We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Prices, Great Views, Everything Else Just Okay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

First the good part. The $50 off season weekday rate is hard to beat. So are the balconied ocean views. However, the rooms are tired but clean and the breakfasts and coffee are nothing to write home about. As for the front desk, they did not seem very friendly or knowledgeable. Based on previous TripAdvisor reviews, when we checked in, we asked for a room facing east - away from the McDonald's drive through. You guessed it, we got a room facing the McDonald's. We took our bags back down to the desk and got a room on the other side - only after the 2 front desk clerks, fished out a room chart to consult. You would have thought that they could memorize which side even and odd number rooms were on.

I think what upset us most was the last night of our stay. It seems that a large number of rooms were "occupied" by high school students and their teachers. The room adjacent to ours was given to one of the teachers - who decided to hold a meeting with about 15 girls from about 9 pm - door slamming, cheering, you name it. Around 10 pm, my wife went next door - no apology - teacher said that there was no room in the lobby and she was entitled to do whatever she wanted until 11 at night. We decided not to pursue it, hoping that the noise would die out by 11 - it did at 10:50.
I suggest that in future, the hotel try to isolate the school groups along with their teacher in rooms away from everyone else. Also, they should make clear that they are providing bedrooms and not meeting rooms.

This was one of 6 hotels we stayed in on our trip to southern Texas. We found the staff in all but this place, very friendly and very eager to please. To be fair, this was the cheapest stay so I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dogswood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

I am sorry there was a mistake made on your room placement. As you noted, there was a large school convention in town, and we were unable to fill your request due to guests occupying the rooms you wanted. We were unaware that they were having a meeting up there, or we would have demanded they use the lobby, it is a very common practice for groups to use our breakfast area for this type of thing...I am really sorry this happened. From now on we will make an effort to tell groups that they need to do this. We actually turn down many groups to prevent this type of thing. That particular group was here in previous years and we have never had a problem. This is a yearly convention.

As far as the friendliness of the staff is concerned, I have to admit I am very surprised to see that they were less than helpful. As you can tell from many other comments in this site, this is not usually the case. We are very careful to make sure we only hire the friendliest employees, and then train them in their individual jobs. I have found from long experience that it is impossible to train someone to be friendly. I am sorry if my employees were less than friendly when dealing with you, and I will definitely find out which employees you encountered and correct this issue. Please feel free to call me, and I will see what I can do to discount your bill, we would like to see you stay with us again.

Best Regards,
James Marx
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (811)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

365 - 371 of 811 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

We may have only spent 1 night here, very clean and friendly, but were great to us because we were not able to board our cruise ship until late due to fog.
We were invited to stay and enjoy the hotel lobby as long as we needed to. They kept our luggage in a locked room and didn't have to worry while out walking and enjoying the sites.
I would highly recommend them to anyone traveling to Galveston.
We also enjoyed a hot breakfast and coffee in our room.
Girls at desk were very helpful with recommendations for lunch, dinner and shuttle to take us to cruise port (they even booked it for us and changed time for pick up when we were delayed by cruise line on what time we could board).

Room Tip: We had 4 rooms and all were great with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chester P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This is a great Hotel,very clean and friendly staff that tends to your every need. The Breakfast is fresh and gives you multple choices to choose from. We went during the weekend of Valentines Day and plan to make this our Home away from Home . We love Galvston as our Weekend Getaway and are excited to find a Hotel that fits our needs.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel is close to a fishing pier. It is clean and freshly painted. The desk people are very helpful and cheerful. The breakfast is really full of choices: waffles, yogurt, eggs, cereal,some fruit, muffins, toast and, of course, coffee. and T

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Everything was fine at this hotel until it was time for me to take a shower to get ready. I find that I had no hot water. They send maintenace to come look at it and now its too late to take a shower and get ready. Pretty irritating. Would not reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adm1018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Journeyman1234, General Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2014

I am so sorry you didn't have hot water when it was time to take a shower. Anything mechanical will malfunction sooner or later. As you noted, maintenance came up right away. We hate it when a guest leaves unhappy, and though it was beyond our ability to foresee the problem, I certainly will be happy do what I can to make it right.

Best Regards,
James Marx
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

I'll start off by saying this hotel is past it's prime. But it more than makes up for it in the price. About $50 a night for a two queen room and a balcony is cheap, but the room was clean, beds comfy and hotel was in a very safe area with restaurants nearby. The indoor pool was only ok, but the kids loved it and were able to burn off steam after a day of travel. The hot tub has been filled in with concrete and the pool room needs some attention. Breakfast in the morning was solid with hot waffles and good selection of cereal and fruits. Overall great value and I'd definitely feel comfortable staying here again if in the area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dustin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This turned out to be a great choice for me and my family. Me and wife and two kids (14 and 12). We only stayed here one night, just a place to stay before we got on a cruise ship the next morning. This is a Quality Inn (it's not the Hilton), but the property is well kept, and the EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE far made up for anything they lacked on the property. Our room was nice and clean. It is right across the street from the seawall/beach, so my wife and I even walked across the street and enjoyed some time by the water. There is a guest laundry there, and we were able to do a little laundry before we got on the ship. On this particular trip, we stayed in 5 different hotels. This one wins the prize for customer service. They were very, very polite. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ziplineboss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
4.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
3.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
3.5 mi away
Harbor House Hotel & Marina at Pier 21
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront

Address: 5924 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-5888
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#12 Family Hotel in Galveston
#13 Business Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £46 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Award Winning Quality Inn & Suites™ Beachfront hotel Galveston, TX located on the Seawall, adjacent to miles of sandy beaches and offers beautiful views of the Gulf of Mexico from our guest room balconies. Newly Installed State of the Art Dual Band WiFi System with a fast 100/20 three ISP Broadband Connection. This hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2014 - 2011 and is just minutes from the great area attractions, such as the new Pleasure Pier with its amusement rides, Moody Gardens, the historic Grand 1894 Opera House, Schlitterbahn Water Park, the Elissa sailing ship, the Strand National Historic Landmark District, 61st Fishing Pier, the Cruise Ship docks, and many restaurants overlooking the Gulf, recreational sailing, fishing and numerous amusement rides. The hotel is also located very close to the Galveston Convention Center. Full-service features and amenities include:• Free high-speed Internet access• Free deluxe continental breakfast• Free coffee in the lobby• Free local calls Guests are invited to take advantage of the exercise room, indoor heated pool. This Galveston, TX hotel offers business travelers access to fax services and competitive corporate rates.All spacious guest rooms have large private balconies with seating, coffee makers, hair dryers, safes, microwaves, mini refrigerators, desks, tables and chairs. Almost every room offers spectacular ocean views. Executive king suites also boast sofa sleepers. Coin-operated laundry facilities are located on the premises for guest convenience.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront hotel is the perfect place to stay when visiting the Galveston, Texas area. Our friendly staff looks forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn And Suites Galveston
Quality Inn Hotel Galveston
Quality Inn Galveston
Galveston Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing