We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good beach location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Kerrville, Texas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good beach location”
Reviewed 26 August 2009

This is the second time we have stayed at Escapes. The pool is great, and love the convenience to the beach, esp the boardwalk to it.
We are timeshare owners and were disappointed in the maintenance of the unit, broken handle on microwave, light out over stove, front burner doesn't heat properly, slow draining sink in bathroom, and shower door will not close. Most of these problems should have been reported by housekeeping, and taken care of prior to our arrival. We are waiting for maintenance to come to complete the repairs.
Although the sofa is comfortable, it's seen better days as well as the pillows on the uncomfortable bed.I would have also liked carpeting in the living area. I don't like to wall on bare, cold ceramic floors. At least put an area rug around the sofa.
Additional charges were posted for toilet paper, paper towels, plastic bags
Not sure if I would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadybugQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    170
    44
    27
    22
See reviews for
265
163
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
College Station, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We've spent the last 3 summers going to Galveston and every where we've went, the beaches have been crowded and here, it's just right. We rented the 2 Bedroom Elite, which wasn't bad, but what we THOUGHT was going to be just a two bedroom turned out to be two single bedrooms with a common room in between. W33A&B. The only real downfall to this was we were staying with my parents in one room and we in the other with a split of 5 kids in between us so we wanted to leave the doors open which pretty much blocked us off from our bedroom. Other than that, the kitchens were stocked with dishes, silverware, & glasses. Also with pots and pans which made it so much easier. The housekeeping guy was still in the room when we got there, (Oh, which by the way, our check in wasn't until 4pm and they let us go ahead and check in at 12:30pm.) and once he seen how many people would be there, he made sure that we had PLENTY of towels and was just so nice. We really appreciated his service and even made sure we left him a star.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cloveskat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2009

We stayed July 6-10 and enjoyed every minute of it. The room was wonderful and the view and beach access were fantastic! We had no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArkansasBobka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southeast Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2009

We stayed June 26-July 3 with 2 daughters, ages 19 & 12. I had been worrying about our room, since we knew in advance that we had E12A, and having read the review by the previous poster who said not to accept E12. They couldn't be more wrong. The room was wonderful, the view was magnificent, and it is one of the very few rooms that you can walk right out to the pool and the beach from the patio. The rest of the rooms have to travel through the halls, to an elevator or stairs, then down an outside corridor and though the gate to the pool/beach walkway. (But that would have been worth it, too!) I also asked at the desk about the "noise from the pool" the other poster mentioned and was told the sliding doors are soundproof-made of hurricaine glass and they were right. We could hear nothing with the doors closed, and the radio was on at a nice volume (with no base beat vibrations). If there were pool cleaners talking and moving furniture in early morning hours we never heard them. Galveston itself was great too. Not overrun by tourist like some of your beach towns. We've been to Myrtle Beach, Destin, Pensicola, Daytona, and Puerto Rico, and we agree that this was the best. The beach was clean and not crowded. Shopping was convenient. My biggest complaint of the whole trip was our visit to NASA Space Center. They've turned it into a big playground for young kids. We had been to the Huntsville, AL Space Center years ago with our older kids and loved it. The space history and technology plans for the future was fantastic. This one had nothing but rope climbs and slides for young children inside.. If we had wanted to go to a kids playground or amusement park we would have done so. Don't waste your money on it. Moody Gardens Aquarium is worth the price. but we never saw the rest of it. But we went for the beach and couldn't have been more satisfied We're talking about making it an annual event with the rest of our family. We will definitely try to get back in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissouriMom06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Joseph, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2009

It was hard to find the check-in desk when we arrived, but after asking an employee, I found it easily enough. The front desk personnel were very adept and courteous. One of the unique features of this place is the fact that as you check in, you can look out onto the pool with its infinity wall and see the beach in the background! I was already excited enough about being here, and this just added to my anticipation. Our room was E12B, right in the corner on the pool level, so we could walk right out to the pool. The unit was immaculate (oh...the picture in the bathroom was on the floor when we arrived, having lost its nail - didn't say anything about it, so I hope they don't assume it was our fault), and had plenty of room for my teen-age daughter and me on this 3-night stay (6/5/09 - 6/8/09).
The only complaints I have... 1) The mosquitoes were bad in the morning and in the evening...even just outside the patio door (be sure to bring your own repellant, as Wal-mart was sold out). 2) There was a constant hum that could be heard through the walls from a pump of some type, the air conditioner in another unit, or something else electrical. If whatever it was would have just stayed on constantly, we could have gotten used to it. Instead, it would run for a while, then shut off for about 5-10 seconds, and then come on again. 3) The security lighting around the pool made it pretty bright in the living room for sleeping at night on the pull-out. 4) The magnetic locks on the gates around the pool...do they have a way of locking them after hours? When I got up early to see the sunrise on the beach, I tried to go through the pool area to the boardwalk only to find the catches impossible to lift, so I had to hop over the fence.
The fitness area was great (I took full advantage of it), and the weather was nothing short of perfect - upper 80s, mostly sunny and breezy each day, low 70s and balmy each night. We went to the beach there every day. On the beach the first evening around 6PM, we were treated to see some dolphin feeding a few hundred yards offshore. The second day was sunny and sizzling, and the beach area wasn't very crowded at all. The last beach day was windy enough to create some pretty awesome waves!
We truly loved this all-too-short vacation at Ecapes! to the Gulf!!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tntdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe Tx
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2009

We were in a lock off one bedroom (Sleeps 4). very tiny and no oven, just a microwave. $110.00 per night.There was a nice beach view from all locations, however our patio was only large enough for one chair and we could barely get the door open without having to bend out of the of the way of the chair to get seated. The staff was nice and helpful. Woud stay again but only in a two bedroom with a decent size patio. Terrible pull out bed.Other bed hard.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tilda11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

I was reading the review below mine and chuckled when I saw that the patio door lock was broken, we has 2 patio doors and we called maintenance because we thought ours were broken also, only to find out you had to turn the know the wrong way in order for it to lock.

OUR STORY:

We arrived on Monday 9/8/08 and upon check in asked if they had an outside room facing the Gulf, they did and gladly changed our assigned room to the room with the view. On 9/9/08 SURPRISE we might be getting a visitor here comes Hurricane IKE but at this point he is suppose to go to Corpus Christy BUT if he comes here we are on the side of the resort that will be getting hit with IKE, we laughed and said "Be careful what you ask for".

On 9/9/08 we were told by the Front Desk that there is a possibility we might have to evacuate but we will not know this until Corporate gives the final word. I have to compliment one particular person Mahogany who was the nicest, caring person you could have ever wanted to meet on a vacation, she was so aware of our concerns, left us phone messages about Corporates decision, etc. and just was there 100% all the time.

On 9/10/08 Corporate decided it was best that the Resort be Evacuated, I am pleased to say they put the safety of the Guests and their staff first, they offered everyone a full refund if you left by 8 PM. This voluntary evacuation came the day before the City issued their Evacuation giving us plenty of time to get off the Island and figure out what we were going to do.

Good Job Escapes and Corporate!!!!!!!!!

As far as our room it was a one bedroom and the View was outrageous from both the Living Room and the Bedroom. The Living room was very comfy, the Bedroom was very roomy, full kitchen was great, and we had the washer and dryer which did come in handy since we had no idea how long we were going to live out of a suitcase, it was nice leaving with everything clean after only 48 hours of being there. Under ground parking was convenient as well.

I was unsure about going to this resort after reading some of the past reviews, we found none of that to be true and if things had been different we would have had a Fabulous time there.

From what I understand the resort survived the Hurricane. We would definitely go back to finish our 2008 year end Vacation to Galveston.

Again, Hooray to Mahogany and the Corporate office for putting the GUESTS/STAFF FIRST!!!!!!!!!!! It's nice to go away and know someone is looking out for your best interest in the event of something like this.

Go and ENJOY, you won't be dissapointed.

  • Liked — It was all good
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelbug1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
5.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
8.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
8.1 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
5.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
8.0 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort

Property: Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Address: 11743 Termini- San Luis Pass Road, (Farm Road 3005), Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-6293 (Formerly Galveston on the Gulf)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Galveston
#7 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort offers a wonderfully relaxing experience for couples and families alike. This quiet beachfront resort is located on the Texas Gulf coast south near the historic port city of Galveston. The city is a charming, Victorian-era treasure filled with authentic period architecture and strong echoes of the 1800s. Set away from the bustle of downtown, you'll enjoy villa accommodations with fully equipped kitchens, living and dining areas, plus free Wi-Fi internet access. All villas feature private balconies overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. The heated, outdoor infinity-edge pool and large hot tub offer direct, waterfront beach access and a new recreation area. Kids enjoy half-court basketball, shuffleboard court, beach volleyball and tetherball, while you'll love the fitness center available to guests 24/7 and picnic areas for outdoor dining. A small Marketplace store is available for guest convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escapes! To The Gulf At Galveston Hotel Galveston
Escapes To The Gulf Galveston
Escapes Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing