We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Ranked #12 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

It's cozy but for us (2 adults & 2 kids under 5) it was perfect. The bunk beds were a big hit for the kids. The kitchenette added convenience and there's a laundry facility if you need it. The bedroom was a tight fit but the bed was very comfortable. Location was great and easily accessible to all popular attractions. The pool was nothing fancy but never seemed crowded. The staff was friendly and we would definitely stay there again!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KristinaKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    207
    144
    62
    25
    16
See reviews for
229
92
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Haven't stayed in Galveston in quite a while. Son & I have both been ill. Granddaughter going stir crazy. Made a last minute call on Friday. Super lady, Carrie, arranged everything. Even explained how to get extended hours, if we wanted them. (We did!) Son & granddaughter enjoyed pool, beach and shopping. Both appreciated solid door on bedroom-I snore! Kitchen allowed us to keep meds, drinks & food available as needed. Front desk sent extra pillows & blankets. Unit was clean - clean - clean! And really comfortable. A little small, but not cramped. I really enjoyed relaxing on the balcony and watching the seabirds. We had an inside sea-view room and it was just fine. Hope to go back before school starts in August or maybe for Dickens-on-the-Strand. Thank you all for a great weekend!

Room Tip: No restaurant on property, but hotel surrounded by them in all price ranges. If you need to cook in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Casa Del Mar is a good place to visit in Galveston in the spring, rates are lower, weather not as hot. Went in April. Try for one of the units that fully faces the oceanfront. Ideal for one, two people or people with 1 or 2 (at most) small children. Nice balcony, kitchen, bathroom (shower/tub) separate bedroom and bunk beds along hall. Supposed to sleep 6, but would be very cramped for that number. Staff helpful, on-site parking. Near grocery store, restaurants, fishing pier.

Room Tip: Rooms facing front have better ocean view than side-angle units, but cost more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Stayed here for 6 days including the memorial weekend. The bedroom was very small, not even enough space for a bedside table, however the sitting room/kitchenette was comfortable and had a great view from the balcony. The best thing about our stay was the help and advice we got from Scott at reception. What a great guy! He steered us in the right direction for where to and what to see and even printed out maps for our onward journey to Corpus Christi.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GosportTopsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pueblo, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We just love this place. The facility is very nice - comfortable beds, perfect location, friendly staff. It is right on a corner with a traffic light and you can't believe how important this is in Galveston - you practically can't cross the street without a light due to the traffic, and the lights are pretty far apart, so having one right there at the hotel is a MAJOR bonus!!!

Right across 61st street is a Rita's frozen custard, and just a couple of doors past that is a really nice fancy Kroger grocery store. The Tortuga restaurant is very near and it is a great restaurant. So many amenities within walking distance. Geographically, it is the *Ideal* location. You are not in the hub bub touristy part, but you have all of the conveniences.

It's a little confusing - some of the units are rented straight through the owner, and others are managed by the hotel. It is much better to get a "hotel rental" because then they bring you towels and they are VERY generous with the towels. When we left (may 2014) my daughter left some belongings in the bathroom and the maid staff collected them and mailed them to us. Very nice!!!

Our first rental with Casa del Mar was a "by owner" rental and that was very nice, too, it's just that with this form of rental, you don't have maid service - the only difference that I could tell (we've rented both) is the generous towel supply with the "hotel" rooms. Both are great and are the exact same floor plan and furniture and etc.

It really is a great place. All of the units have a balcony with beach views. I doubt that we'll ever stay anywhere else.

Note - two of the beds are cubby-in-the-wall bunks with a suggested weight limit of something like 85 pounds. My adult children simply pulled the mattresses off of the bunk and put them on the floor. It worked great. There is also a pull out sofa bed so each room can sleep 6 with the furniture all moved out of the way.

Room Tip: There are two different types of room, one type has the balcony off of the living room and I *think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rosemaryknits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tethanks7, General Manager at Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Thank you for the review and comments about private rentals versus renting from the Rental Association located on site. We understand there are choices and are glad to know that you were happy with the extra services provided by our on site team! We are here 24/7 to assist our guests and we hope you will come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I got a groupon deal and went in for one night with my spouse and two kids.The balcony had great views of gulf and there was a seperate bed room with door a living room with kitchen fridge and utensils.There was a bunk bed also in the hallway so there was enough room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rajesh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSoto, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This property is currently undergoing renovation. It didn't seem to be a problem except at check-in. We were advised that we could check-in at 4 P.M. but due to the construction, certain rooms were not available. Therefore we had to wait approx. 2 hours until a room was cleaned and prepared for our stay. The only other detraction from our stay is the bedroom window is on the hallway where people enter and exit their rooms. The head of the bed is next to this window, thus making it difficult to sleep when people come and go all hours of the night; or carry on cell phone conversations in the hallway. The hotel is in a great location to the beach and restaurants.
The hotel has two pools, one is heated the other is not. The room has a small kitchen, which made it nice to prepare simple meals, and save money for evening meals at local restaurants.
The balcony door provided a nice view of the beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeMcCL59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KarenGalveston_Texas, General Manager at Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We are happy to report that we are wrapping up our renovation projects this week which will eliminate future issues with late check ins. We appreciate your business and look forward to having you stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
3.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites

Property: Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Address: 6102 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77551-2031
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Galveston
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
#9 Romantic Hotel in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted Best Condo Rental on the Island! Our on site Galveston team personally handles your reservation when you book direct. We guarantee the best service, rates & packages! Casa del Mar Beachfront Suites - always a super value; ideal for a family vacation or a weekend getaway for two. When you’re looking for the ideal lodging choice, why stay in an ordinary hotel when you can have all the comforts of home in a beachfront suite ? Casa del Mar Beachfront Suites are a super value, ideal for a family vacation or a weekend getaway for two. Each fully furnished suite offers a private balcony for you to relax and enjoy the view as well as a small living area with a newly remodeled studio kitchen. There is a small private bedroom with a queen size bed and in the living area, a queen sofa sleeper and a set of Junior bunks designed for small children under the age of 10. We have two tropical pools (one seasonally heated), a trellised Bar-B-Que area, laundry facilities and Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in all suites and throughout the property. Our beautifully landscaped property also features conference and catering facilities ideal for family reunions, small groups and corporate retreats. Casa del Mar is conveniently located right on the Seawall beachfront, central to all of the Island's great restaurants, shopping and favorite attractions. Relax by the pool, take a sunset stroll on the beach or enjoy Galveston's rich Island history. Casa del Mar and Galveston Island offer something for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Hotel Galveston
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing