We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We arrived around 5 pm and were taken care of very promptly. I had requested side by side rooms on the top floor for our family of five. The clerk was rather defensive regarding the top floor saying all rooms were already taken on that floor and a manager in the background quickly exited behind closed doors leaving the inexperienced clerk on her own. Our rooms on the third floor were great and adjoining and we had a good view of the ocean. Everything was clean and tidy and in working order. Their one small elevator doesn't fill the need so just use the stairs if in a hurry.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shoehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sks19520608, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2011

Thank you so much for your comments, my quick exit was to get the bank for our daily deposit; I wasn't trying to avoid you. The clerk has been here over a year and she was correct in saying the fifth floor was full. We upgrade reservations at every possible chance--trying to make a guests stay memorable. This is why the fifth floor was full and normally stays full. I am sorry I didn't get the chance to meet with you and explain that. I do hope you decide to stay with us again. The clerks do get a little bewildered when they can't help a guest 100% of the time. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay, on your next visit, contact me and I will try to ensure you get a top floor room with a great view.

Sincerely,

Sharon Smith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

603 - 609 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2011

I was looking for a hotel in the LaPorte area, and wasn't finding anything decent that wasn't pretty pricey. Finally I decided if I was going to stay at a generic hotel, might as well go down to Galveston. Found this place on TripAdvisor, and went for it. Got a great price at $89 for one night. The place is all it is supposed to be. The rooms are large, clean and updated. The TV is big and flat, the wifi is good. The balconies are all private and pretty sizable, with a chair and table, and giving a good view of the ocean that is right across the street.

A couple noteworthy items: You definitely want a higher floor. One person I know was on the first floor, had a very limited view. I was on the third floor, on the east side, and there was a really nice view, but there was another building, four stories, maybe 50 yards away, that limited the views in that direction. Another buddy was on the fifth floor (the top floor), and could see to the horizon to the east. Fourth floor view to the west was also wide open. So definitely ask for a higher floor.
Two: the breakfast sounded good, but by the time me and the buddies got there at 8AM, no sausage left, a line for the waffle maker, and only boiled eggs, no hot ones. No big, a Waffle House is right across the street to the west, a filling cheap hot breakfast.

Everything else was faboo, great service, plenty of parking. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floor, and do you want to watch sunrise or sunset?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Godzilladude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

The rooms were clean, the balcony view was great from 4th floor. Then we moved to a room on the 5th floor due to noise and later that night I found three live bedbugs in the room (2 on the bed and 1 on the wall near the bed). The clerk moved us to another room on the 3rd floor but we left about one hour later as I couldn't sleep due to creepy crawly's! We never heard from management and I had to call the next morning to check on our bill. The location is great, the balconies are great from floors 4&5. We didn't try the breakfast so can't comment on that. My complaint is that I actually had live bedbugs in my room and was not contacted by a manager at all! (we stayed there Monday and Tuesday November 21 & 22, 2011)

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sks19520608, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Dear Guest,

I do apoligize that you encounter this problem. I want to thank you for your valueable comments; after careful inspection of your room; we found no bedbugs, it was sand fleas from the beach. We have addressed the problem, thank you again. We do hope you will stay with Quality Inn & Suites again in the near future.

Sharon K. Smith
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Stayed two nights using Choice Hotels points. Was upgraded to large room with nice bay view and whirlpool tub. Bed was very comfortable, room was clean, microwave and refrigerator worked and breakfast was limited but very adequate.

The hotel is very conveniently located with a good Mexican restaurant next door and a Kroger and other restaurants in close walking distance. The beach and seawall are also a short walk. Parking seemed adequate. The exercise room had a treadmill, elyptical machine and an older Nautilus like workstation. The room was clean and large. The indoor pool was not large but was larger than a plunge pool and looked inviting.

I was told a room could be had on a weeknight for $50 and I would consider this an excellent value.

I have low expectations for Choice Hotels and was pleasantly surprised with what a nice experience I had.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elgringito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We stayed here for five nights just one week prior to the Spring Break. It was quiet, clean and comfortable. Our room was on the upper level of the hotel and at the very front of the building overlooking the Gulf of Mexico. Most if not all of the rooms have a view of the Gulf but from the side of the building. They served a good breakfast and kept the area clean and the food was replenished as it got low.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We ended up here purely by accident, we came down to the island for a birthday dinner, ended up having a few too many and got a room here last minuet rather than risk the drive back to Houston. I have very little experience with this hotel chain and grabbed a room here purely for the price.

Even with it being off season on the island we had very little expections with a price so low but were quite pleasntly surprised with what we got. We were given a room on the top floor on east side of the hotel that offered fantastic ocean views from a large balcony, the room itself was quite spacious, very modern, and extreamly well appointed for a 2 star property. Quite honestly we have stayed at 4 star property's on the island at well more than twice the nightly rate we paid here who's rooms were not as nice as our room at this hotel.... figure that one out?.

The rest of the hotel was pretty much what you would expect from a 2 star hotel chain property, small lobby with a continental breakfast nook, They offer a free continental breakfast which we passed on in favor of the Denny's down the street but it looked about par for the course, small excercize room, small indoor pool and hot tub which is a bit puzzling given the long sweltering hot summer's we have here in south Texas, I can't imagine that small enclosed indoor pool area being very refreshing during that time of year... All in all though a very nice surprise at a terrific price!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the east side of the hotel, also the rooms near the front of the hotel (closest to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank outlaw1865
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

It is a good hotel right next to the beach. My problem with the hotel is the billing. I booked two king suite through its on line web site. When I checked out, the room rate was different from what I had booked. I was overcharged for $50. Be sure to carry your reservation info with you when you check in.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank engmu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
3.5 mi away
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront

Address: 5924 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5888
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#12 Family Hotel in Galveston
#13 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £46 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award Winning Quality Inn & Suites™ Beachfront hotel Galveston, TX located on the Seawall, adjacent to miles of sandy beaches and offers beautiful views of the Gulf of Mexico from our guest room balconies. Newly Installed State of the Art Dual Band WiFi System with a fast 100/20 three ISP Broadband Connection. This hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2014 - 2011 and is just minutes from the great area attractions, such as the new Pleasure Pier with its amusement rides, Moody Gardens, the historic Grand 1894 Opera House, Schlitterbahn Water Park, the Elissa sailing ship, the Strand National Historic Landmark District, 61st Fishing Pier, the Cruise Ship docks, and many restaurants overlooking the Gulf, recreational sailing, fishing and numerous amusement rides. The hotel is also located very close to the Galveston Convention Center. Full-service features and amenities include:• Free high-speed Internet access• Free deluxe continental breakfast• Free coffee in the lobby• Free local calls Guests are invited to take advantage of the exercise room, indoor heated pool. This Galveston, TX hotel offers business travelers access to fax services and competitive corporate rates.All spacious guest rooms have large private balconies with seating, coffee makers, hair dryers, safes, microwaves, mini refrigerators, desks, tables and chairs. Almost every room offers spectacular ocean views. Executive king suites also boast sofa sleepers. Coin-operated laundry facilities are located on the premises for guest convenience.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront hotel is the perfect place to stay when visiting the Galveston, Texas area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn And Suites Galveston
Quality Inn Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn Galveston
Galveston Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing