We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a Great Experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewed 4 July 2009

I've read the other reviews here, and I'm amazed. We stayed due to the rate we received from a Marriott employee friend, but I would stay here every time I come back to Galveston. The room was clean and nice. We had zero problems with the front desk. The breakfast was "standard free breakfast" fare, so if you're not expecting eggs benedict & mimosas, you aren't going to be disappointed. The pool was warm and well-kept.

Pre-Ike this wasn't the best part of town. There is still a lot of wreckage around the hotel itself. The houses being built in the place of trailers are $1M-plus. There's a new Target on the other side of the highway. The views on the north side of the hotel are great - Moody Gardens and the back bay.

I can't say enough good things about this place. And I hope the other reviewers here will give it another chance.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for SpringHill Suites Galveston Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

262 - 267 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 23 January 2009

I can not recommend this hotel to anyone for many reasons. Many have been addressed in other reviews posted here. Let me add my experence.

If you are a business person who travels with a laptop, forgot about high speed Internet here. Between about 5PM and 9PM I could pull off any where between 90Kbps and at best 150Kbps down load speed. Up load was in the 200Kbps range. Sometimes the Internet would just stall. I have never done a speed test where it would just refuse to run. I usually use speedtest.net, but I tried others. Repeated calls to the Internet provider provided no help what so ever. If you wake up in the middle of the night, say 3AM, you might be able to pull off 900Kbps down and about 500Kbps up. The rest of the time, it is all but useless. Want to go to CNN.com and look at any video? Forget it. It will not run. Want to go to uTube and look at a video? Forget it. It will not run. It starts, stops, starts, stops. About the only thing you can do with the Internet here is send and receive email. The web will just not run. It is the same with the one computer in the lobby, and the same if you connect via wireless or wired. In the room I stayed in, I was able to see a wireless signal and nail up a good connection to the wireless access point. Too bad no data flowed down that pipe. The Internet provider was rude, lied to me, and would always, finally tell me the same thing "We will have someone call you back". It never happened. As a comparison, the Marriott in Austin down town had 4Mbps up and 4Mbps down even during the most busy times (between 5PM and about 10 PM). The staring and stopping of data makes internet web pages just stall and often not load at all. Others I talked to in the hotel had the same issues.

The front desk is maned by teen-age girls who look to be all of 15 years old. They have one stock replay to any question "I don't know". On rare occasions, you can find and adult in the hotel.

No matter which room you are in, you are next to the highway and it is noisy 24/7. The first night I was in the room, something bit me in the middle of the night. I had a big red throbbing thing grow on my arm to about the size of a quarter. In a few days it went away.

When I checked in, I found some black socks under the table in my room. None of the cleaning people speak English, they are all Spanish speakers, but very polite. I wish they could understand simple words like "shampoo". I had go to the cart they had outside the room, and showed them what I wanted, then they were more than happy to help me.

This hotel is a total embarrassment for the Marriott. I am a gold card club member. My company put me up here for almost 30 days. I am going to advise them to take Marriott off the list of approved hotels. I felt like I was living in the backwaters of a small 3rd world county.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mraroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2008

I'm an elite Marriott rewards member and I book almost exclusively with Marrioot properties. This place may very well help to drive the hotel out of business. The beds are infested with ants that bite. When we tried to lodge a complaint with the front desk they were non reposnive. But most of the time, there wasn't even anyone attending the front desk. pathetic hotel. Shame on Marriott.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rjsniteflyte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2008

Although the hotel is new ( 90 days old when we stayed) it is thin walled and noisy! We had a second floor balcony, overlooking the Interstate so we heard cars all night long. Also, there were trucks backing up along a side street all night which were beeping. The beds were hard as a rock. We had the room for 2 nights, but left after the first and went back home. There are better hotels along the seawall.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ibcnulater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rickyvar8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shs_galveston, Manager at SpringHill Suites Galveston Island, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le stanze a est e sud godono di una bella vista sulla baia
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Franco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Candlewood Suites Galveston
#23 of 51 in Galveston
150 reviews
3.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
2.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Galveston
Comfort Suites Galveston
#24 of 51 in Galveston
265 reviews
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites By Hilton Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Galveston Island

Address: 6303 Broadway St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-1036
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range: £64 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Galveston Island 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your SpringHill Suites Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Galveston Island Hotel Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing