We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pool, new property” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
463 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Great pool, new property”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

After looking up the TownePlace and adjoining Courtyard online to confirm rooms and rates, we opted to wait until we saw the properties to make a decision. We went in to the Courtyard because it was at the front of the property and asked questions of the front desk. We opted to go back to the TownePlace since rates were the same and it included free continental breakfast as opposed to the Courtyard's restaurant and the rooms hade kitchenettes.

Both share the beautiful pool and cabana area which includes a bar open in the evenings (at noon on weekends).

When we arrived at the TownePlace front desk, we were told there were no rooms available. When I told him that online showed rooms available, he checked and confirmed. It quickly became apparent throughout the stay that my initial suspicions were correct - they were nowhere near full occupancy - the parking lot was mostly vacant and we didn't see that many people during our stay. The real reason for his reluctance appeared to be two fold - one he just seemed lazy and not interested in looking up from what he was doing and two they probably had been at full occupancy for the weekend and were still recovering, so housekeeping had not caught up on getting rooms clean even at almost 6pm when we arrived.

We asked for a room on the side of the hotel where we were parked so that we could go in and out the door on that side, but he told us only the main lobby door could be used, which turned out to be a total lie - there is a door on the front to the left side and an entrance via elevator from the parking garage under the hotel.

When I went to get an extra towel and sheets for the fold out later, the same attitude was visible - he got the towel but wasn't sure which sheets were which, so he told me he would call housekeeping and get back to me in 5 minutes. He did call soon after to let me know he had the sheets but didn't tell me if it was on its way up or I needed to come back for it. So I waited a few minutes and went back to the front desk, where I received 1 fitted sheet for a queen bed which was much too large for the fold out.

The room itself was tiny - I have stayed in a lot of studio suites, and this was by far the smallest - the fold out opened to meet the end of the king bed. But the room was nicely appointed with a walk through closet from entry hall to bathroom. The only real complaint about the room was that there was white dog hair everywhere.

Breakfast was pretty sparse - definitely old school continental rather than the new hot continental so prevalent at hotels these days.

It wasn't a bad place, and the great pool area might bring us back, but we would probably opt to try the Courtyard next time.

There is no beach across from these hotels - the seawall drops off to rocks, so you will have to drive or walk a little way to a beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPC451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    74
    46
    22
    10
See reviews for
123
56
5
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hastings, Nebraska
Level Contributor
363 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We have no idea when this room was last deep cleaned. Basically they do the bathrooms and down the center of the rooms. The hideabed was hideous. When we opened it, there were candy wrappers, M&M s and an old hand towel in the bedding. Under the sofa were french fries, beer caps and fried chicken crumbs. Once housekeeping came, they didn't finish the job, even going so far as to leave cups in the sink.

One television didn't work properly and had to be unplugged to turn it on and off.

There was no manager on site or on call and the next day it still took a long time for partial service.

At least the Gulf of Mexico was right there and we could see it well!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DowneastCornhusker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaPC360, General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We are sorry to hear that you had a less than pleasant stay with us. Our hotel is currently under new management. The items you have mentioned regarding the cleanliness and quality of the room will be addressed with our Housekeeping Manager. We'd like to obtain some additional details about your experience so I have sent you a private message. I hope to have the honor of serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Monica Pena, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

I read the review of pcsanity below and agree with the details so will not repeat. I stayed here for 5 nights to attend a festival and it was exceptional. The front desk person was very friendly and efficient and went out of her way to check up on our stay. Housekeeping were very good. We were missing a sink plug and trashcan and she dropped everything to find one of each for us.
My phone did not work and although I reported it daily it never got fixed during my stay but that did not deter from the overall experience.
Breakfast was good and the staff very helpful I can see how it would get crowded but I was there early enough that it was not a problem.
The poolside bar was a good place to eat and we did so several times. The food was very good at a reasonable cost and served with a smile. There is a chalkboard in the lobby advising guests of local events which was very helpful.
Some complain that the hotel is too far west but the drive is very pleasant along the scenic seawall and not a show stopper. Parking was plentiful and underground parking was available Parking close to the basement elevator allowed for easy lugging of suitcases from the car to the room and back again. In essence this was a fully equipped apartment with microwave, full fridge and all the comforts of home. I would certainly stay here again and recommend this to friends. It was an outstanding value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymondocanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MonicaPC360, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our hotel.

I have recently moved to Galveston and accepted the General Manager position at this hotel. Your feedback is appreciated and we look forward to see you again soon.

Monica Pena
General Manager

TownePlace Suites Galveston
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed her for a mini break over the Easter holiday. We live in Houston and wanted somewhere close for a quick getaway. We noticed that the majority of people staying here were either like us or were staying here before/after their Galveston cruise. No big partiers here... Lots of kids and families.

Pros: rooms well thought out (good use of space), very nice pool for a Towne Place Suites (shared with the Courtyard Marriott but no big deal), good value, free breakfast, located on far west side so quiet and away from all of the riff raff that Galveston seems to attract these days, room service available, restaurant next door at courtyard, nice pool bar with friendly bar staff and cabanas available (many other similar places do not have this), close drive to restaurants and attractions, VERY close to Schlitterbahn and Moody Gardens, nice work out facility.

Cons: Across from the sea wall but you will need to take a short drive to a sandy beach (not a big deal to us because it's in a nice quiet location), breakfast was weak... A few muffins, bagels, milk and cereal was about all that was offered. The lady running breakfast was wonderful though! Pool can get crowded mid day (you will probably find this anywhere). Check in is at 4 and room was not ready until 4. It was Easter weekend though so I really shouldn't complain.

All in all I would recommend!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runningtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
469 reviews
267 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Overall this TownePlace Suites is a nice option for a mid-range extended stay. We normally stay at IHG or HHonors properties, but do use Marriott as our backup. Since we were in town for the half marathon, and there was also another festival going on, room rates were out of sight. We chose this hotel as they had a group block at a fair rate, and they did not disappoint. The only negative I see is that the hotel is pretty far west on the seawall, so there is not a beach on this section of seawall, nor dining options nearby if it were a bit closer to center seawall we would be likely to choose it more often.

We knew we would have fewer perks, but would also have all we needed for the two nights. TownePlace is a designed as a limited service extended stay so do not expect your typical mid-range business traveler perks. However the location really delivered more than expected. The rooms are clean, (relatively new hotel) staff is VERY friendly, and if you know what to expect with the TownePlace brand you will not be disappointed with this location. They are adjacent to the Courtyard by Marriott, which sits in front of the TownPlace. There was plenty of free parking available at the hotel as well, both on the surface lot, as well as in the garage below the hotel.

Check in was friendly and efficient, they recognized our Marriott Rewards status, and kindly obliged our request that both rooms have a gulf view. (We did have to change rooms on the second one to get the view as the new clerk did not know the numbering system. It seems that half the rooms have a gulf view from the side, an the other half have a parking lot view.

Unlike some other extended stay type hotels, TownePlace has staff on duty at the front desk 24 hours a day, though there were times they seemed to be missing in action. They have a small convenience area to purchase food and drink items. Also, in the morning they have a light grab and go continental (no hot food) breakfast. There is small dining area in the lobby, so you can eat there or if it is busy, just take the food back to your suite. The food was nothing fancy, but plenty for a continental breakfast. We booked a studio suite and that is what we were given. If you are staying for more than one night there is limited housekeeping service.

The room and common areas were clean and modern. All rooms have a nice size fridge, microwave, stovetop, sink, and kitchenware. There is no kitchen table, but there is a nice sized work desk as well as a love seat. The room has a comfortable King size bed. The rooms are pretty small, but are comfortable for two people. The climate control system worked well, and the blower can be set to on for white noise while still using the air conditioning, though it was a bit noisy. The room has a HD TV with plenty of channels, though the TV was set at an odd angle to the bed and couch....not much that could be done about that given the room layout. The free Wi-Fi service was easy to connect to and was relatively fast for a hotel. Carpet, furnishing's linens, and furniture are all clean and fresh.

As for the common facilities, they have quite a nice offerings. Outside they have a nice little grilling area. They also have a wonderful pool that they share with the Courtyard by Marriott. They have quite a few lounge chairs, and we always seemed to find one, but I imagine on a busy day there could be a lack of chairs. They have nice loungers, tables, and umbrellas. They also have some sitting tables as well as cabanas. When we were there over the weekend they were not charging for the cabanas, but I hear that they do sometimes. They have a poolside bar, and are also supposed to serve food poolside, but apparently the cook did not show up for work on Saturday, so we had to go buy food elsewhere. Would have preferred to stay at the pool rather than drive down the seawall to get food. Given that, we did not buy any drinks from them either.

Inside, they have a small but sufficient workout room They have washers and dryers for guests to do laundry. They also have a small business center with one computer in the lobby. The staff was all very friendly and was willing to give us a late check-out so that we could clean up after the race.

We would recommend this hotel for either an extended stay or a quick on night stay if you are looking for a nice, yet reasonably priced option in Galveston. Just be aware that they are a bit far down the seawall, and that there is no beach adjacent.

Room Tip: Ask for a Gulf View Room, they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pcsanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

I just came back from Galveston, and I really enjoyed our stay. The property is really nice and because it's on the same premise as Courtyard Marriott, it has a gorgeous pool and a nice fire pit that is very upscale and a plus for a 2-star accommodation. We also used the laundry and checked out the gym, which was decent. However, our stay did start off with a glitch. They didn't have our reserved rooms (2 2-bedroom suites) ready, and they were about to give us two queen studios for a discounted rate, but we chose to just get 1 two bedroom suite and 1 queen studio and saved some money since they gave us a big discount for the second room. Otherwise, they bent over backwards to accommodate us, giving us pretty nice room with a view, and by allowing us a really late checkout to make up for it (1:30pm). The front desk lady, manager and assistant manager all seemed to try to make our stay pleasant. The breakfast area was too crowded, as other reviewers said, but overall, the woman who worked there also bent over backwards to make our experience as pleasant as possible, offering to trays or trying to find us tables. It would be nicer, though, if they could expand their breakfast selection to include some hot items like scrambled eggs and sausages. I must say, though, the housekeeping could use a little more work, as I saw a lot of dust in the room and we had to ask to get enough towels, toilet paper and shampoo/conditioner for the big 2 bedroom suite that had 5 people. You would think they would make it better stocked for families. But overall, I love the fact that the place is like an apartment, which worked really well for our family (5 adults, 2 kids), as we got to use the barbecue and the fully equipped kitchen to cook a few of the meals to offset our meal cost and dietary needs. Overall, highly recommended!

Room Tip: Two bedroom suites are very nice. Ask for room facing the west end if you want some view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aubrey, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

My family spent two nights during Spring Break 2014, and we liked the location. It was a few miles east of a friend's beach house, and a couple of miles west of carpet golf, a Kroger grocery store, and a Papa Johns. Even though the seawall is directly across the road from the hotel, a beach is within walking distance.

The staff was very courteous, and was able to give good information about local attractions. Down at this end of the island, it's a little quieter than the usual Spring Break crowd; we had no noise or disruptions whatsoever.

Room Tip: 3rd floor gives you a view of the surrounding area...which unfortunately includes a cow pasture next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scottygator94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
2.4 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
3.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island

Property: TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
Address: 9540 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9772 (Formerly TownePlace Suites Galveston Island Gulf Front)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island is perfect for an extended stay in Galveston, TX. We provide many opportunities to have adventures all around Galveston like along the Galveston Seawall, which is steps away from our Galveston Beach hotel. Near our accommodations, you will find Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark Moody Gardens. Should you be traveling to Galveston on business, you will be near downtown Galveston's top offices and corporations - and you will appreciate our on-site business center and meeting room. All guests can enjoy our Galveston Beach hotel's many amenities, which include complimentary breakfast, an outdoor pool and pool bar, a fitness center, and free Wi-Fi. TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island is an all-suite hotel offering gracious service and spacious guest suites, with comfortable beds and plenty of room to spread out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing