We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly accomodating staff - Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Galveston
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I have to say that I was surprised to read one reviewer saying the staff is unfriendly. They were all very friendly & accomodating. The hotel was clean and quite. The pool & workout room was kept clean. It has your typical free breakfast with eggs, sausage, waffles, cereal, yogurt fruit, pastries. All good. It is not on the main drag which I liked because we were there to go to Moody Gardens mainly and it was only a mile away without heavy traffic. The hotel does not face Seawall but you can walk up a small hill and cross Seawall to a fishing pier across the street. It also has a restaurant & gift shop. You can also walk to a great miniature golf course and a movie theater complex. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Gma58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

162 - 168 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2013

All three people i spoke with there, the evening shift girl, the overnight lady, and the morning shift girl didn't seem like they cared for the job at the hotel too much. Not very friendly like desk people should be. I go to Galveston almost every week to play at Schlitterbahn and normally stay at Quality Inn and Suites but decided to change up a bit. Quality is much more friendly. The thing that bugged me the most is the stupid TIMESHARE SALES LADY or something like that I did not listen because I wasn't there to hear a sales pitch. When I'm on vacation and eating my free breakfast I don't wanna here a sales pitch. The rooms are small compared to other Comfort Suites. Last this hotel is located just off the beach but its the rocky part of the beach not much fun to enjoy the beach in rocks.

Room Tip: Stay at the hotels east of this hotel for beach without rocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brandon20131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Suites Galveston for one night prior to departing on a Western Caribbean cruise. We chose the hotel based on our previous experience with Comfort Suites properties, the fact that the hotel offered parking while on the cruise and shuttle service to the cruise terminal ($20 per room for these services), and the value compared to some of the other choices in town.

We were there the night of the main Mardi Gras parade and it was very busy in town..this may have had something to do with the elevated room prices at the local hotels that night. It took us a little time to get to the hotel due to the traffic and road closures associated with the parade, but we were very pleased when we arrived.

The property is in very good condition and attractive. It is across the highway from the ocean/gulf, but it is set back far enough from the street that there are not really great views from the hotel. The free breakfast area is large and has a fairly typical selection of items (typical for Comfort Suites, which is pretty good). One cute item was a waffle iron that made waffles in the shape of the state of Texas. The room was well appointed, in good condition, and clean. We did not use the pool, hot tub, or exercise room, but they looked fine.

As far as the cruise parking/shuttle was concerned...it was well organized but could work a little more smoothly. There were quite a few other people going on cruises doing the same thing we were (parking/shuttle) and the hotel had a system down. They had several scheduled shuttle departures to choose from early morning to midday. However, the shuttles were not very timely. Our shuttle was the last of the day and we had to wait nearly two hours past our departure time to leave. We did not get too upset over the delay as the Galveston cruise terminal is notorious for delays and getting taxis can be tricky (this was the second time we have cruised from Galveston).

Parking was a little difficult/crowded since the hotel has a standard size lot for this type of property. There are no additional spaces to account for cruise passengers parking there. We were told by a front desk employee that they plan to build additional parking on a vacant lot behind the hotel to ease the parking congestion.

The shuttle upon return went a little more smoothly. We called as requested when we exited the terminal. There was still a wait, but it was not unreasonable considering how busy the terminal was. When we arrived back at the hotel, our car was fine, just as we had left it.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wx-man93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

First visit, will stay again. This hotel was immaculate! Clean rooms, good breakfast. The pool and hot tub are well kept and the staff were all so friendly. Only a block from the seawall and maybe 5 minutes from Schlitterbahn and Moody Gardens. Great value for the price.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baseballlmom00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Comfort Suites in Galveston TX was so great, other motels on the Seawall St had a good view, BUT, we had a great view at a much lower price... Quality Inn, a motel we stay in often had very little view unlike the two rooms we had at CS... AND, the price did not go up each night higher at CS. Our Daughter and her two sons was with us and by all of us staying at CS we saved about $150.00... Sharon and Joe

Room Tip: Get the room facing the Sea at Comfort Suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SharonRay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

What a great little hotel ! We were hesitant to book this place because it's just slightly off the beaten path for Galveston beach attractions. However, we found just the opposite, Far enough away from main attractions to enjoy a pleasant stay. Room was clean, large enough for a wheelchair user and yet not beat up or looking like a disabled room. Just clean, roomy, nice fridge, laundry, nice little private pool etc.

Management here "Miguel" is excellent ! Kind, helpful, caring about your stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2013

The room was comfortable and clean. During the breakfast service, the staff quickly replenished buffet items. Our local host arranged for the hotel's shuttle service to transport our group to and from an evening party; the shuttle was prompt, and the driver courteous. Check-in and check-out were quick and accurate.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Galveston West/Seawall
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Galveston

Address: 3606 89th St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-6483
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range: £66 - £252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Galveston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Galveston Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing