We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff made stay worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewed 5 September 2013

I booked a King Suite with balcony in Galveston for Labor Day weekend and was uncharacteristically disappointed by the accomodations. A balcony room in Galveston with western exposure gets a lot of heat. That's a lot for the AC to deal with and was getting the best of this one. Due to the heat and humidity, the room also had a musty smell. The thing that saved my stay was the staff helpfulness. I immediately called the front desk to report the AC problem. A mechanic was in my room in 5 minutes. He spent the next 30 minutes doing everything he could to get the room temperature down, successfully. The front desk would have moved me but there were no other non-smoking suites available. Later, when I spoke to the front desk about the musty smell in the room and the problems that the refrigerator, the manager adjusted my bill in an acceptable way.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (855)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

669 - 675 of 855 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

This hotel by far has been one of the best hotels that my big family and I have ever stayed at. The staff were very polite, helpful, and very friendly. A great hotel for those who have a big family. My kids loved it. The pool was nice and very cleaned. The room was large and very clean. We really enjoyed the chanels on the tv.Thank you for the wonderful service.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank telemund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Very nice hotel. It was clean, and well layed out. The outdoor pool was lots of fun. But the staff was some of the worst hotel staff I have ever dealt with. Poorly managed! Hampton inn has a policy where if you are not 100% happy with your stay, your first night is free. I stayed at this location for 4 nights, and they would not give me my first night free when I expressed how unsatisified I was. The ice machine did not work, the balcony had a huge bar across it, so there was no view. There was dead cockroaches in the elevator lobby, that were sitting there the whole stay. The front desk agent was so snippy when I expressed my concerns. Why have a policy if you won't use it?

Room Tip: If you want a room with a balcony, don't bother!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Momma080914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Excellent hotel. Good location and clean facility. Showers heads were inadequate for getting a real good shower. Powered eggs are not good. Actually for the price of this hotel, breakfast could be better.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
2  Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Great hotel. Easy access to the beach and shopping. Friendly staff. Breakfast area was a little cramped on the weekend. Very clean rooms and bathrooms. Would definitely consider staying here again if price was right. Walmart located across the street which made shopping a real connivence. Walked to the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

This hotel is an example of a good property with poor staff and lack of management. I am told that it is challenging to find good workers in Texas--especially on Galveston Island. Room was not as clean as I am used to for a Hampton Inn; the light in the bathroom did not work; the ice machine on the 4th floor was "closed"---inoperative; the fish tank in the dining area could use a STRONG cleaning; the oatmeal lid would not stay on....and the list goes on. AND, there was no one at the front desk to hear about these points.....so I left without being heard. Paid $250 for a one night stay--hotel was sold out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

my spouse liz stayed a few months ago with friends, so i,m going on her recommendation,staying with rest of the family. i,ve read some of the reviews, and it seems some people may have been in another hotel, as she says it was very good value, staff were really friendly, and breakfast was great.. I should have let her write the review, but she,s always busy. We are on the cruise from Galveston, and hotel will maybe take us down to the boat,if you do go on cruise, make sure you book hotel in advance, this or another hotel,
as rooms tend to get full, also book your car hire with enterprise, as they have local drop off. I,ve been told all about his from my wife. With regards to rooms smelling, etc, she in fact said they were very pleasant, and I can,t see a hilton brand being as bad as any of the reviews, so I will let you know in 2 weeks time, thx craig

Room Tip: will let you know soon.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
3.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
3.5 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston

Address: 6431 Central City Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-2059
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Galveston
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#8 Business Hotel in Galveston
#11 Family Hotel in Galveston
#12 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £77 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston hotel is right by the Galveston Seawall, Moody Gardens, the beach, and historic sites. The hotel offers a free full hot breakfast every day, free high-speed internet and Wi-Fi, outdoor pool and whirlpool, fitness center, and meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Galveston
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Hampton Inn Hotel Galveston
Hampton Inn Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing