We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive but worth it!”

Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark
Ranked #14 of 101 things to do in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Center, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very expensive but worth it!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We were at this place ALL day! There is so much to do! We kind of got lost because we weren't too sure on which slide were where.. you kind of have to find your way around because I did not see any signs to get to some attractions. Other than that it is a super fun place and lots to do for every age.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schlitterbahn W, Public Relations Manager at Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thanks for visiting the park! We are always happy to hear about our guests' experiences, and we are glad that you enjoyed your day.

FYI, we are currently creating new way-finding maps that will improve the guest experience. These should be installed soon.

We hope to see you again this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

730 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    255
    89
    38
    27
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“WATER FUN!”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stayed until closing. Right across the Moody Gardens Resort & Spa where we stayed. Bring your picnic foor and rent a locker! Everything is a minimum 10$ so can get expensive. Rides are not that great small for a regular water park. My granddaughter loved it, The Waterway ride was cool.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank April G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlitterbahnMGMT, Public Relations Manager at Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Hello April,

Thank you for visiting! We are glad to hear that you and your grand daughter enjoyed your day.

Most guests really like the interconnected river system that allows you to float throughout the entire park without leaving the water. It's one of those things many do not "get" until they actually experience it, then they want to do it over and over.

You mentioned that you can bring your own food. Yes! We welcome picnics inside the park, with the exception of glass or alcohol. We also do not charge for parking or for use of inner tubes and life jackets.

Thank you and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston Island, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great for kids and adults!”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Being a kid at heart, this waterpark is drenched with activities. But my favorite is the lazy river...just park your butt and GO! It does all the work.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlitterbahnMGMT, Public Relations Manager at Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hello,

Thank you for visiting Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark.

We are glad that you noticed the wide variety of things to do for guests of all ages. Although most waterparks claim this, Schlitterbahn really delivers in this area. This is one of the many reasons we are different than other waterparks.

Many people think that a waterpark is just for kids and families. Yes, we entertain many thousands of families each year, but due to our many distinctions we also attract a wider age range of guests than you normally see at other waterparks.

Our Transportainment River System allows you to float throughout the entire park in calm waters, rapids and tidal waves. You can exit in any part of the park to enjoy another ride, then re-enter the river system to continue your journey, or you can just float the rivers for hours. The rivers don't have any stairs to climb...you just sit in your tube and ride our Aquaveyer uphill to the next river. Fun for the whole family, including grandma and grandpa!

Many of our rides do not have height restrictions, which means smaller children are able to enjoy more rides with the family. We even have double tubes that are specially designed with a net so smaller children do not slide through the inner tube.

Our Boogie Bahn surf ride, Dragon Blaster uphill water coaster and our other high-thrill rides attract teens, 20's and 30's. Other adults enjoy our swim-up refreshment bars.

So yes, something for everyone!

Thanks again for your visit and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orangefield, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful Park”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

I went to the park today and it was very nice. The best thing about this park is you can park your car for free and you can bring your own food and non-alcohol drinks from home which helps out a lot for people who are on certain diets. Most parks do not allow you to bring any outside food or drink in and charge for parking.

They have a wonderful system of lazy rivers with a variety of waves, rapids, etc and it allows you to get around most of the park without leaving the water. I do have to warn you that it is extremely crowded on Saturdays so expect the lines to be a mile long on the water slides.

The only drawback I find is the lack of stalls to change from street clothes into swimwear and back into street clothes. The only place I found where that is possible is in the toilet stalls. It would be better if there were separate stalls for changing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Couragerous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlitterbahnMGMT, Public Relations Manager at Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hello,

We are glad you enjoyed your visit and that you were able to take advantage of our family friendly amenities (free parking, free tubes, picnics welcome).

One of the surprises our guests discover is our interconnected river system, which you described perfectly. We call it Transportainment. The river system not only lets you to float throughout the entire park, but also provides you with more time in the water and less time waiting in line.

Although you must wait in line for certain attractions, many of our attractions are "no wait" rides, such as Torrent River, Krystal River, White Water River, Torrent Beach, Shipwreck Harbor wave pool and all of the areas for smaller children.

Here's a tip. It's always best to visit on a weekday. If you must visit on a weekend, we suggest choosing a Sunday. Saturdays are the most popular day to visit the park.

The bathroom stalls are one of the options for changing your clothes. The largest changing area is in the center of the park near the lockers. We also have changing stalls separate from the restrooms located just inside the park entrance.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A fun but pricey day out”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We went on a day when two of the large slides plus the white water rapids were out of action for repairs/maintenance. However, we were given a discounted entry price automatically to compensate. We went on all of the flumes and slides which were working and rode on the 'river' a number of times. Everything lived up to our expectations although the water was a little colder than we anticipated. Plenty of seating areas and pool loungers but I assume it will be more of a struggle to find somewhere to sit or lounge in peak season. There were plenty of lifeguards on duty and they were very attentive to guest safety. A number of places are available to eat/drink but they are quite pricey so take your own drinks and food if you can. Lockers are available at $10 per day but are very small and will only hold one small rucksack. All in all, a great day out but very expensive for a family :(

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SchlitterbahnMGMT, Public Relations Manager at Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Hello Carol Anne,

Thank you for visiting Schlitterbahn Waterpark Galveston Island. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your day!

We hope you visit again this summer once we introduce our new Screaming Serpents ride experience. It's under construction right now. The new ride is connected to the same tower as our Cliffhanger slides, which is why Cliffhanger was closed when you visited. The new ride should be ready early this summer, but be sure to check our website first to make sure these rides are open.

Other than these temporary ride closures, the full outdoor waterpark (Blastenhoff, Surfenburg and Wasserfest) is open weekends in May, including Memorial Day. On weekdays in May we have limited ride availability (Blastenhoff closed), but the admission price is also lowered on these days.

We are happy to provide free parking, free tubes (you don't have to rent an inner tube), and picnics are always welcome. So yes, please feel free to bring your own food into the park (no alcohol or glass containers, please). These family friendly amenities are just some of the things that make us different than other waterparks.

Thanks again for visiting and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing