We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Home”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Galveston, Galveston Island, Texas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nikki B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Home”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful time in Galveston and the Watermelon House was in a great location. It was a beautiful home with access to WiFi and Netflix. Easy access and warm feeling in the home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2015
Thanks for your kind words of "warmth" ! That's the way we want you to feel at your home away from home,.... hope you visit us again on your next trip to Galveston!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sperry200...
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice house that surpasses expectations!”
Reviewed 22 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Always a little leery staying in a place you have never seen, but the Watermelon House was AMAZING! There were six of us that stayed including two children and two elderly. We were more than thrilled with the house. From the cleanliness, location, decor, comfort of the beds, and wonderful owner, we were so happy with our decision to stay here. It made for an extremely relaxing, worry free vacation. I highly recommend staying here. You will not be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall beauty of the place.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2015
We are always pleased when someone enjoys their stay in Galveston and at The Watermelon House! I'm glad you enjoyed your vacation home away from home. Think of us again on your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe, Texas
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So close to the beach; stocked with supplies.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Jun 2015
I'm so happy you enjoyed our "unique" Watermelon House! We hope you stay with us again on your next trip to Galveston!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sbc12345
1 review
“Great place!”
Reviewed 28 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This place was amazing! Super cozy and very clean! The owner would respond to text or email within 24 hours and was ALWAYS super friendly! We would recommend this to anyone and plan on coming back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jun 2015
Thank you, we look forward to your next visit to The Watermelon House !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Iberia, Louisiana
Reviewed 26 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Jun 2015
We are so glad you enjoyed the house. I have added more cookware for those wanting to enjoy cooking and dinner at home after a long day. We would love to have your family come back to stay with us anytime and enjoy the eclectic uniqueness of Galveston!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Andrea G
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed 20 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

really loved the house and the fact that it wasn't too far from the beach(walking distance), they had everything we needed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: closeness to the beach
Liked least: everything was good
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2015
We are happy you enjoyed the convenience of our house! Hope you think of us on your next trip to Galveston!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing