX. We provide many opportunities to have adventures all around Galveston like along the Galveston Seawall, which is steps away from our Galveston Beach hotel. Near our accommodations, you will find Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark Moody Gardens. Should you be traveling to Galveston on business, you will be near downtown Galveston's top offices and corporations - and you will appreciate our on-site business center and meeting room. All guests can enjoy our Galveston Beach hotel's many amenities, which include complimentary breakfast, an outdoor pool and pool bar, a fitness center, and free Wi-Fi. TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island is an all-suite hotel offering gracious service and spacious guest suites, with comfortable beds and plenty of room to spread out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your TownePlace Suites Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing