We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A nice place to stay.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
39 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Galveston, Galveston Island, Texas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“A nice place to stay.”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in February 2016

When we arrived and getting settled we couldn't get the TV to work. Called John and he came over and got it set up. This home served our purpose for a nice winter getaway. We would definitely come back.

The only suggestion I can make is that the owners spend about $200 to upgrade the pots and pans.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
serialcra...
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Galveston Getaway”
Reviewed 9 November 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The Oasis was a perfect spot for a great getaway. Walking distance to some great places to eat, view of the waves from the front porch with morning coffee, toasty gas heat (it was January after all), and a quiet neighborhood made for a great week. The Oasis is now our go to Galveston lodging.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and view
Liked least: Stairs to front door.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cpfryar
1 review
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 13 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The house is really nice and updated. It has a wonderful view of the ocean. We really enjoyed our stay

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debra W
Kansas City
2 reviews
“Great place to stay in Galveston!”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We enjoyed every minute of our time at this cottage. The location is perfect for going to the beach or to town. Nicely decorated and most everything you would have at home. We hope to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable and centrally located
Liked least: The mattresses were too hard.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda Sk...
1 review
“Just right in every way.”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My husband and I loved the cottage. We both appreciate the workmanship and quality materials that went into building houses during this period, and although this one has been updated in some ways, the cottage retains a lot of charm. It has wooden floors, tall ceilings, beautiful windows, a roomy kitchen, and an inviting little front porch. The lines are all crisp, the space is spotless, and yet there are little details that reveal that the owner has a good but restrained eye for decoration. Nothing is kitchy. East beach is about a block away, and there are restaurants, bars, and a neighborhood grocery within walking distance. By the way, you can rent chairs and umbrellas on East beach if you don't want to bring your own. You can also rent them on West Beach, which is a bit wider and cleaner, but you have to drive there. The neighborhood around Oasis Cottage reminds me a little of those around Magazine Street in New Orleans. We will definitely want to stay there again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kevin N
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great cottage with a great location”
Reviewed 29 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The Oasis Cottage was a great cottage. The location was almost directly across Seawall Blvd from the ocean. Great view and far enough from the busy portion of the strip to keep it quiet even when sitting on the front porch. I would stay here again without a question. My only complaints would be-

1. The beds were pretty firm. I am used to sleeping on all types of mattresses due to my job and these beds didn't bother me but they were a little too firm for my wife. We managed though and it is not too hard.

2. The bushes next to the driveway were over grown and once parked in the driveway, you had to walk through the yard to get to the other side of the vehicle. Not a deal breaker but inconvenient.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2016
Thanks for the great review and positive feedback. The bushes have been trimmed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;