We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favorite place in Galveston!”

La King's Confectionery
Ranked #1 of 13 Dessert in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$10
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Description: Candy store, Coffee shop, Ice Cream Parlour, and Old Time Soda Fountain
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Favorite place in Galveston!”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Old time ice cream parlor with hand made salt water taffy. It's so fun to watch them make it if they're doing it while you're there. Unique candies, pretty story, and right on the strand so there's plenty to do.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    804
    171
    41
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“No Words to Describe - Yummy”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I has an espresso/chocolate chip ice cream cone that was creamy goodness that can't be put into words. My husband ordered the dark chocolate covered potato chips and chocolate covered pretzels - they were divine! Also, we got to watch them pull taffy while we were there - it smelled so good!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosenberg, Texas
1 review
“Awesome experiance!”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Went this weekend to celebrate my daughter and nieces 16 b-day, took them to La Kings for some treats we just fell in love with the place. I highly recommend La Kings to all ages. I will absolutly be back.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethMercado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, TX
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Step back in time for delicious Ice Cream & Taffy”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Walking into La King's Confectionery is like taking steps back in time, to an old time soda fountain and ice cream parlor. This is a large confectionery with baked goods, candies, coffee, homemade taffy, and delicious ice cream treats. Very reasonable prices, and delightful family atmosphere. Treat yourself and your family to this wonderful place!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tessa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brownsville, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great find!”
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Stopped by this cute place today while visiting The Strand. Bought all kinds of taffy, fudge & other goodies. Loved it so much we went in 4 times & the 4th visit they comped us a baggie of vhocolate covered orange candy! This was my favorite little shop, considering our age group.. nothing but thos candy store, the bars & the surf shops caught our attention.

Helpful?
Thank oceanlighter6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La King's Confectionery also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to La King's Confectionery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing