We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hotel and Staff were outstanding.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Suites Galveston
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewed 14 December 2010

We were very pleased with our stay at your hotel. You have a friendly staff who were always nice and helpful. Everyone, including the housekeeoer, and shuttlle drivers, greeted us with smiles and kind words. Thanks for an enjoyable stay. We would definitely come back to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ohunter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

226 - 232 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2010

If you want to be greeted with a smile and wonderful customer service, this is the place for you. My friends and I arrive for the weekend to attend Dickens on the Strand and enjoy the Festival of Lights at Moody Gardens. We were in reasonable driving distance to both destinations, plus the restaurants of our choice. After a long day of festivities it was nice to return to a a very clean and quiet room. Comfortable beds, clean bath/shower, the room has a mini refrigerator and a microwave. The room has a sofa sleeper as well. A family or group of six would be comfortable. I really appreciated the breakfast, because this was not coffee and donuts. On the breakfast bar take your choice of coffee, tea, juice cereal, donuts, fresh fruit, eggs and sausage (all made fresh) but most exciting is to make your own Belgian waffle.Wow!! I don't believe anyone who chooses this hotel would be disappointed. I plan on making Comfort Suites my hotel of choice whenever I plan on staying in the Galveston area.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London8387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2010

Our stay at this hotel was awesome. We had a balcony room with a fantastic view of the ocean in the evening. The breakfast was great, love the waffles. The fronts staff was good and knowledgeable about restaurants and events. THIS IS THE ONLY PLACE WE WILL STAY IN GALVESTON.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rocketsfan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2010

My parents, kids (sons ages 15, 12 and 9) and I (for a total of 6) stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We used a single room with two queens and a soft sleeper even though we could have booked another room as there was availability. Rooms were clean, offered a microwave and refrigerator and had adequate space as long as you don't mind sharing a single bathroom. This hotel is on the west end of the island which is removed from the heart of the activity however still a short distance away which was nice since it was quieter. The view of the Gulf of Mexico from the 3rd floor balcony (we upgraded the room when we checked-in) was fantastic as there was no other building obscuring the view in front of this hotel. My kids enjoyed the outdoor pool and hot tub. The staff was especially friendly and always helpful with a greeting each time we entered the hotel.

A number of points of beach access all along the main highway.

It was about a 30 minute drive to the Johnson Space Center which I would strongly recommend and a little over an hour from the IAH airport.

I would stay at this location again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sllitschke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We were doing a two day 160 mile bike ride that stopped in Galveston overnight at Moody Gardens. We did not want to pay the high prices at Moody Gardens Hotel but wanted a nice clean location close to Moody. This hotel was less than a five minute bike ride from Moody.

The hotel is on the less populated part of the seawall but but is at a good central location for activities in Galveston. As a note the hotel is not actually on the seawall, but rather one lot back. For now at least, higher floor south facing rooms have a view of the water, but that will change if anything is built in front of the hotel. There is plenty of parking spaces at the hotel. They allowed us to check in early and were very pleasant.

On first entering the lobby, there is a very welcome feel. There is plenty of room in the breakfast area in the morning.

Our room was a King room with microwave and fridge. The room also had a loveseat and table in addition to the nice sized work desk. Closet and bathroom space is acceptable. Relatively comfortable bed. The climate control system worked well, and the blower can be set to on for white noise. Room has a 27" CRT TV with a handful of the normal channels and the clock had an audio jack for MP3. Our room had a view of an empty lot and the GA Airport. Higher rooms on the South Side of the hotel had a view of the ocean and seawall.

The breakfast was not the best we have had at a Comfort Inn, but was acceptable. Prefab scrambled eggs, biscuits, gravy, waffles, pastries, toast, muffins, cereals, juice, milk. They had the breakfast out early which was nice as we were departing at 6:50am. The breakfast did lack any meat item which would have been nice to have.

They have business center downstairs with a computer and a printer, there is room for two, so it would be nice if they added a second PC. The inside of the hotel clean and nice looking. They had a typical small but clean exercise room with a bike, treadmill, elliptical. The hotel has a nice outdoor pool and hot tub but unfortunately they face the GA Airport rather than the ocean. We did enjoy the hot tub and lounging at the pool. We will continue to stay here when we participate in this annual event as long as their prices do not get crazy. (The Holiday Inn Express we stayed at last year was nearly double the price....no thanks!).

There is not much in the line of restaurants near the location but with a car there are plenty of choices in Galveston. There is a BBQ / Sandwich / Ice Cream joint on the seawall nearby that was pretty good.

Great location and hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pcsanity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Booked a trip to Galveston at the Holiday Inn Sunspree and then decided to come one day early. Sunspree was booked so we booked the Comfort Suites for the extra day. I would have much rather stayed at the Comfort Suites the rest of the trip.

The place was very clean and new. Staff was extremely helpful and courteous and knew the island well, had recommendations, places to go to and places to stay away from.

Rooms were what you would expect. Two queens and a sofa pull out and double sink tub bathroom. Spacious, super cold ac, TV was a tube and not flat but thats ok.

Breakfast was your typical waffles, sausage, biscuits, gravy, cereal. Really good value for room price.

Pool was on small side but there was a hot tub.

Only drawback was location, was about 1/2 block from seawall and in sort of a valley. We were on 2nd floor facing away from beach. If we were on the other side on 2nd floor i doubt you would see the ocean. i didn't go up to 3rd floor but that might offer ocean view.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nazran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2010

Even though it isn't in the middle of the busiest part of the beach, this hotel has it's pluses. It's just a short walk to the beach and we felt like we were the only ones staying there since the noise level was so low. The management was very pleasant and accomodating. Continental breakfast included fresh waffles, pastries, sausage, cereal, and I forget what elese, but it was good! Very friendly place to stay with no hassles!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomandgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
1.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
6.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
0.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Suites Galveston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Galveston

Address: 3606 89th St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-6483
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range: £53 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Galveston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Suites Galveston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Galveston Hotel Galveston
Galveston Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing