We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“These restored homes are beautiful.”

East End Historic District
Ranked #15 of 101 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
379 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“These restored homes are beautiful.”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Hurricane Ike did it's best to destroy the old historic homes on the east end of the island. Some were damaged but most have been restored to their former glory. We drive up and down the east end streets every time we visit Galveston.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tomthbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    68
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Latexo, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Always a favorite”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I never get tired of looking at these beautiful houses and hearing the stories of the families that built them. I would like to go inside every one if I could!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Tx
Level Contributor
128 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great scenery”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Love to drive around the Post Office st. area and view the beautiful houses. So many have been renovated. They are remarkable! Love to look for the "carved out" trees that came up after Hurricane Ike. They are awesome!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank travelmom077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston Island, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great collection of Victorian Homes”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

No doubt a fine collection of Victorian Homes, each one with a totally different amazement (especially if you get to go inside).

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Very cool drive though history.”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Just seeing the old houses - those still in use and those boarded up - really brings the old island back to life.With every missing shingle you have to wonder... was this IKE? we it from the 1900 storm?

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kai M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed East End Historic District also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to East End Historic District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing