We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“One of the most amazing places on the island!”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to The Driftwood
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Driftwood
The private neighborhood beach is just a few blocks away!! The Tiki Bar.  Enjoy ping-pong, washer pits, grilling, or just relaxing watching tv
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Welcome to The Driftwood
The private neighborhood beach is just a few blocks away!!
The Tiki Bar.  Enjoy ping-pong, washer pits, grilling, or just relaxing watching tv
Sitting area on the main deck
Sunset from the deck
View of den area
Living, dining and kitchen are open
Kitchen has everything you need and a Keurig
Kids room has twin beds, TV and X-box!
Two twin beds, TV and an X-box all located in Kids' Room
Second bedroom has a queen bed and TV
Bathroom on main floor
Master Bedroom
Enjoy the sun setting over the water from the king bed
Have a glass of wine on the master balcony and enjoy the views or read a book.
Sunset from the master balcony
Glimpse of the bay from the master balcony
Master Bathroom
Master Bathroom with walk in closet
Aonther view of the communities' private beach
850' fishing pier with lights for night fishing or crabbing only blocks away!
Bay view from the pier
Pool is just across just the street! Open Labor Day to Memorial Day ($100 fee covers 8 guest for wk)
Only ONE block away is the West End Marina which includes....
the 4* restaurant, the Sand Bar, a general store, and fresh fish market.
Inside the sandbar
The Driftwood is a few feet from the playground/park
The park has basketball and sand volleyball courts
Just a few more pictures and views....
Washer pit
View from the main deck
Map of the amenities around The Driftwood
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Galveston, Galveston Island, Texas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Justin543...
1 review
“One of the most amazing places on the island!”
Reviewed 13 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The Driftwood was amazing. I really can't say enough great things about our experience there. We have stayed all over Galveston and this trip was by far the best.

We have to visit Galveston a few times a year because our daughter goes to the doctor there. Staying at the Driftwood made our trip seem more like a beach vacation instead of a visit for the Doctor.

The neighborhood is great. The area is quiet, and there are many useful locations near by. The home itself, is in beautifully decorated and super clean. Plus, being able to cook at home saved us a ton of money and being able to utilize the grill and bar area still made cooking feel like a vacation.

We have two pre-teen boys and they loved the ping pong table and the other items that are at the house for the younger guests. There really is something for everyone!

The owners are great, and they are very quick to respond if you have any questions. We will definitely stay here again, and hopefully soon!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danny B
1 review
“More then expected a great place to vacation”
Reviewed 10 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Not sure what to expect when we booked just had pictures to look at but when we got there till we left it was just like the pictures, only thing missing from the pictures was the enjoyment. It was a nice clean place to stay and we really enjoyed having a house to rent for the week and make it our own. Kitchen was very nice with all the appliances and pots and pans available!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: having a home to stay at.
Liked least: temperature difference between the upstairs and downstairs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shinergal...
Katy, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Emanates TLC”
Reviewed 13 June 2016 for a stay in April 2016

It's clear upon arrival how much tender loving care went into creating the Driftwood! It's a great place for a weekend trip or bit longer. Access to the beach is just a quick golf cart trip to the other side of the road. It's a nice and secluded part of the beach. Around the corner is a great little sports bar and grill. Literally -- around the corner! And if that's not your pleasure, the downstairs of the Driftwood has the perfect outdoor entertaining setup! All this allows you to watch the sunset over the marina....what more can you ask for for a beach getaway. Go and have a great time !

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2016
Thanks for staying and hope you can return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
travler60
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous Beach House!”
Reviewed 2 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Very nice beach house, which has everything you need. Very clean with 3 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. Great outdoor living space on the bottom level with a tiki bar, ping pong table, barbecue pit, table and chairs, games and a TV. Close to boat ramp, swimming pool, and playground for children.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenna A
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Family Getaway!”
Reviewed 7 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Well appointed getaway with lots of amenities. We spent most of the time outside - bottom level has everything you need for relaxing at the beach. We grilled burgers, played cards, and my son and his friend enjoyed playing ping pong and pitching washers in the cool washer boxes. There's a great outdoor table and bar - my husband and I had the perfect setup to watch some Aggie basketball on the outdoor tv! So convenient - our son could walk to great fishing, a small grocery store and restaurant is a short walk away, great neighborhood playground, and we had fun watching the boats coming in and out of the marina. Very clean and nicely decorated. We would love to book another family getaway to the Driftwood.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard F
1 review
“Wonderful Rental Property”
Reviewed 3 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Great home! Really nicely appointed, well maintained rental property located right across from the boat launch and marina as well as a fantastic restaurant! Access to private, lighted fishing pier and beach. Great for families or sophisticated friends! We will definitely be back! Felt like I had come home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Owner's take great care of the property and are easy to work with!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2016
Thanks for staying, hope you can return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
P5_Crazy...
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
736 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
“Absolute Perfection”
Reviewed 8 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We visited Galveston for a long weekend with the kids and extended family and rented the Driftwood for three nights. It was SO much more amazing than we expected! When we drove up, the kids (5, 8, 11) declared it to be "the best house on the whole island," and decided before we even unlocked the door that they were never leaving! The owners are definitely sharing their home with their renters, and it feels like a HOME, not like a cheesy beach rental AT ALL.

The interior has been beautifully decorated and is SPOTLESS. The cozy family room is perfect for kicking back and relaxing, and the giant dining room table comfortably sat 6 adults and 3 children for dinner and games. The kids' room has an xbox and two twin beds, and the other bedroom has a giant queen size bed. On the third floor, the master suite was simply fantastic. The giant king size bed was super comfy, and the room was HUGE. The en-suite bath upstairs was also huge, and the master closet could've fit a bed in it.

Every room has a TV and the owners have wifi set up so that if you can't bring yourself to disconnect, you can still have your screens. They have games and ping pong and a bar and a BBQ grill downstairs. The neighborhood has a pool that you can use (for a small fee) but it was too cold for us to swim. The beach is a short walk across the road, but if you drive, the public parking is right by the neighborhood entrance. The boat dock is right across the street from the house, so you can sit on one of the two balconies (one on the second floor, the other not he third floor) and watch the boats. The kitchen is fully functional and stocked (not with food, but with plates and cups and dishes and pots and pans and utensils and etc) so you don't have to worry about all that. There is also a washer and dryer so you can go home with clean clothes if you want.

Downtown Galveston is about 20 minutes (by car) down the beach. It sounds and LOOKS (on the map) like a hike, but it isn't. It is actually REALLY nice to be away from the town and out in the quiet and relaxing quiet of the beach. Really relaxing and regenerating. LOVED everything about it. And the kids LOVED it.

They owners have made this a really special place. We are already looking at our calendars so that we can go back, because once the word gets out, they're going to be booked year round.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was a special and unique place. Felt like home.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2016
Thanks for staying and the kind words, we are glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing