We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should make people aware of the dogs before reserving.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Coppersmith Inn Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 11 Galveston B&B and Inns
Garland, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Should make people aware of the dogs before reserving.”
Reviewed 8 December 2010

I LOVE dogs, but the dogs at the Coppersmith could be a problem for people who don't love them as much as I do. They get on the sofa and chairs and growl if you try to move them and one of them left a "present" in one of our rooms. I think the owners should let people know ahead of time about the dogs. Also we were there for 2 nights and our rooms were not straightened up after the first night. The place is lovely and the breakfasts are GREAT! Ellen and her Mom are wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gmom64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    6
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2010

My wife treated me to a birthday weekend in Galveston this February. We had a wonderful stay at the Coppersmith. The owner and her staff (her friendly mom) made sure we were well fed and comfortable. I highly recommend the inn for a quiet and relaxing weekend.

Rod and Ondina, Houston, TX

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgentry23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2009

Located on a lovely quiet street, the Coppersmith in is a gem -if a little bit rough. The owners are very friendly, full of information, with two cute little dogs - which helped me with my homesickness over my own dogs - our room had a great balcony - I think we spent most of our time out there! Breakfast was huge and everyone had a good time talking round the table. Other b&b's I've been to have separate tables but this was friendly and cozy with one big "family" table. We had a ropmantic night out and came back to our room to decorated chocolates and fruit on a silver tray and champange with romantic music playing (except the player got stuck so we turned it off - only glitch) and 'candlelight" (the pretend kind - real candles would be dangerous in an old home like this!). As it is the owners home, they had grandchildren( very cute and well behaved!) visit while we were there so if you don't enjoy being part of a family while you're staying then maybe you should try another place. They have a separate Cottage which was more private and I would love to stay there when I can stay for a longer visit.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sojourners2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2009

coppersmith inn is a precious, stunning architectural gem of the l800's, surviving both of the great storms. Ellen, the owner has done a remarkable job, this house is huge! her breakfasts are renown . ive spoken to several others and hey don't offer anything like she does. FULL MEAL DEAL!! the grounds have come back and are quite lush, even tho the summer heat has been brutal. it is a quiet anad relaxed place. she has 2 dogs that are adorable and welcoming. i would recommend Coppersmith Inn to anyone wanting a nice, clean, cozy get-a-way and i will go back, i'd like to see it decorated for the holidays. it would have to be fabulos! anne and don dees, seven points, texas

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fannie5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

The previous review was written 7 years ago - how I wsh I had noticed that when we booked! Since then ownership has changed hands. We stopped for one night - which was enough! For $175 a night, this place is not good value. The room was huge, but very dark and not particularly clean. Breakfast was at 9am - no negociation! It consisted of a greasy cheese and potato omelette, cold bacon ( which had been sat on the table for quite a time) and potatoes. Again, no choice. The hospitality fridge consisted of another guest's leftover food and a small pitcher of sour wine ( again, I think it had been sat there for some time). Not sure where the great garden is that the previous reviewer refers to - not evident when we stayed! You must like dogs too - the owner has two. Lots of places to stop in this great place - I would recommend somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MaryleeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 10 May 2002

Coppersmith is on the same street as we are. Sold three years ago to a lovely couple from Dallas, The Coppersmith has under gone a complete redo. New rooms, all private baths and great food. There are beautiful gardens and a carriage house with a jaccuzzi. This one is a must see.

Helpful?
9 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.8 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 51 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Four Points By Sheraton Galveston
1.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
0.2 mi away
Lost Bayou Guest House
Lost Bayou Guest House
#2 of 11 in Galveston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coppersmith Inn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coppersmith Inn Bed & Breakfast

Property: Coppersmith Inn Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1914 Avenue M, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-4707
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Coppersmith Inn Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Coppersmith Inn Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing