We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great beach house!!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bishop's Beach

Balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balcony
Living room Living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
3 reviews
Balcony
Living room
Living room
Living room
Living room
Dining area
Dining area
Dining area
Bar area and kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Upstairs
Hallway
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Bunk Bedroom
Bunk Bedroom
Bathroom
Half Bath
Washer and dryer
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Galveston, Galveston Island, Texas

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great beach house!!!”
Reviewed 4 October 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The beach house was a perfect location, suited our families needs to a T and was very comfortable for one and all! Would suggest that they fix the refrigerator - all the inserts that hold items in the door are gone. That seriously cuts down on space in the frig itself - and the issue of rust in the freezer. Truly, the frig issue is too important to let its condition impact the entire lovely home. Fix it! please.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susanwith...
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great location but the house has a few problems.”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
3
people found this review helpful

I took a few girlfriends to Galveston to celebrate my 50th birthday. I chose this house because of its wonderful beach location and we were not disappointed, however there are some issues with the house.

1)All renters should know that they only allow 4 cars to park. This turned out to not be a problem because different ladies came at different times, but it's something to keep in mind. (I noticed that the app says 7 cars allowed, but that doesn't seem to be true. Not sure why there's a conflict in info there.)

2)The first thing we encountered that was a problem was the door lock. The door was very tricky to unlock and lock and, in fact, it was very difficult to shut. The lock keeps it from shutting normally (you can't just close the door) so you struggle with the question of how to lock it or get it to shut every time you use the door. There were a couple of times I thought I had it shut when it wasn't. A better, easier to use lock or at the very least some good instructions would be helpful.

3) The AC wasn't working properly in one of the bedrooms. That room was very hot compared to the other rooms and there seemed to be no reason for it as the vent was open as far as we could tell.

4) The refrigerator wasn't cold enough. We put three half-gallons of ice cream in there the first evening and the next morning we had soft-serve style ice cream. Not good. Plus the ice wasn't making at that point. The temp was as low as it would go, so that wasn't the issue.

5) The DVD player in the living room was impossible to figure out. I never found out how to access it because it wasn't hooked up to an HDMI outlet on the TV. I finally just moved one from upstairs. Directions for this would have been helpful (or a better set-up).

6) A kitchen chair was broken. Someone sitting in it likely would have ended up on the floor. I picked it up to move it, and the legs came completely apart.

I would stay there again but only if they make some repairs and adjustments.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: A few problems with the place
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to review of Attitude Adjustment. Your feedback is important to us. We have noted all of the concerns you have listed in your review and have forwarded them to our operations manager. We have addressed and completed repair and/or replacement of the AC in the one bedroom, the refrigerator and the door lock. Please consider contacting Ryson Vacation Rentals for your next stay in Galveston. Let us know you are a returning guest to receive our Guest Loyalty Discount.

Thank you!
Ryson Vacation Rentals
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
helen17c
Gurley, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beach House from Hell”
Reviewed 3 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
5
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Bishops Beach June 29-July 5, 2015. We paid top dollar for what we read online to be a beachfront property with “high-end finishes”. While the house was on the beach, nothing was “high-end”.
o The clothes dryer did not function. We were told, “It’s a beach house, leave your stuff outside on the deck.”, & “appliances break sometimes”. The dryer was a 1983 model that they couldn’t get working after 3 visits from a repair person. They finally brought a new one the day before we left. Needless to say, a house with 12 guests needs the ability to wash bath towels and cloths.
o All the screens on the windows were ripped to shreds.
o The deck furniture was completely rusted
o The refrigerator was held together with orange duct tape and rusted.
o The master bedroom had 3 fans since it was so hard to cool. It also had a window that leaked during storms because the frame was rotted. We were told a new window had been ordered. The hot water facet in the master bath did not work. Only cold running water.
o A BBQ was advertised with the property. None could be found. We were told to look in the storage area, but could not get in because the door was rusted shut. After a repairman could not open it a locksmith had to be called to change out the door two days later. We had to purchase a BBQ.
 Multiple daily calls to the rental company resulted in empty promises and increased frustration from their total lack of customer service orientation. The head of maintenance, Alex, had only excuses for our concerns.
Finally, 2 days before our departure I went back to the rental office. I met with one of the managers, Martha. She was very apologetic and said we would be refunded a small portion of what we paid. She said she was unaware of our concerns. I do not believe this could be true being such a small office. The refund, after one month, has never materialized. Needless to say we will never rent this beach house or anything else from Ryson.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Nov 2016
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your time to review of Bishop's Beach. Your feedback is important to us. We have addressed and completed repair and/or replacement of the dryer, window screens and BBQ grill. All of your concerns are valid and I hope that we will have another opportunity to earn your business. Let us know you are a returning guest to receive our Guest Loyalty Discount.

Thank you!
Ryson Vacation Rentals
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing