We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Anniversary Dinner”
Review of Grotto Ristorante

Grotto Ristorante
Ranked #8 of 330 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Located inside the San Luis Resort Galveston, Grotto offers an Old Country trattoria ambiance & classic Italian cooking with recipes made on premises. Creations include many "Old World" signature dishes such as Neapolitan thin crust pizzas, Veal Kickerillo, Pollo Francese, housemade pastas & fish selections. Enjoy Grotto's famous Peach Bellini or an extensive collection of Italian and domestic wines while overlooking the pool at San Luis Resort.
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

My wife and I went to the Grotto for our Anniversary. To say that we were blow away from start to finish is an understatement. Priscilla wowed us with her knowledge of wines with a great pairing for my Veal Parmesan. She also recommended a Peach Belong for my wife, which was a great hit. She was extremely attentive, making sure that we were never for want of anything the entire night.

The food was great and portioned well. The only "complaint" was there were too many great looking deserts.

Looking forward to going back.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank Wynteryth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 133 of 296 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

Very nice atmosphere with fabulous food! Started with calamari and then we had the flounder wrapped with crab meat. It was fabulous! I highly recommend this place if in Galveston. Inside of the San Luis.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank bbowman7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

I was looking forward to a dinner at Grotto, rekindling the memories of the fabulous food of the original location at Westheimer and the Loop. To my surprise, this was just an average resort restaurant. It was not bad, but it nothing special. The convenience of its location for people who are staying at San Louis and the view of the pool are just about the only things going for it. The food was neither flavorful nor memorable and the wait staff are spacy... could barely keep up with little things, for example brought the water out but not the lemon we asked to have in it. Over the course of dinner they forgot something for each one of us at the table. It made for great tableside jokes. If you are expecting a decent hotel meal, your expectations will be met. If, however, you expect the culinary grandeur of the original Grotto, you will be disappointed.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank UberWorldly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016

This was a great dinner venue with business associates. Everyone enjoyed their dinners, the service was attentive but not intrusive; the manager visited the table to be sure we were content and overall, it was a delectable experience!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Joey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2016

I make a point to eat at Grotto every time I visit Galveston Island. The menu and service remain excellent, and they offer a variety of food and wine selections in a moderate price range. You will not be disappointed!

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank KarenFla620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Grotto Ristorante also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Grotto Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing