We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Quiet Property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed here at the end of summer when my AC went out, gotta love that Galveston August heat!! I love this place, the staff is so nice and friendly, it is clean and well maintained. Brand new property away from all the hustle and bustle of Galveston. Very quiet even when full. Definitely will be coming back. Thank you guys so much!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lxvantess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody B, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

It's quite interesting when you arrive at a place with a full parking lot and much to your surprise its like there is nobody home when you get inside. Thanks for the review and we look forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

229 - 235 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

We were taking a cruise out of Galveston. This hotel is clean and had a nice, comfortable room. Breakfast was your typical continental with some additions.

We were pleased to find out that the hotel offers a free shuttle to the port for our cruise, and they allow you to leave your car here while you are on the cruise. This is a huge savings and very convenient. We will come here again.

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody B, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you, we are pleased that you enjoyed your pre-cruise stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Lovely room, lovely view, lovely pool...gorgeous setting.
Thank you. Looking out over the Gulf of Mexico is pretty special, and to share with my family in such a nice hotel was even better. Lovely walk along the promenade and down to the beach just across the road, plenty of restaurants locally too.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody B, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Thank you for the review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2013

We stayed at the TownePlace Suites for a quick Thanksgiving getaway. We loved the location, and the staff was very helpful and nice. We chose this hotel because of their reasonable pet rates ($100 per stay). The hotel is perfect for anyone with pets - close to the seawall for walks, lots of other dogs, and outside near the parking garage their is a semi-enclosed area for the dogs to run. The breakfast was also pretty good, although only a handful of selections compared to some of the other hotels we've stayed at. Overall, I'd recommend this hotel and we'd definitely stay there again next time we go to Galveston.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrcoopers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody B, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for the great review. We strive to make our hotel feel like a place where you can come, relax and have a great time. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

This is a beautiful property, but they have a housekeeping issue. My room was not vacuumed well, there was dust on the furniture, there was mold on the bathroom grout, and the window had all kinds of little hand prints and what I am sure are face prints. Since it was November and long past the High Season, I have a feeling those prints have been there quite some time.

The hotel shares a beautiful pool and cabana area with the Courtyard. The rooms are smaller than other TownePlace Suites I've stayed at, but my room was comfortable. Like all hotels in this brand, the breakfast is strictly continental with no hot foods. The price was excellent, and the rooms were quiet in November. Just beware that you are at the western end of the island and downtown is about seven miles away or so. It's also located directly behind the Courtyard--not on Seawall Drive as you are lead to believe by the address.

Room Tip: I had a room facing west and it had a view of the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vanclaners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody B, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for your review and we are terribly sorry that our property was not quite up to par with cleanliness during your time with us. Rest assure we have made many operational improvements and since have raised and maintained our standards of cleanliness. We hope for the opportunity to have you back in the future so that we may make a better and long lasting impression. Again we appreciate the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This place will put ridiculous holds on your credit card and then hold the funds for 3 days AFTER you check out and they have their money. We were very dissappointed to find they did this. Of course, when we contacted them, they blame the bank. Untrue, I worked for my bank for many years and know their hold polices. For a $285 bill, 2 nights stay, they placed over $550 worth of holds, release one of them when the charge came thru, then held $260 more for 3 days. I have used Marriotts for years, never again! And don't try to talk to the manager, he doesn't come in until "about noonish" and they cannot reach him to handle problems.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladymsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody B, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

We are terribly sorry for the billing mishaps you had to endure after your stay with us. We had many situations and complaints like yours in the past. Since then we made some card processing changes for the better and have knocked issues such as these to a bare minimum. Again we are terribly sorry for your experience and we thank you for the review as this tells us, from a guest perspective, the things we need to work on and improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed here one Saturday night before getting on a Carnival Cruise ship. We took advantage of their parking offer (if you stay at least one night, you can leave your car in their lot while on your cruise for no charge - they have a shuttle van to take you to / from the port).

The room was nice (after all, this is a brand new hotel) and typical for a TownePlace Suites Hotel. The hotel is on the same property as a Courtyard (in fact, the TownePlace Suites sits behind the Courtyard).

I did not even look at the pool so I have no review of that. We did try to buy some snacks from the front desk and they were picked clean (only a few sodas and some chips left). The Courtyard's selection was better (i.e. stocked).

Location is not horrible, although I believe it is away from any action. You would have to drive to get anywhere fun on the island (we went to Pleasure Pier to eat a Bubba Gumps - $10 to park).

The hotel is directly across a 5 lane avenue from the ocean. The "beach" at this location appears to be nothing but rocks. We didn't actually go down to the beach by the hotel but we didn't see anyone else there either.

Be careful when looking for the hotel the first time. The signage is low and blocked by trees Also, the lot snakes around from one side to the other before heading straight back to the where TownePlace front desk is.

We could see the ocean from our room, although it was not a direct view (i.e. we had to look to our left).

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BugsOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody B, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for the review, we certainly appreciate your opinion and will use this to our advantage to work on the things we need to and keep doing what we are excelling at.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
5.6 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island

Address: 9540 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9772 (Formerly TownePlace Suites Galveston Island Gulf Front)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range: £72 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island is perfect for an extended stay in Galveston, TX. We provide many opportunities to have adventures all around Galveston like along the Galveston Seawall, which is steps away from our Galveston Beach hotel. Near our accommodations, you will find Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark Moody Gardens. Should you be traveling to Galveston on business, you will be near downtown Galveston's top offices and corporations - and you will appreciate our on-site business center and meeting room. All guests can enjoy our Galveston Beach hotel's many amenities, which include complimentary breakfast, an outdoor pool and pool bar, a fitness center, and free Wi-Fi. TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island is an all-suite hotel offering gracious service and spacious guest suites, with comfortable beds and plenty of room to spread out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing