We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, but had issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Ardmore, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Decent hotel, but had issues”
Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed at this hotel the week of June 10, 2013. Here are the positives and negatives:

1.Clean room.
2.Nice Staff.
3.Beside the beach.
4.Washer and Dryer handy.
5.About 5 minutes from the sea wall.
6.Nice little kitchen.

Now the negatives:

1. When we checked in, we were not informed the hotel had construction going on on the 5th and 6th floor. Everyday during our stay, we could hear the jackhammer going above us. The ceiling was almost vibrating. Want to take a nap, sleep late or relax in your room during the day? Forget it. They are in the process of remodeling rooms into suites on the upper floors and you can hear this all throughout the building. A lot of people were complaining. We asked to be moved to the west side, where it was not quite as bad but they had nothing available. All they could do was move us to a lower floor, but you could still here the noise below, so we didn't move. Later in the week, one day before we left, the construction crew moved closer to the west side.(you could still hear the noise but not quite as bad)

Also, though the noise from the hall was quiet, the chairs that go with the tiny breakfast table make a loud noise when you move them across the floor. The people above us moved the chairs A LOT, even after midnight, and you can easily hear it below. They seriously need to get some sort of rubber padding to put on the bottom of the chairs.

So overall, while this is a nice place, they had some serious noise issues while we were there and you might want to check and see if their construction is going on during your stay. I have no idea why they chose to do construction during their busiest season, instead of their off-season. Not very smart.

2. The couch bed had a huge hump in it like most couch beds do

*Due to these issues, I couldn't rate it higher than average.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lissarx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Lissarx2,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Please accept my deep apologies for the inconvenience our renovations may have caused during your stay. We are all very excited about this and how beautiful the hotel will look and hope you will come back once they have been completed.

Again, I thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel in the area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    269
    171
    45
    27
    24
See reviews for
271
165
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Many hotels in Galceston say they are on the beach, but most are not. Instead they are across the street from the beach.

Holiday Inn Club Vacation IS on the beach! Rooms are beautiful, clean, and the staff is exceptional! Washer and dryers are accessible without an additional charge. In-room kitchens are convent. Pool area is excellent. My family loved staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley U, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Hi there and welcome home from your vacation stay with us. We’re so happy to hear that your stay lived up to your expectations, and you enjoyed your time in and around the resort. Thank you for your recommendations and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge,ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We were at this hotel last week for only 2 nights, wish we could of spent more than that. The king size bed was so comfortable!! and the whirlpool tub was great. I liked that the beach in front of the hotel was dragged for the seaweed wouldn't be allover the place. My son liked that it wasn't too busy, and could fish in front of the hotel. Would definitely stay their again. Will check out other Holiday Inn Club Vacations in other places. The staff was so nice, and greeted you as soon as you walked in the door.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohiomom87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013 via mobile

I felt sorry for people who stayed in "beachfront" hotels on the seawall. Looked like some of them had great views from their balconies but so scary when they had to cross a road of 4 lane busy traffic to actually get to the beach.
This hotel is on the beach, literally. Go down a boardwalk from the pool area or down a sandy path and you are there! It's not a private beach exculsive to the hotel, but that was okay. I met some friendly people walking from nearby rental homes. This beach was NOT crowded either. Probably because the hotel is away from the main cluster of tourist stuff which is nice. We drove out twice a day to eat and/or see attractions and it's not a bad drive at all - maybe 10 min or less; just not walking distance. And it was nice to come back "home" to a quieter area.
We went to Walmart and got food so we could do some of our meals at the hotel since it had a little kitchenette. And while at Walmart, might I recommend getting some boogie boards for fun in the waves and also a small sack of cheap dry dog food. This we used to feed seagulls on our beach; better than bread. I also recommend going after dark down to the sand dunes with a flashlight where you can look for and surprise the crabs.
Our suite was very clean and spacious enough. My husband and I took the bedroom. The teens liked having their own space in the form of a comfy pullout couch in the living room and their own tv. You can check out DVD's and games. Liked having a washer/dryer right outside our door. I liked that there were two entry doors to get to your room; that felt like extra security. From the hallway, the first door opened onto a little foyer which then had three doors: the washer/dryer and two suites. Our balcony was pretty tiny but good enough for two people- 3 or 4 could squeeze in. Nice view of the ocean!
The pool and hot tub were clean and pretty. Staff was very friendly.
You might not always nab one for yourself, but there is some covered parking. We usually managed to get a covered parking spot. Parking lot is very close and convenient to elevators. Have fun finding the check in/lobby. That's a bit of a puzzle at first but you will figure it out. There is a sign clearly stating where to go.
It was quiet and peaceful at night. The pool closed at 10.
Great experience - I recommend and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank greer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We just got back from a week at this Holiday Inn. We had a great stay. Our room was very clean. We had a great view of the ocean even though it is not considered a full front ocean view. The hotel is right on the beach. Unlike the other hotels in Galveston, you do NOT have to cross the four lane road called Seawall Blvd to get to the beach. Since maid service during your stay is a choice, my only recommendation is to give the rooms more trash bags for the kitchen and more toilet paper for the bath. I had to go to the front desk to get more during our stay. The view of the gulf is wonderful from the pool. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anestho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Stayed here for first time for a long weekend with a few kids. The facility is nice and new. The front desk staff is very friendly. (Thanks for finding the blue swim shirt Sandy!) There is an activities room where they have games and movies. The 1 bedroom had a kitchen, but the room was smaller than we expected. The property is not huge /chaotic and is directly on beach, quite a rarity in Galveston. The property is a little out of the way as it is 5 miles west of town / Walmart. The fitness center is nice and overlooks pool, the basketball court is lame as it is in the parking lot (and was totally broken when we were there). While not the property's fault, the seaweed was Horrible 1st of June. There is no restaurant, but they have some snacks etc. Pool is infinity and hot tub is nice. Washer and drier shared by 2 units. Overall good place!

Room Tip: East side units closer to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed here on our vacation last week. Things I loved about this hotel 1. Staff was super friendly 2. It was on the beach (if you've ever been to Galveston you'll realize this isn't the norm) 3. The room was really nice, we had a separate bedroom with a queen size bed (that's right parents a bedroom with a door) then there was a comfy pull out couch in the living room. Then there was a fully equipped kitchen. We picked up breakfast and lunch stuff our first day and just ate there for both of those meals. 4. The pool was probably the cleanest hotel pool I've ever seen and it had a little splash shelf for the little ones to play on so they weren't always on the steps of the pool 5. Washer and dryer in unit

A couple of things to think about (not really negatives but might be important for some people): 1. This is fairly far out of town. If you want to go out to eat you are going to have to drive into town but it's not a far drive 5-10 minutes (might be a bit more during heavy tourist season as Seawall tends to get backed up). There is a little mini-mart in the hotel but not sure what the prices are like. 2. Room service does not come in during your stay so if you stay more than a few days you'll have to wash your own towels but they give you all the detergent and stuff to do that. 3. It isn't a private beach the hotel shares that section of the beach with a park so there will be more people there than what's at the hotel but the park is kept up well and I didn't see loads of trash on the beach or anything.

We really enjoyed our stay and I would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
8.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
8.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
8.0 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
5.4 mi away
Hilton Galveston Island Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Address: 11743 Termini- San Luis Pass Road, (Farm Road 3005), Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-6293 (Formerly Galveston on the Gulf)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Galveston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort offers a wonderfully relaxing experience for couples and families alike. This quiet beachfront resort is located on the Texas Gulf coast south near the historic port city of Galveston. The city is a charming, Victorian-era treasure filled with authentic period architecture and strong echoes of the 1800s. Set away from the bustle of downtown, you'll enjoy villa accommodations with fully equipped kitchens, living and dining areas, plus free Wi-Fi internet access. All villas feature private balconies overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. The heated, outdoor infinity-edge pool and large hot tub offer direct, waterfront beach access and a new recreation area. Kids enjoy half-court basketball, shuffleboard court, beach volleyball and tetherball, while you'll love the fitness center available to guests 24/7 and picnic areas for outdoor dining. A small Marketplace store is available for guest convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escapes! To The Gulf At Galveston Hotel Galveston
Escapes To The Gulf Galveston
Escapes Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing