We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel - no AC in July, skimpy breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I reserved two rooms for two nights at this hotel for a quick vacation in Galveston. I had stayed at the next door Courtyard the year before chose TownePlace bc of the free breakfast.

Check in was very smooth. I had reserved two Kings but asked for a double when I checked in. They did not have one available but did call me in my room 15 min later to offer me a double that became available. I chose to stay in the king bc they said the double room was not any larger than the king. The room is pretty small. Definitely the smallest room I've been in at a Marriott property. We had two kids with us who shared the sofa bed which really made the room tiny. The room itself was very clean and housekeeping service was good. The kitchenette was a plus. Also had a very large closet. Not sure why such a large closet is needed. Room size is not bad for two ppl. Four made it very cramped.

Being as it was 98 degrees outside, we immediately turned the air down to 65 degrees and went to the beach. Upon return, the room was warm. I called down to the front desk and they said it would be looked at. We left for dinner, come back and the room was still warm. Checked with my in laws in second room and their room was also warm. Called front desk again and they said no one could look at it until the morning. After an uncomfortable night, I spoke to the asst manager and front desk person and stressed that our rooms needed to be fixed. They both assured me it would be taken care of. Also talked to a few other guests at the hotel who complained that their air was out as well! We leave and come back after a day at pleasure pier and the room is warm again. The next day for breakfast we were sitting outside and saw a maintenance person taking away ac units! Granted I was checking out that day but still made a point to complain to the asst manager. I did receive a discount (20%) but really would have rather had a comfortable stay. That said, the entire staff was very nice. I wish they had offered to move us to the Courtyard next door since they obviously knew they had ac issues (hallways and elevators were extremely warm).

Breakfast was negligible. Barely a continental. Tasteless bagels. Brown bananas. Ran out of orange juice first morning. Ran out of kids cereal the next day (or didn't replace).

Pool area is great. Very large and pretty. We swam for a long time.

All in all, was not horrible but AC situation should have been immediately addressed with a stay at a different hotel if AC would not be fixed.

A couple of other small issues but they were resolved with a call to the front desk.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rabz786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbi G, Assistant General Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for your review of the Towneplace Suites Galveston Island Gulf Front. While we are happy to hear that your stay began great, we are also deeply saddened that your stay was not enjoyable due to the issues in your room. We assure you that communication is key when dealing with extenuating circumstances such as that. As we are further developing our staff, we will ensure that your comment will be discussed with our entire staff. Again, we appreciate your feedback and thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (277)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 277 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

This was our second stay and we had a great time. We love the pool area. Bartender was happy to refill my ice all day when the inside ice machine was broken. Lots of families staying there. Wine in the afternoons compliments of the hotel. Need to drive to the beach as the hotel is at the end of the seawall and it's very rocky!
Our family of four had a king suite, which sounds nice, but it's a little cramped if stuck inside. Thankfully we only slept there. Kitchen area is a plus and there is a Kroger just down the way. Breakfast is nothing fancy but cereal, bagels and such are a great way to start the day anyway. Staff is incredibly helpful and even the woman cleaning the room greeted me this morning and asked if I needed anything before checking out. She knew which room I was in! Very friendly atmosphere. Washers and dryers were fast and nice to have at $1.25 per load. Bring quarters. Never made it to work out room. Apparently we were too busy eating our way through Galveston.

My only knock on the area has nothing to do with this hotel. We are a family from Florida living in Dallas. Galveston doesn't compare to any beach in Florida but it will suffice for a quick getaway. It was a bit smelly this time because of all the seaweed. I'm sure we will go back. The a Strand is neat, ride the free ferry, check out Gumbo Diner for beignets, putt putt is a family favorite and bring a kite! It's always windy in Texas!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Flfieldsfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbi G, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We work very hard to provide our guests the best service possible. We have a wonderful staff here and we are happy to know that our guests appreciate it. We look forward to your return and look forward to seeing you again at TownePlace Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed there last week for vacation and it was great. Everyone was very helpful and nice. The rooms are very clean and the pool area was great. They offer free wifi. We will be staying here again the next time we are in Galvaston.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Denisea1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbi G, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We take great pride in ensuring that each and every guest feels at home. We take every opportunity to better our team so that we may provide excellent customer service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We are here now for 10 nights and nothing seen so far that I recognîze in the negative reviews ,these must have been one off bad days and unfortunate for those involved .check in fast and efficient and little blip with room selection from t.a information wrongly supplied was swiftly solved to our satisfaction .breakfast for free was adequate and was as described at 8.45 the staff were visibly refilling everything to ensure everyone had the full choice ,as we left at 9 there was still full selection ,the pool ,lovely and clean ,plenty of towels and space ,umbrellas and cabanas .and a pool bar that served drinks and snacks til late ,facilities at the courtyard next door were available for us to use with a bistro restaurant there.all in all perfect for a sea side break

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank micklees1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbi G, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Thank you so much for reviewing our property. We are glad to hear that you have been enjoying your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed at the Marriott TownPlace over the 4th of July Holiday. The staff was great, John the shuttle guy was awesome. He took us anywhere we wanted to go and also picked us up. Really friendly person.

Our main purpose for choosing this hotel was the pool and how nice it looked on-line. But once we there it was quite nasty. The water was litterally green. My kids didn't even want to get in it. Very upsetting and we only got in once during our stay. The hotel is also pet friendly, but allowed large dogs, which to me made the hotel look bad.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 2014denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbi G, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for your review and we are terribly sorry that our property was not quite up to par with cleanliness during your time with us. Rest assure we have made many operational improvements and since have raised and maintained our standards of cleanliness. We hope for the opportunity to have you back in the future so that we may make a better and long lasting impression. Again we appreciate the review.

Sincerely,
Bobbi Gonzales

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Loved this place for our family vacation to the ocean. Great rooms and nice pool with the poolside bar and decent food selection. The big disappointment was the breakfast though - in high season most of the items will end well more than an hour till the breakfast ends (that would happen several days in a row so not just an unfortunate occasion) and when inquired of the stuff if they could help with anything they would just make 'bad luck, it's busy season' faces.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbi G, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.
We value you as a Marriott guest and while we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Bobbi Gonzales
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

The value was good. We got a clean room with a kitchenette. The hotel room was a bit cramped but it was nice. The staff was so sweet and very accommodating. We absolutely loved the pool with the cabanas and outdoor pub. Night swimming in the pool that changes colors while listening to great music was super nice. The continental breakfast was ok not grand but ok. The bistro in the a joining marriot courtyard was great. The room service was average.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Griswalds101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbi G, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations for our guest.

Sincerely,

Bobbi Gonzales
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
5.6 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island

Address: 9540 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9772 (Formerly TownePlace Suites Galveston Island Gulf Front)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range: £71 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island is perfect for an extended stay in Galveston, TX. We provide many opportunities to have adventures all around Galveston like along the Galveston Seawall, which is steps away from our Galveston Beach hotel. Near our accommodations, you will find Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark Moody Gardens. Should you be traveling to Galveston on business, you will be near downtown Galveston's top offices and corporations - and you will appreciate our on-site business center and meeting room. All guests can enjoy our Galveston Beach hotel's many amenities, which include complimentary breakfast, an outdoor pool and pool bar, a fitness center, and free Wi-Fi. TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island is an all-suite hotel offering gracious service and spacious guest suites, with comfortable beds and plenty of room to spread out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing