We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Word to the wise about booking on Priceline!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Word to the wise about booking on Priceline!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel on Priceline then found out that this hotel is not near the beach, but that is the risk I took. Thought it would be fine since they had balconies and it was at least near the harbor. Call the hotel and find out that my room won't have a balcony and it will probably be one of those damn handicapped rooms. Offered to pay more, even twice as much to upgrade but no. Call Priceline and no help from them. Done with Priceline! I'm sure it's a nice hotel but they should let you pay them directly to upgrade.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Toddhylbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemary D, Front Office Manager at SpringHill Suites Galveston Island, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an exceptional hotel experience. Unfortunately when booking through third-parties, we miss the chance to speak with you directly. Thank you for your feedback, and we will do our best to make sure this problem is resolved. We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. Please, do not hesitate to call the hotel as soon as you'd like to make a reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    102
    37
    16
    20
See reviews for
122
65
11
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirbyville, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

My family (of 3) and myself stayed three week nights and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. It's right off the highway so it's easy to find. They offered hot breakfast of waffles, hot and cold cereals, yogurt and fruit, milk juices, coffee, biscuits and gravy, scrambled eggs and sausage patties as well as a big mix of breads and pastries. They offered an evening happy hour of chips or cookies and lemonade. The indoor pool and hot tub was great. We didn't have to worry about being sunburned but it was a little small and could get crowded at times. The room was large in size. The beds were very comfortable. We were on the fourth floor and had no problem with noise. There is a nice view of the pyramids of Moody Gardens from the front rooms with the balcony. All of the staff was very friendly. We went to Moody Gardens and shopping on The Strand. There is a lot of walking so put on some good shoes. The only negative thing I can say was that they only have one elevator so sometimes you had to wait. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants a nice place to stay for a good price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbailes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pflugerville, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Easy quick check in. Indoor pool was a plus after being outside in the sun all day. It tended to get a little crowded in the evening; but a midafternoon swim was great thing. The free breakfast had just about everything the kids needed to get them up and going and enough things the adults liked as well to make it through the day. For us since we were not going to the beach while we were on the island; it was conveniently located near Moody Gardens, Schlitterbahn, Sea Wolf park and not too far away from the sea wall if you did want to use the beach. The beds weren't the best but they were soft and firm enough that it was possible to get a good night's sleep. Noise wasn't too much of an issue either; but we were there during the week so that might make a difference.

Room Tip: get the bayou view with the balcony as you can watch the sun go down from there
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shawn_e3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed here while going to Galveston and loved it - we will return again. It's near the highway so its easy to find, they have hot baked cookies, a light happy hour with lemonade and chips, a really good breakfast and the best mattresses I have slept on next to my own.

Room Tip: Only have stayed here once but we were on the 4th floor and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maxwhite1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altus, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights in a room with a king size bed. It was very nice and even though we didn't get a room with a view we were still able to see Offatts Bayou. The staff was very nice and helpful. I would definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank misjade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I were very pleased with the quality of our stay at this hotel. We were treated so well by the staff. The room was very clean with wonderful amenities. The hot breakfast every morning was very appreciated. This was one of the best hotel experiences in all of our years traveling around the country! We definitely plan to visit this hotel again when we return to Galveston.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Teacher777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Booked a pre-cruise night here. This property is a great value! Very clean rooms and common areas. Good breakfast!!!!!!! This property is not ocean front. It does have a bay view. Sometimes this is a good thing as it makes the rooms a little quieter.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dpkgearman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
3.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Candlewood Suites Galveston
#24 of 51 in Galveston
148 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
1.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
4.7 mi away
Homewood Suites By Hilton Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Galveston Island

Property: SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
Address: 6303 Broadway St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-1036
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Galveston Island 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your SpringHill Suites Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Galveston Island Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing