We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed a night before a cruise.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Right off I-45 where it changes names in to Broadway St. Easy to miss if you are not paying attention and a minor hasstle to double back to. Front desk was nice and courteous, the corner store down the way seems really shady though- would not go in there again. Breakfast the next morning is pretty good but gets really busy. Toasters work slow- probably because they are not commercial toasters they are using, but you can make your own Texas shaped waffles which were great [if you know how to make them]. Would stay here again, rooms were spacious and clean and despite our room being closest to the interstate, we never heard any traffic noise. Beds were super comfy.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frawgdawg26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2011

This is the worst Marriott property that I've ever stayed at. No where near the beach---right on the freeway. Lots of road noise. Lovely view for us was a power transformer and the freeway. Marriott name but low 2-star quality in everything from toiletries to breakfast. Short staffed during our whole stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank txfamily349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2011

After visiting San Antonio, my wife and I went to Galveston for a few days and stayed at this Marriott property. We had an excellent room whihc is easy to get to as it is just off I45 as you enter the city. Very clean, excellent staff, adequate parking and a good Hot breakfast. The only negative is that the property is about a mile from the beach so you must have a car to enjoy the beach or go out to eat.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gmze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2011

This was a weekend getaway. Hotel is on a bay and not seawall. Breakfast was included, frsh and plenty of choice for everyone. Rooms are a little small but very comfortable. Had a great weekend

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terrwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2011

As you exit the main freeway the hotel is right there. Traffic noise was heard on our upper floor. Room clean and spacious. Breakfast area not big enough for all the families that were there. Internet area right in dining area - not very convienent during the morning breakfast rush. Seemed to be short on help with keeping coffee and other breakfast items filled. Maybe it was just the sheer volume of people.

Room Tip: Highest floor available due to noise from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GailK1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We stayed for one night in early August, 2011. We got a good rate from a travel website and it seemed like a good location. The pros:

1. The staff was very friendly and called our room shortly after our arrival to make sure we were satisified. Every interaction we had with them was positive.
2. The rooms were comfy and cool. There has been at least one report that the rooms had no A/C, or very poor A/C. Our room was cool during the night and we had to pull out some blankets. Nice during a hot and humid day.
3. The price was OK for the hotel. I'd like to see it a little lower.
4. I thought the breakfast offered was satisfactory. Just like in any hotel with a "free" breakfast, I'd get there before 8:00 AM because after that the hordes of locusts will come in a hurry.

The Cons:

1. It is right by the highway and you do get some noise from that, especially if your room faces the road. We had a room in the 1st floor and I could hear trucks going by when I woke up or was trying to sleep. It wasn't too bad, but it is there.
2. The hotel is in a tight location right off the highway. Once you leave and hit the access road, it is one way. The one way to get back is to go around the residential streets back behind the hotel. It isn't a terrible hardship, but it gets tediuous after a while.

Overall it was a good stay. I have stayed in far worse and much better. If you are there for maybe a day or two, it's not a bad place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

The SpringHill Suites in Galveston was superb. The room was roomy and clean. The breakfast was good and there is a laundry available onsite. The beach is a short drive away.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ashirley5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
3 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
3.1 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Galveston Island

Address: 6303 Broadway St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-1036
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range: £60 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Galveston Island 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SpringHill Suites Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Galveston Island Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing