We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The little engine that could”

Galveston Island Railroad Museum and Terminal
Book In Advance
More Info
US$155.00*
and up
Galveston Island and Houston Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #10 of 101 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Galveston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The little engine that could”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The museum was devastated by Hurricane Ike but they are slowly rebuilding. If you look beyond the damage you'll see a great potential and fun place. it will get better over time.

Helpful?
Thank Saralyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    172
    56
    10
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, TX
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Piece of My History”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My grandfather worked at this terminal back in the day, so the visit had much personal meaning. My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and visited the museum. While hit hard by Hurrican Ike, they were making great progress with putting the exhibits back on track! There are passenger cars, freght cars, engines, and the caboose of many types. There is an old mail car that is wonderful. The whole experience can really take you back. We loved our visit and I know it's even better now. They are making a quick recovery from a hard hit. Go and take your children. This bit of history should be recalled by every generation.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank aggiemom20002000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Enjoyed very much”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

On the day we were there, I believe there were 7 cars open for visitors. It was great fun going in and seeing each one. The model railroad section wasn't open yet (it was devistated by hurricane Ike). The main area is cool with its mannequins. I recommend it to anyone interested in railroads. By the way, there is free parking with admission.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank IdrivealotMaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Small selection of train cars that can be visited”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Within walking distance from the historic downtown and cruise terminal, the rail yard is full off old and older trains and cars, but unfortunately you can only enter a few. That was more than enough for my three year old son, but aside from him climbing in the cars the museum offered little else. I especially missed child focused information about the train cars or even about the way steam engines work. Because of that consider a nice quick side trip if you are in Galveston, but don't plan on spending more than an hour here.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun way to spend the day”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

The railroad station and the building itself is so pretty. I love the architecture and the look of the inside. The information is very informative as well. There's a section devoted to Hurrican Ike damage that affected the museum with pictures. They're still in the process of cleaning up and restoring many of the rail cars so we couldn't see all of them, but I enjoyed going into several and seeing what travel was like a long time ago.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank foogurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galveston Island Railroad Museum and Terminal also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Galveston Island Railroad Museum and Terminal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing