We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best price for the best access to beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Ranked #11 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Haslet, Texas
Level Contributor
191 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Best price for the best access to beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

This comfortable hotel has clean, comfortable rooms and a great sitting/breafast area. The breakfasts are decent with hot waffles everyday with a rotating hot menu. There is always fruit and cold cereals. The staff was relatively friendly, but the cook was very friendly. She will go out of her way for you unlike many other hotels I have stayed at.

The pool is very clean and has a decent hot tub to relax in as well. I love the covered parking in the basement. The kids loved the fish display in the lobby and the staff let the kids "help" feed them.

All in all, I would definitely stay here again and plan on doing so this summer.

Room Tip: Ask for the newly remodeled rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danda0624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    352
    205
    113
    63
    54
See reviews for
350
205
29
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
143 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

The room was clean and had a view of the Gulf and WalMart across the street. The stay was typical for a Hampton Inn. All the regular amenities. The A/C did not perform as one would expect. The room was always damp and by morning everything we had out was damp, including the carpet. Now , this could have been because of the close proximity to the Gulf or the high humidity theat night. Whatever the reason, it made for an uncomfortable night's sleep. And for $209 per night, this was the most expensive Hampton Inn I have ever stayed in. Certainly not worth that price!!

Room Tip: Make sure the A/C is performing properly, and if not, change rooms or change hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caribbeanlover2263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
295 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

Was in town for a conference at Moody Gardens and this is fairly close location and a decent price. Breakfast was standard Hampton fare, basic but always consistantly good. Rooms are quiet and comfortable, and the front desk and breakfast staff are very polite. For a seasoned traveler, it's always nice to have a mini-fridge and microwave when going out to eat again just gets to be boring.

Room Tip: Limited parking up front, so if you don't do stairs, park in back and take the parking garage el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Ok they are what you expect from The Hampton this is my favorite Hotel chain overall of all the chains I stay at. There hotel doesnt face the beach but if you can live without seeing the beach or the beach front hotels are full then stay at The Hampton if your use to certain ways of living. There roos are small at this inparticular hampton but they are oh so nice not to mention there beds and if you have ever stayed at a Hampton you know what I am talking about. There so big and huge if you looked up clouds in the dictionary they would have picture of The Hamptons beds. Plus ice box and microwave which is what makes them my favorite becuase of my girls I always need a way ot keep milk cold and to heat up snacks. The TV's are great and they do have a outdoor pool and hot tube and you park underground which is kool for the kids. The have the best free breakfast in the hotel world. Hot Food ( eggs / bacon / sausage) make your own Waffels that the kids love with tons of juices and ceral. They are super family friendly. The front desk staff was great the kids loved the late night ice cream at the store down stairs. Plus you get a balcony with a side glimpse of the beach and the fresh air bathroom is the bomb and your next door to Walmart. Perfect Place!! Good job guys!!

Room Tip: High Floors on right side facing walmart the other rooms views are worst.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bethany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2011

The managers (Neel Shah & Shamsah Mukida) do a first rate job of making everyone feel welcome at the Hampton Inn & Suites. The hotel is what you'd expect from a Hilton property and the rooms are quite large compared to other Galveston hotels. Beds are incredibly comfortable and they provide in-room internet access that is faster and more reliable than the (3) other Galveston hotels I've stayed in. Even numbered rooms have balconies which offer a limited view of the beach. The only negative is that you have to look over the Wal-Mart parking lot to see it. I didn't mind that as the hotel is only 3/4 of a block off Seawall Blvd and consequently its a bit quieter without oceanfront traffic (& sirens). And having Wal-Mart close by can be a benefit if you forgot to pack something. Also, around the block on Central City Blvd are banking, clothing & grocery shopping, hair & nail salons, Office supplies, and of course restaurants. The Hampton hot breakfast is tasty, free and they vary the menu. Plus, they have a very posh Mercedes Benz shuttle coach that can be used for large groups and events. A number of cruise passengers like this hotel as a jumping off point for their Galveston departures. At present, there is no in-hotel guest laundry service. But check with them if this is an issue as I understand they will be putting one in Novemeber/decenber 2011. They have the customary pool and exercise room which I didn't use (preferred walking on the beach and swimming in the ocean). They do not have a large staff, so please, (my pet peeve) return the luggage cart to the lobby after you're done with it. There are 5 floors and its a bother to go looking for wherever an inconsiderate guest may have left one. Final note: Neel Shah is always looking at ways to boost the benefits at his property. So check with him or Shamsah on any local area discounts they may be offering during your stay. Lastly, there is covered parking under the hotel which is a benefit on hot or rainy days. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: rooms are numbered 0-26 for each floor. The higher numbers are closer to the beach. Even numbered ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank latestarter99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
490 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2011

This is one of the best Hampton Inns we’ve stayed in. It was a surprise stop when we were not able to get into the lodgings we’d borrowed from a friend. The rate was very good, and at 10 pm in a resort town it was nice to get anything decent! The room had high ceilings and good space for the sofa and work table. Underground parking is very convenient for taking luggage in and out. The bed was excellent.

We did not use the pool as we were moving on, but the exercise room was fine. The Inn is in walking distance of the seawall, but you have to cross a four-lane street to get there - which seems to be pretty common among locals. Below the seawall is a line of huge boulders, and, at high tide, no beach at all - it's just atmospheric.

The staff was very friendly. If we needed accommodations in Galveston again we’d certainly be happy to reserve here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Purmamarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2011

nice place to stay. Near the seawall but a little walk to the better restaurants. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
3.5 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.2 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Address: 6431 Central City Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-2059
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#8 Business Hotel in Galveston
#11 Family Hotel in Galveston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston hotel is right by the Galveston Seawall, Moody Gardens, the beach, and historic sites. The hotel offers a free full hot breakfast every day, free high-speed internet and Wi-Fi, outdoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center, and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Galveston
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Hampton Inn Hotel Galveston
Hampton Inn Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing