We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy food on The Strand”

Yaga's Tropical Cafe
Ranked #40 of 314 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: American, Jamaican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast
Keller, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yummy food on The Strand”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

My friend and I enjoyed our meal here so much that we went back the next day! The strawberry cider salad was amazing - fresh, tasty, beautiful. The drinks were excellent as well. Our servers were friendly and helpful.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lucy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    125
    39
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tourist place with average food”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We ate here while visiting the Strand. Food was very average, setting was cute with a tropical feel. The host was rude to my husband but the wait staff was nice. Prices like you would expect in a tourist area. We will choose something else next time.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leftthedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Towanda,KS
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food, good price, fun atmosphere!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We ate here 4 years ago and I remembered it being good food at a good price. I wasn't disappointed this time either. The menu is not what you would find at Subway! They have sandwiches ,soups, burgers, seafood, and salads. The atmosphere reminded me of little cafes we visited in Russia. It was a skinny old store (bank maybe?) that they converted into multiple levels for dining. They also have a small courtyard outside that is great when it's not too hot. The waitress was very nice and I think it was the same one we had when we came before. Our group of seven ordered almost every item there was to order and everyone enjoyed what they had. We will definitely go there again for lunch next time we visit the Strand!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
581 reviews
452 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Great selection and location”
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

We had a table of 9 including kids and adults and everyone had something to find and love. The fried jalapeños were made here and not simply frozen and fried; they were quite spicy and tasty. Same with the appetizer crab cakes; two per order and almost no filler - just chunks of crab and spices - just great.

For main courses we had a couple orders of fried shrimp (with two sides each). Gumbo was hearty, salads had a good portion of chicken. Jaco tacos were great too, but a little on the small side - no worries as there were plenty of uneaten shrimp to fill up the stomach.

We return every trip to Galveston and glad it's still here.

Helpful?
Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great seafood & pets welcome on patio”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I had an amazing shrimp burger, I was amazed, it was delicious. We will definitely go back here. They allow pets on there patio, and were very nice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Yaga's Tropical Cafe also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Yaga's Tropical Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing