We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the noise”

Shearn's Seafood and Prime Steaks
Reserve with OpenTable
Shearn's Seafood and Prime Steaks is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 315 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Jones Road
Description: Shearn's Seafood and Prime Steaks is one of only 11 Houston/Galveston area restaurants to receive AAA’s Four Diamond Award of Excellence and has done so each year since 2004. Located on the ninth floor, Shearn's Seafood and Prime Steaks is Galveston's finest restaurant unsurpassed both in cuisine and service with an upscale ambiance. Local Galvestonians flock to this Island oasis (link to Activities & Attractions page) to enjoy the signature dishes of Urs Schmid including his Shrimp Dejong and Lobster Bisque. Open Tuesday through Saturday for Dinner. Dressy Casual attire required. No jeans, shorts, swimwear, cutoffs, tank tops or hats allowed in the dining area. Collared shirts and sandals are acceptable.Shearn's Lounge is the perfect setting for afternoon and evening cocktails surrounded by truly spectacular views of the stunning Pyramids of Moody Gardens and the sunsets over Galveston Bay. Open Tuesday through Saturday in the afternoons. Dressy Casual Attire.
The Woodlands, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Away from the noise”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

After walking the Mardi Gras parade route with screaming and bead catching our dinner and stay at Moody Gardens was a nice rest from the excitement. Service was great and the food very fresh and flavorable. Walked next door to finish the evening with a drink and soulful live music.
Views from the restaurant and our room were wonderful. Laissez les bon temps rouler!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pookie36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    27
    8
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Graham, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“4 star”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Good service and good food. With the view it was a spectacular romantic dinner for the two of us. We will be back.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank sbri09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
134 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Simply O.K. Experience”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I made a reservation for party of 4 the same day. Please request a window table because the first table offered was in the middle of traffic pattern. There is ample wait staff serving the table but inconsistent in application. My husband had to ask for bread replacement twice. The have a nice wine selection with a reasonably priced Malbec for $45. The special asparagus soup tasted better than the lobster bisque. After a 1 hour wait our main course arrived. The restaurant was not full on a Thursday night so unclear why the wait. My steak au poivre came without the sauce so I had to ask for it. It was simply O.K. My friend's crab cakes were simply O.K. My husband liked the special beef medallions and my other friend thoroughly enjoyed his veal chop. The best was saved for last ... grand Marnier soufflé. The tab with the 17% gratuity they automatically added for 4 resulted in a $280 meal. No "thank you" as we left the restaurant. I would not go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hystericalhappiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

No complaints, everything was great!!! We ate meat and fish an had a great experience. The dessert was also fabulous!!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Raul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DFW, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Surprise at a Hotel Restaurant”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We took a quick get away to celebrate my birthday and Thanksgiving and did a 3 day stay at the Moody Gardens Hotel and Resort. We normally shy away from eating at restaurants inside of a hotel, but noticed a sign in the lobby touting a November Special Dinner for Two set menu with Wine. It was very reasonably priced, so we thought we would give it a try.

We arrived at the 9th floor restaurant with great views across Galveston with very low expectations. I figured it would probably end up being typical banquet fare accompanied by wines along the line of two buck chuck. Also figured service would be mediocre at best. Boy was I wrong on ALL counts.

As we entered the restaurant we saw that it was very full, with just a few open tables, which I thought was unusual considering the hotel wasn't full and it was the Tuesday before Thanksgiving. Apparently, this is frequented by the locals in the know Mark has been there for 8 years and his service was impeccable. It was the right balance of being attentive without being intrusive. He was aware we were doing the Prix Fixe Menu and shared his recommendations on the wines to pair best with our meal.

We started with a small Boston Bibb salad drizzled with a vinaigrette and topped with crab cake. He recommended the Tommasi Pinot Grigio which is from the Valpolicella Classica region of Italy. It was a medium bodied white with a clean taste and crisp finish. It was the perfect compliment to the tartness of the vinaigrette and brought balance to the dish.

The main dish was a Filet Mignon topped with Shitake mushrooms and a red-wine sauce, accompanied by two seared small bay scallops, fingerling potatoes, asparagus, and broccolini.
The filet was perfectly prepared, juicy, and tender. The scallops were perfectly seared, They were firm without being overcooked. Not normally my favorite shellfish, but these were tasty. Also, all the vegetables were perfectly prepared. Cooked through without losing the texture and firmness.

The standard pour was a Cabernet Sauvignon, but Mark suggested a more medium bodied red. The Colosi Sicilia Rosso was a good choice with nodes of red fruit and hints of vanilla, smooth tannins and nice finish. It reminded me of a Super Tuscan without the price tag. Will definitely look for both of these at our local wine store.

The finale was a luscious and rich Tiramisu topped with red raspberries and strawberry slices. It was awesome. A great finish to a fantastic meal.

We actually thought this was too good to be true, so we tested fate and booked it for a second evening. It was equally exceptional.

If you are looking for a nice romantic meal, with great service, and great food, you need to give Shearn's a try. Ask for Mark and he will treat you well.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cruisinsince75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shearn's Seafood and Prime Steaks also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Shearn's Seafood and Prime Steaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing