We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative idea”
Review of Board Game Island

Board Game Island
Ranked #90 of 315 Restaurants in Galveston
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: American
Description: A board game cafe with over 450 board games to choose from, a coffee bar serving specialty coffees, beer, wine, and soft drinks, and a full menu offering starters, sandwiches, pizzas, breakfast options, and homemade desserts.
Restaurant details
Description: A board game cafe with over 450 board games to choose from, a coffee bar serving specialty coffees, beer, wine, and soft drinks, and a full menu offering starters, sandwiches, pizzas, breakfast options, and homemade desserts.
Tx
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Creative idea”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

Stopped for lunch and a game. Picked a game we had never played, ordered a Cuban and a Chicken Salad sandwich. Food is excellent, casual relaxed atmosphere. Great place to unwind. Convenient location. Will be back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank bjcTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    12
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fun Place!”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stopped for coffee - good, not fabulous - and stayed to play a game! Super fun. They have at least 500 games for all ages and interest levels. It was relaxing and fun! Family friendly.they have food, too. But we had just eaten.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Niki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Love this Place!!! Different!”
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This place is great! It has over 500 board games to choose from. The games are free to play. But you do need to purchase a drink or food. Snacks, sandwiches, and pizza are on the menu.
We ordered Pepperoni Pannis with chips and Tropical Ice Tea. Full service coffee house too! This place is so cute. Brick walls with art displayed. Clean bathrooms. You can also purchase games. We played Family Guy Trivial Pursuit .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andypapoutsis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“What a Great Idea!”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stopped by as I had a Groupon and were staying at the Tremont House around the corner.
There are over 500 games to play stacked along numerous shelves. Groups of people sat both indoor and out playing whatever they wished for free. Crib to War and everything between.
The food is really good too! We had the pulled pork sandwaich and the chicken salad on a flaky crescent. Wonderful!
They are licensed but we took our lunch to go and ate at one of the nearby beaches as we are praire bound folk.
We'd highly recommend this place as diversion in touring, for it's food and/or if you just like playiong games which if you come by yourself, they will play with you.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bernie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Dessert, coffee, & a game!”
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stumbled up this cafe Saturday night, looking for somewhere new to sit for coffee & dessert. What a great place! It's located in the strand area. There's mostly indoor seating, with a few front sidewalk tables as well. We enjoyed delicious fresh baked chocolate cake, and there were also brownies, cookies, etc. Drinks include coffee, lattes, fraps, hot
cocoa, smoothies, lemonade, juice boxes, beer/ wine, & more. They have a nice deli menu, which you can view on their website. A staff waitress suggested a game for me and my non-gaming husband to try, and she even showed us how to play. He surprisingly enjoyed it :) There were mostly adults but definitely a family friendly atmosphere for it to be a weekend night - great for those not into the bar scene. Over 500 board games to pick from, from kids to adults', at no charge. Will definitely return and recommend to others.

Helpful?
Thank TravelingforFunTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Board Game Island also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Board Game Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing