We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very rude manager!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Commodore on the Beach
Ranked #37 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Do not spend a penny at this place. That manager is so rude. My daughter left an important stuffed animal in the room and when we called back to ask about it she was too busy to talk to us about it. She had people lined up to check in and she didn't have time to discuss us being upset with how rude she was so she hung up on us. Very ridiculous!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kradde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

303 - 309 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

First of all, let me say that my husband and I have stayed at The Commodore numerous times with no issues. It was a strange feeling to walk into our room and find the TV blaring out and the door to the balcony unlocked. The bed was comfortable and the room was clean. There was enough noise that neither my husband nor I slept very well, but at some point there was a loud banging that woke my husband up. We were also told there was wifi Internet access. Also, this hotel has never upgraded to coffee makers in their rooms. We had checked in for 2 nights but left after 1.

We never could connect to the hotels wifi and in fact never had any kind of signal to connect through. When we got up in the morning, and I tried to go get coffee, I found that the elevator was I operational....sorry, people, I'm not lazy, but cannot easily navigate stairs.

When we finally made it downstairs to check out, I told the manager about the tv being on, the balcony door being unlocked, the lack on Internet access, the loud noise and the elevator and his responses were that the "Internet worked just fine because he'd just used it, the noise was because someone was cleaning the sea wall and yeah, the elevator isn't working." He seemed totally unconcerned about the tv and unlocked door.

I think we'll stay at the Holiday Inn Resort from now on. The rooms are great and the view of the gulf is awesome!!! PLUS, I can get up and have a cup or coffee before having to get dressed and face the world!!!

Room Tip: Go ahead and pay a little more for quality and security!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We stayed here in late December on an unseasonably warm weekend and it was just what we expected. If you want a resort experience, this is not it, but if you want a view of the ocean and a soft place to sleep, this is it. The room was clean and the carpet and bedding looked new. I liked the brick interior walls that others have not, reminds me of my youth any time I encounter them. The room was very clean, especially for a beach hotel. The location is great, just a crosswalk away from the ocean (which is why I scored them high on kids activities). The breakfast was mostly cereal, pastries and various beverages. We had trouble with the air and someone came right up to help. There is quite a bit of road noise, because all balconies overlook the main drag and beach.

Room Tip: The elevator is not much, so if you don't like stairs, stay on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loislanelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

I always come to this hotel every summer, (Let's also mention that I have come almost fourteen times) and I have always had a great time. For those of you who may have gone before Hurricane Ike struck the Galveston area, they have changed some things. I cannot speak for the rooms on floors two, three and four, but the rooms on the first floor were re carpeted, and from the rooms that I have stayed in, the sheets are brand new.
I understand that some people don't like this hotel, but I think that for a few days, as I did when I was on the way to Corpus Christi for a camping trip, that that is really what the hotel is for.
I quite like it, and would totally recommend going here.
If your booking for the summer, book early in May, or book for late in August.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor have great pool access, and there is direct beach access through the patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sydney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

The price is not worth your stay! The rooms are dirty and the AC is LOUD and there is no use in adjusting it because it will continue to blow the air. There is a door that joins the adjacent room better make sure its locked. The pool is right by the sidewalk and there was people jumping over the fence to jump in and swim around. The rooms are dirty and look way better in the pictures. The staff was nice. There was an old "smell" to the room. WAY TOO PRICEY!! I should have just forked over the $30 extra and stayed at Casa del Mar. I did not feel safe, at night it sounded like someone was trying to get in the room. My kids and I did not like it and the cable was fuzzy. and it was just local chanels mostly. Never will stay here again!!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jessie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We spent two nights at the Commodre and the staff where very nice and friendly, Ms. Delores Gilland (Customer Service Specialist) was especially helpful and gracious ! The pool was beautifully clean and inviting and our room by the pool was very clean as well! I will recomend this Motel to all my friends and relatives............ And hope to visit real soon, when my husband and I want to get away! Thank you again for all you help and such a pleasaant experience! Mr. and Mrs. Morris Stallings

Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Maryconchin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

My friend and I booked a room weeks in advance and drove 300 miles to get to this hotel only to walk into the office and find out that you must be 21 to stay in the hotel or have your parents. I have never heard of anything so stupid before, if you are 18 you are an adult. How does being 21 have anything to do with it? The man at the counter was very rude and seemed to enjoy telling us that we couldn't stay. I am 27 and my friend is 20 and we already paid for the room on hotels.com where we were never asked to verify age or anything of that nature. We then found out that they would take 3-7 days to refund us which was longer than our stay. The rude staff and completely stupid rules of this establishment has left me with a very bad taste in my mouth of my first experience in galveston. I will not come back.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visual22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galveston
3.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Galveston
0.1 mi away
Gaido's Seaside Inn
Gaido's Seaside Inn
#23 of 52 in Galveston Island
413 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Galveston West - Seawall
3 mi away
Best Western Plus Seawall Inn & Suites By The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commodore on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commodore on the Beach

Address: 37th and Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77552-3830
Region: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Galveston
Price Range: £81 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Commodore on the Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Commodore on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Commodore On The Beach Hotel Galveston
Commodore On The Beach Galveston
Commodore Galveston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing