We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem!”
Review of Rosenberg Library

Rosenberg Library
Ranked #18 of 102 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Hidden gem!”
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

Read the reviews on Trip Advisor to find out about the museum upstairs. It's not huge but very informative. I learned some things about Galveston I did not know. Best of all, it's FREE, and my kids love the library. A must visit!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank rdp343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    55
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, USA
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“More than just books”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

This library is housed in a gorgeous building. Upstairs is a Maritime Museum and other museum items such as dolls and dollhouses. I'm glad I stopped and visited this tremendously beautiful building. Keep your car in the parking lot and walk to the Ashton Villa - the Visitor's Center on the other side of the parking lot.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Marlenalovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas City, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Library great and museum is nice little stop!”
Reviewed 15 June 2013

More for locals but if you have time. This whole build was damaged in Ike, and is coming back. Museum is on top floor and local history is about 80 percent local history and 20 percent interest other state or object based.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank babymains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Historic library, great service”
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We just finally moved to island a few weeks ago and went in to get our cards. The first lady that helped us was so amazing and friendly. Sadly I did not get her name, I will when we go back. They realized when my son hpgit his card that his bday was the following day and told him happy bday when we left! There is a museum on 3rd floor with some great artifacts of Galveston history. Staff is friendly and helpful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AERM
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The history of Galveston lives in this place”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

We wanted to know the history of Galveston and we found it. We took our time and went in details from the beginning of European settlements, the battle of Galveston, the 1900 hurricane to 2008 hurricane Ike.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AERM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rosenberg Library also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Rosenberg Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing