We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hit the spot”

Yaga's Tropical Cafe
Ranked #44 of 308 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alvin, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hit the spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Good service, good food and no complaints from a group of 6, 3 couples of people that want every thing just right. Could not have been happier, hey and the prices are just right too. If on the strand in the afternoon or evening, hit this place up.

Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    124
    36
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleburne, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“They have their own little twist to food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We were here on Good Friday. They put their own little twist to ordinary food items. I had a club which was grilled, even the meat. My husband had a poor boy, it was a little different than we normally get but was still good. He enjoyed the seasoned red potatoe fries. They had a pretty good menu and some really good choices. Atmosphere was good and service was great!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Yummy and good service!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

I had the Texas Shrimp and my husband had the grilled turkey sandwich.
The food was very fresh - the turkey on the sandwich was not lunch meat - it was real sliced turkey. The side salads were flavorful and the Cajun potatoes were spicy and perfectly cooked. The shrimp was wrapped in bacon and covered with cheese. Perfect, relaxed, beach atmosphere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good dinner with very friendly server”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

Pretty good joint. Done up in a beach-Caribe theme. It was a quiet Tuesday night so we were seated and served quickly. Server was very friendly and helpful to us tourists. Typical tourist restaurant on the main drag kind of place - burgers, wraps, salads etc. We shared a plate of wings which we piping hot and very tasty. We each had a salad as well. Not the greatest but acceptable. Total bill with soft drinks was $33 for two.

On a quiet night this was a great little restaurant. A 7 out of 10.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank grandcharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alvin, Texas
Level Contributor
179 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Diverse Menu - Great Staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

I've dined here many times over the years and I've never had a bad experience here. The staff is always attentive, which makes this a nice quick lunch destination.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jake B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yaga's Tropical Cafe also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Yaga's Tropical Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing