We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at a great price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I recently spent four nights at the TownePlace Suites in Galveston and enjoyed it very much. The room was very nice, with a kitchen. It's location at the west end of the Seawall was excellent, because it was far enough away from the crowds that it was very peaceful and quiet. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The pool area was amazing. I would definitely stay here again. This new hotel is great for families.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Robinson74720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

I great modern style hotel. King size studio with sofa sleeper was really spacious. Would of given the hotel all 5 if the breakfast was better. Location is at the end of the island, close to schlitterbahn and Moody Gardens. 4 miles away from pleasure pier.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank isaac c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I usually don't write bad reviews but I'm so annoyed. The room it self is nice. Has a good size kitchen and over all decent size for 4 people. Bathroom is small but other than that okay. First off, I stayed 6 days. Don't even waste your time going to breakfast. TERRIBLE. Nothing good, gross. The kitchen is nice so you're better off going to walmart or Kroger and making it for your self. Secondly, the WiFi sucks, don't even bother using it. Now to the main things that bothered me. when we got to our hotel, we arrived an hour after check in but had to wait another hour so they could clean our room?! The second day, they made us leave our room because guys were there to clean carpets. Our carpet never got cleaned. Not that big of a deal cause I don't really care but yeah never got cleaned. When we came back to our hotel only one bed was made and no towels. The third day we actually had no problems. On the fourth day we only had 3 towels. Again kinda annoying. Now let me go back to the first day we got there. I was doing my makeup in the bed and accidentally got foundation on the sheets which left a little mark. By day 5 of being there it was still there, meaning THEY NEVER CHANGED THE SHEETS. Day 5 our room never got cleaned. We notified them and still nothing. So then we just asked for fresh towels. Nothing. Called, an hour later still no towels. Went down to the lobby, waited an hour, NO TOWELS. Really annoying when you just want to take a shower after a long day of being out. Also there was June bugs in our bedroom. I don't know how the hell they got in the room but that is so gross. For this hotel to be only a little over a year old, it seems like it's not being taken care of. I feel bad even having to write a review like this. But I've never been so annoyed with a hotel. Even piece of crap cheap hotels I've stayed in had better service. And that's my main point, it's not that the hotel is bad, it's the maintenance. They need better staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannahdelrey131313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbi G, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,
I would first like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. we take any and every opportunity to better our team. Our guests are our top priority and main concern. I would like to inform you we have taken steps to ensure this never happens again. We have made changes in our housekeeping department and are making changes with our breakfast sercives as well. We would like to offer our sincerest apologies that we were not able to meet your-or our own- standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night at the Marriott Towne Place Suites in Galveston. Horrible experience as usual with most Marriott hotels I've stayed in. (Renaissance hotels are the only ones I've had a good experience with) This Room was filthy. Food crumbs everywhere, from previous guests. The floor was completely filthy and looked as if it hadn't been vacuumed in weeks. Hair in the bathtub, So gross! We pulled out the bed from the couch for our kids to sleep on and it was covered in crumbs, dirt, lint, etc. Worst part was when we unfolded the mattress to find the used dirty mattress pad still on the bed. Spots, stains, and BUGS all over the mattress cover and mattress. The girl at the front desk was very apologetic and sincere, said they were fully booked and could not offer us another room. She sent maintenance up to the room with another mattress which we couldn't use anyway. We ended up taking the disgusting couch completely out of the room and across the hall. Maintenance was also very helpful and sincere, and he offered to clean the room. After sleeping on the bed which felt like a rock, and going down to breakfast for another disappointment. I've never seen such a poorly stocked breakfast. Absolutely NO COFFEE. People standing everywhere and patiently waiting, very small seating area for breakfast. ONE friendly person working at the front desk, overworked, handling all customers and telephone calls. Pathetic!! The pool is the only nice thing about this place. Although it's after 10 am and it's still locked.
Overall very bad experience at this hotel would never return or recommend.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank Tortuga1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbi G, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We value you as a Marriott Rewards member and while we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

We were able to check in an hour early. I requested to have a room away from the elevator as we were traveling with a toddler. They accommodated the request and the room was very spacious. They came daily to change towels and tidy the room. The kitchen came in handy and had all basic necessities. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank nursebbbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbi G, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Our staff takes great effort to accomodate our guest and making them feel right at home. We do hope to see you again on your next vacation to Galveston Island

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

The staff is top notch!! They could not have been more helpful or friendly. The pool is the bomb. I have not seen a pool like this before. My grandson loved it and felt very comfortable in it. The rooms are clean and roomy. Poolside bar is a plus. Only downside is there is no beach in walking distance with kids. Only a rocky shore, but they have a shuttle that will take you anyplace on the island so you can get to the beach if you like.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank EAN_Diver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbi G, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are excited that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again on your next destination vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Pool area really is the highlight, here. Kids had a ball while parents relaxed.

Kitchenette was great. Staff was helpful & kind.

They are learning to use a new roomkey system with difficulty. We experienced half a dozen key failures!

Our room had a nice view of the gulf much like the pool's.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bobbi G, Front Office Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

I would like to thank you for your review of your stay with us! We love hearing that our guests are enjoying themselves. We are in fact in the process of getting accustomed to a new key system and I am delighted to inform you we have finally been able to adjust and ultimately resolve the issues with our keys. We hope you would visit again and give us the opportunity to make your next visit nothing short of stellar!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
5.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
5.6 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island

Address: 9540 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9772 (Formerly TownePlace Suites Galveston Island Gulf Front)
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range: £73 - £210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island is perfect for an extended stay in Galveston, TX. We provide many opportunities to have adventures all around Galveston like along the Galveston Seawall, which is steps away from our Galveston Beach hotel. Near our accommodations, you will find Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark Moody Gardens. Should you be traveling to Galveston on business, you will be near downtown Galveston's top offices and corporations - and you will appreciate our on-site business center and meeting room. All guests can enjoy our Galveston Beach hotel's many amenities, which include complimentary breakfast, an outdoor pool and pool bar, a fitness center, and free Wi-Fi. TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island is an all-suite hotel offering gracious service and spacious guest suites, with comfortable beds and plenty of room to spread out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing